Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Larry Coryell

Jazz Rock/Fusion

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Larry Coryell The Essential Larry Coryell album cover
3.69 | 7 ratings | 2 reviews | 29% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1975

Songs / Tracks Listing

1988 CD reissue:
1. Yin (with The Eleventh House) (6:02)
2. Elementary Guitar Solo # 5 (6:51)
3. Scotland I (6:31)
4. The Jam with Albert (9:19)
5. Stiffneck (7:13)
6. Foreplay (8:15)
7. Lady Coryell (6:32)
8. Spaces (Infinite) (9:18)
9. Are You Too Clever (5:28)
10. After Later (5:32)

Total Time 71:01

Original LP also includes:
11. Improvisation on Robert de Vissee's Sarabande (5:19)
12. Rene's Theme (4:07)

Line-up / Musicians

- Larry Coryell / guitar
- Randy Brecker / trumpet (1)
- Mike Mandel / piano, synthesizer (1,2,3,5,9)
- Danny Trifan / bass (1)
- Alphonse Mouzon / drums (1)
- Chuck Rainey / bass (2)
- Bernard Purdie / drums (2,4)
- Steve Marcus / soprano saxophone (3,6,9)
- Mervin Bronson / bass (3,6,9,10)
- Harry Wilkinson / drums (3,6,9,10)
- Albert Stinson / drums (4)
- Elvin Jones / drums (5)
- Bob Moses / drums (7)
- John McLaughlin (Mahavishnu) / guitar (8,12)
- Miroslav Vitous / double bass (8,12)
- Chick Corea / piano (8,12)
- Ralph Towner / guitar (11)
- Glen Moore / bass (11)
- Colin Walcott / tabla, congas (11)

Releases information

LP Vanguard VSD 75/76 (1975)
CD Vanguard VCD 75/76 (1988)

Thanks to Vibrationbaby for the addition
and to projeKct for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy LARRY CORYELL The Essential Larry Coryell Music

LARRY CORYELL The Essential Larry Coryell ratings distribution

(7 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(29%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(29%)
Good, but non-essential (43%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

LARRY CORYELL The Essential Larry Coryell reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by fuxi
3 stars I hope Coryell fans will forgive me for saying so, but (with a few exceptions) this sounds like the kind of jazz-rock that hasn't worn well. You only need to play "Elementary guitar solo 5" or "Lady Coryell" to exclaim: 'Oh yes! I know just what's going on! Late 1960s: jazz cats desperately trying to stay hip!' The former sounds like a jam based on "She came in through the bathroom window" (off ABBEY ROAD); the latter is underwhelmingly psychedelic - you can't help thinking Jeff Beck and Jimi Hendrix did the same sort of thing a thousand times better. On "Yin" and "Scotland 1" the extended use of nervous, high-pitched trumpet and soprano sax sounds supremely irritating. The main problem seems to be that the musicians concerned attempted to fuse rock-guitar solos and a hard-rock beat with 1960s free jazz. The result is neither fish nor flesh. The classic 1950s and early 1960s recordings by the likes of Miles Davis, Thelonious Monk and Eric Dolphy now sound ten times fresher.

Nevertheless, this collection does contain a couple of great tunes. "The jam with Albert" does exactly what it says on the tin: it's a supremely dirty jam for rock guitar, bass (played by a guy called Albert) and drums. On "Stiffneck" Coryell duets with renowned jazz drummer Elvin Jones and therefore (mostly) limits himself to traditional jazz guitar. On the highly exciting "Spaces (Infinite)" Coryell is joined by fellow guitarist John McLaughlin, bass player Miroslav Vitous and drummer Billy Cobham. Finally, "After Later" is another free-spirited jam for guitar, bass and drums.

My only regret is that this CD-reissue does not contain Coryell's gorgeous collaboration with acoustic guitarist Ralph Towner (and two other founding members of the band Oregon), which opened the original double album (when it was still an LP).

Latest members reviews

5 stars This anthology which was released in 1975 covers recordings from the early period of Coryell`s solo career which was easier to follow and more consistent than the later stages of the `70s which became more eccentric. The CD re-issue cuts two tracks from the original vinyl release but still contai ... (read more)

Report this review (#128228) | Posted by Vibrationbaby | Thursday, July 12, 2007 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of LARRY CORYELL "The Essential Larry Coryell"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.