Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Blood Sweat & Tears

Jazz Rock/Fusion

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Blood Sweat & Tears New Blood album cover
3.07 | 23 ratings | 1 reviews | 4% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 1972

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Down In The Flood (4:21)
2. Touch Me (3:32)
3. Alone (5:29)
4. Velvet (3:32)
5. I Can't Move No Mountains (2:58)
6. Over The Hill (4:20)
7. So Long Dixie (4:28)
8. Snow Queen (5:20)
9. Maiden Voyage (6:20)

Total Time: 40:20

Line-up / Musicians

- Jerry Fisher / lead vocals (excl. 4)
- George Wadenius / electric & Spanish guitars, vocals, arrangements (4)
- Steve Katz / electric 6- & 12-string and acoustic guitars, harmonica (solo 1), vocals (lead 4), arrangements (4)
- Larry Willis / electric piano, Hammond organ, piano (solo 8), vocals, arrangements (7)
- Lew Soloff / trumpet, fluegelhorn, piccolo flute, baritone & French horns, vocals
- Chuck Winfield / trumpet, fluegelhorn, French horn, vocals
- Lou Marini Jr. / soprano, tenor & alto saxophones, alto & soprano flutes,
piccolo flute, vocals, arrangements (1,5)
- Dave Bargeron / tenor & bass trombones, baritone horn, tuba (solo 3), percussion, vocals, horn arrangements (2,4,6,8)
- Jim Fielder / Fender bass, vocals, arrangements (8)
- Bobby Colomby / drums, percussion, vocals, producer

- Bobby Doyle / backing vocals (2,4), piano & arrangements (2)

Releases information

Artwork: Bob Schulenberg with Dean Torrence (logo)

LP Columbia ‎- KC 31780 (1972, US)

CD Wounded Bird Records ‎- WOU 1780 (2005, US)

Thanks to easy livin for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy BLOOD SWEAT & TEARS New Blood Music

BLOOD SWEAT & TEARS New Blood ratings distribution

(23 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(4%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(26%)
Good, but non-essential (52%)
Collectors/fans only (13%)
Poor. Only for completionists (4%)

BLOOD SWEAT & TEARS New Blood reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
3 stars "Ain't you gonna miss your best friend now, you're gonna have to find yourself another best friend somehow" (from "Down in the flood")

The title refers to the arrival of singer Jerry Fisher and keyboard player Larry Willis to replace the departed David Clayton- Thomas and Dick Halligan respectively. Lead guitarist Georg Wadenius also arrived, the band finally addressing the limited abilities of Steve Katz in that department. Katz would remain in the line up for this album though as second guitarist and sometime vocalist.

No matter what the reasons were behind DC-T's departure, the simple fact is that he had established himself as the voice of BS&T, thus leaving the band with a quandary. Did they try to find a DC-T impressionist, or did they attempt to move on from his departure with a fresh start? In the end they went for the latter, Fisher's voice being radically different, but far less distinctive.

The opening cover of Bob Dylan's "Down in the flood" certainly suits Fisher's southern drawl, the bayou blues feel of the song being accentuated by Steve Katz harmonica solo. The placing of a cover version at the start of the album is revealing, as it signifies the band reverting to a policy of using selected songs from outside the band, with just a couple of songs composed by band members appearing.

"Touch me" is a "Hi-de-ho" like spiritual sounding ballad arranged by non-band member Bobby Doyle. "Alone", written by band memebr Lou Marini Jr., is one of the most progressively structured songs the band had recorded in some time. Guitarist Georg Wadenius gets his first opportunity to demonstrate why he had been drafted into the band while the latter half of the track has a real jazz feel, with Dave Bargeron soloing on tuba.

Steve Katz takes the lead for the soft "Velvet", an ode to a horse which sounds rather out of place. It is followed by a couple of upbeat brass rock numbers "I can't move no mountains" and Dave Bargeron's "Over the hill". Barry Mann's "So long Dixie" slows things down again, sounding remarkably like a song by The Band with a horns arrangement.

Carol King and Gerry Goffin's "Snow queen" may not be one of that team's best known songs but the jazz rock arrangement here, which includes piano, sax and trombone solos, is highly commended. The rendition mirrors the sort of music Lighthouse were creating around the same time. The track segues via a brief drum solo into the only instrumental on the album, a cover of Herbie Hancock's "Maiden voyage" effectively forming a 12 minute suite. Wadenius vocalises in the early part of the track before the brass takes up the theme.

"New blood" represents a bold step for Blood Sweat and Tears. While there are a few commercially orientated songs on the album, it does not have any obvious hit singles. The subtle change of direction helps to deflect comparisons with their most famous works, rendering the album fresh and appealing.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of BLOOD SWEAT & TEARS "New Blood"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.