Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


After Dinner


From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

After Dinner After Dinner [also released as: After Dinner / Live Editions] album cover
3.47 | 7 ratings | 2 reviews | 14% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Live, released in 1984

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. After Dinner (5:23)
2. Sepia-Ture (1:41)
3. An Accelerating Etude (4:13)
4. Sonya-doll (3:03)
5. Shovel & Little Lady (2:32)
6. Cymbals at Dawn (4:27)
7. Glass Tube (5:55)
8. Dessert (3:35)
9. Sepia-Ture II (2:21)

Total Time: 33:10

Bonus tracks on 1991 release (Live Editions):
10. A Walnut (4:05)
11. Cymbals at Dawn (3:48)
12. RE (4:00)
13. Kitchen Life (3:32)
14. Glass Tube (4:13)
15. The Variation of "Would You Like Some Mushroom?" (3:45)
16. Ironclad Mermaid (4:12)
17. After Dinner (5:07)
18. The Room of Hair-Mobile (5:31)

Line-up / Musicians

- Haco / vocals, keyboards, tapes (3,4)
- Miyuki Komori / guitar (1,6-8), drums (1,2,6,7,9), bass (2,7,9)
- Yasushi Utsunomiya / synthesizer, voice (1,6), glass tube, bass (7)
- Tadahiko Yokogawa / bass (2,7,9,11,14,16-18), violin (2,9,12), mandolin (10,13), vocal (12)
- Chaka / bass, percussion (1,6)
- Manabu Shimura / piano (1,6)
- Kogaibou-Senkyu Okuda / tabla (8), yan-ch'in (15)
- Masaaki Kawaguchi / snare drum (2,9), surumondal (8)
- Teppu Maeda / Indian pipe, voice (8)
- Masaharu Ito / marching drums (6), soprano sax (9)
- Seiichi Kuroda / tenor sax (9), bass (10,11,14,17)
- Kaname Nakagawa / alto sax (9)
- Yukio Fujimoto / field work (5)
- Toru Simura / field work (5)
- Yoko Inui / field work (5)
- Ayami Torii / field work (5)
- Shinichiro Taniguchi / narration of B.B.R system
- Ichiro Inoue / percussion (10,11,13,14,16,17), taiko (13,16)
- Mutsuhiko Izumi / guitar (10,11,14,17)
- Hideyuki Yamagata / drums (10,11,14,17)
- Yosuke Isshiki / piano (13,16,18), percussion (17)
- Takumi Fukushima / violin (13,16,18)
- Masahiro Kitada / steel drum (15)
- Naoki Yamada / prepared guitar (15)

Releases information

LP Recommended Records RR C20 (1984 UK)
CD ReR Megacorp RéR ADCD1 (1991 UK)

Thanks to black velvet for the addition
and to The Bearded Bard for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy AFTER DINNER After Dinner [also released as: After Dinner / Live Editions] Music

No release results - showing artist results instead
Recommended Records 1998
$12.98 (used)
Glass Tube & SingleGlass Tube & Single
Box set
J1 2005
$47.36 (used)

More places to buy AFTER DINNER music online Buy AFTER DINNER & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

AFTER DINNER After Dinner [also released as: After Dinner / Live Editions] ratings distribution

(7 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(14%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(14%)
Good, but non-essential (57%)
Collectors/fans only (14%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

AFTER DINNER After Dinner [also released as: After Dinner / Live Editions] reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by laplace
4 stars A revelation, borne of diverse influences.

This release compiles work from different eras. Certain tracks are repeated but vary between performances; After Dinner seem to have a loose semi-improv ethic which colours even their shortest pieces - in any event, the track lengths are mostly irrelevant as this CD holds far more ideas than titled songs.

Early on we can hear parallels with Art Bears, given a playful spin that can seem sweet at times (a feeling mostly missing from great swathes of avant-progressive rock) and grotesque at others. Because Haco's vocals define the songs both in a melodic and a rhythmic way, the instrumentation often drops into minimal improvisation of strange varieties - sometimes electronically based but other songs are driven almost entirely by percussion, or else by asian traditional instruments - you'll hear a lot of zithering and drones. At one moment the listener can be reminded of Kabuki by a brilliantly-placed stringed sliding twang, and seldom can a solitary note bring such a smile to your lips.

Other songs are less abstract; the Sepiature tracks and "Cymbals at Dawn" fall somewhere alongside the mature, psychedelic Beatles compositions and show innocent touches of shibuya-kei (for the unacquainted, imagine a warped, arguably cuter version of ye-ye chanson.)

Any personal complaints about this album will be aimed at its distinct disjointedness, as about half of the record could be categorised as "avant-pop" - this out-Björks Björk by several degrees - while the other is actually rather quiet and experimentally cold (although there are exceptions - "Dessert" being based around a very warm interplay between what this reviewer assumes to be dulcimer, drones, tambla and some sort of whispering kazoo instrument.) So "Live Editions" is primarily recommended to distinguishing listeners of the improvised avant-garde - and pop music. ;)

Review by Kazuhiro
3 stars This After Dinner might be a band that famous was exactly good for an overseas market and the listener in the existence of Avant-Prog of Japan. Haco of Vocal was formed to them as a person at the center in 1981. And, debut EP is announced in 1982. HACO had already shown interest in the synthetic music. And, it was a place of the experiment to which the element of various music was exactly taken for the music character of this band.

The existence of Yasushi Uthunomiya that takes charge of the synthesizer for making the sound of this band might be also large. He was well versed in the situation of machine parts and the recording as the engineer. To show the expression of the idea of HACO and music concretely, they were accompanied by many members. Or, there might have been a replacement of a few members, too.

Avant-Prog of Japan of the 1980's was exactly a dawn. Their music was the especially existence admitted in the world at an early stage. This album is a board of the edit that adds the sound source of live to "Glass Tube" announced in 1984. Element electronic in addition to original melody of Japan. Or, the element with the impression of New Wave and the ethnicity. They are also to the song of HACO and show various faces like the kaleidoscope.

Their activities end in 1988. However, their music won support from Chris Cutler, Fred Frith, and Robert Wyatt. And, support as recognized as a standing matter by the government- controlled station in Germany was collected. The evaluation is still popular among the performance that they did high.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of AFTER DINNER "After Dinner [also released as: After Dinner / Live Editions]"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives