Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography




From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Traun Part III: The Lilac Moon (as The Deserts of Träun) album cover
3.55 | 14 ratings | 2 reviews | 29% 5 stars

Write a review

Buy TRAUN Music
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2003

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Awaiting the Majesty of Extremes (3:01)
2. The Detective in Disguise (2:18)
3. Report to the Fruitless Kingdom (1:22)
4. The Detective and Gary Prepare (1:17)
5. Searching the Swamps (4:09)
6. The Court of the Blackmetal Princess (2:10)
7. Escape from the Crystal Caverns (3:47)
8. Descending the Crystal Mountain (2:10)
9. The Desert of Träun (4:36)
10. Greetings from the Lilac Moon (1:09)
11. Seeking the Navigator (1:46)
12. Prisoner in the Brig (0:58)
13. Battle upon the Space Galleon (2:09)
14. Awaiting the Sun (2:43)
15. Sailing the Electrolytic Ocean (3:08)
16. The Gift of the Whirlpool Vortex (3:31)
17. Longing and Foreseeing (1:24)
18. The Uncompromising Blizzard (2:55)
19. The Cave (1:36)
20. An Unlikely Visitor (2:32)
21. Infiltrating the Fortress of Absolute Zero (2:05)
22. Showdown in the Atrium of Fallacious Foliage (1:53)
23. Homecoming in the Fruitless Kingdom (1:25)
24. The Destruction of the Elevator (1:53)

Total Time 55:57

Line-up / Musicians

- Jason Schimmel / distortion guitar
- Lewis Kijowski / lead guitar
- Kevin Kmetz / lead guitar, acoustic guitar
- Amir Yagmai / violin string sections, steel string guitar
- Ben Wendel / saxophone, flute, bassoon
- David Murray / drums, electronic drums & percussion, didjiridu, vocals, acoustic guitar, distortion guitar, keyboard, melodica, bass, flute, Fender Rhodes
- Paul McKee / bass, mandolin, electric guitar, acoustic guitar, assortments, Fender Rhodes
- Alfred Weisberg-Roberts / double bass, bass
- Joe Willis / keyboard (15,16)
- Mike Johnson / distortion guitar
- George Smith III / distortion guitar
- Nicole Feeder / mezzo soprano

Releases information

Music by Dave Murray; Additional compositions by Joe Willis, Mike Johnson & Alfred Darlington

Bruhtal Shocks Music

Thanks to avestin for the addition
and to projeKct for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy TRAUN Part III: The Lilac Moon (as The Deserts of Träun) Music

TRAUN Part III: The Lilac Moon (as The Deserts of Träun) ratings distribution

(14 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(29%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(50%)
Good, but non-essential (14%)
Collectors/fans only (7%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

TRAUN Part III: The Lilac Moon (as The Deserts of Träun) reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by UMUR
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
3 stars "Part III: The Lilac Moon" is the debut full-length studio album by avant-garde rock/metal act The Deserts of Träun. The album was released through Bruhtal Shocks Music in 2003. The Deserts of Träun consists of former Estradasphere drummer David Murray, who plays most instruments and sings most vocals on the album, although Murray has enlisted several guest musicians to provide various additional instrumental and vocal parts. "Part III: The Lilac Moon" was up until 2017 the sole release by The Deserts of Träun, but Murray returned in that year with no less than 4 EPs of material, renaming the project Traun.

"Part III: The Lilac Moon" features 24 relatively short tracks ranging from about 1 to 4 minutes in length. Stylistically the music on the album is very eclectic featuring elements from everything between jazz, fusion, classical music, black metal, death metal, electronic music, and rock. The album is a sci-fi concept album where the titles of the tracks often reveal the flow of the story. The music has an almost cinematic soundtrack quality to it, but the short song lengths and variation between tracks ensure that the listener is kept on his/her toes at all times. This is not easy listening background music.

On a funny sidenote I noticed a conceptual continuity detail. I´ve been listening a lot to another one of David Murray´s projects this last year (Tholus) and I noticed a The first couple of minutes of "Battle Upon The Space Galleon" (from "Part III: The Lilac Moon") are also used on the Tholus track "Short Forevers" from the technical/progressive sci-fi themed death metal album "Constant (2007)". An album written by guitarist Mike Johnson who is also credited for additional composing on "Part III: The Lilac Moon". Most of the music on the album is composed by David Murray though and given the wide range of styles he is quite a talented and adventurous composer.

The album is almost an hour long, but there´s not a dull moment insight and the music is interesting throughout the album´s playing time. It´s all packed in a relatively well sounding production job (slightly below what I expect from a professional sound production, but still decent), and "Part III: The Lilac Moon" is a quality release in all departments and definitely recommended to those with an open mind and a taste for eclectic avant-garde/progressive rock metal. A 3 star (60%) rating is deserved.

(Originally posted on Metal Music Archives)

Latest members reviews

4 stars Eclectic Movie Sound Track Dave Murray (Ex- Estradsphere) was one of the driving creative forces of Estradasphere, and after his leaving the band, he decided to create a band after his own liking. Now, this is decidely not Estradasphere, despite it being of a similar formula, combing seeming ... (read more)

Report this review (#141054) | Posted by Drakk | Saturday, September 29, 2007 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of TRAUN "Part III: The Lilac Moon (as The Deserts of Träun)"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.