Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Various Artists (Label Samplers)

Various Genres

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Various Artists (Label Samplers) Fire In Harmony album cover
3.09 | 3 ratings | 1 reviews | 33% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1985

Songs / Tracks Listing

Side one:
1. Fly High Fall Far
2. Shadows
3. A Tale Of You
4. Hidden Mysteries

Side two:
1. Peace
2. Unspoken Words
3. Blood And Roses
4. Fire In The Sky

Line-up / Musicians

Side one:
1. Pendragon
2. Haze
3. Liaison
4. Trilogy

Side two:
1. Solstice
2. Citizen Cain
3. Lahost
4. Quasar

Releases information

Elusive Records/EMI ARRLP 100

Thanks to Joolz for the addition
Edit this entry


More places to buy VARIOUS ARTISTS (LABEL SAMPLERS) music online Buy VARIOUS ARTISTS (LABEL SAMPLERS) & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

VARIOUS ARTISTS (LABEL SAMPLERS) Fire In Harmony ratings distribution

(3 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(33%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (67%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)


Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by erik neuteboom
3 stars This album was released in 1985, the days that Marillion speerheaded the neo-prog movement and Genesis had turned into a progressive pop formation. Many new neo-prog and symphonic prog bands emerged in the UK and this compilation was a chance to present themselves to the hungry progheads.

Side one:

1. Fly High Fall Far (Pendragon): This album is opened by the band that turned out to be the most successfull of all and recently we could enjoy the The Jewel 25th Anniversay tour: Pendragon, in my opinion the most obvious neo-prog band, more than Marillion and IQ! In this track Pendragon delivers a pleasant and melodic atmosphere with a catchy rhythm, propulsive guitar riffs, fluent synthesizer flights and the distinctive vocals by Nick Barrett. Simple but tasteful neo-prog, taken from their mini-LP Fly High, Fall Far.

2. Shadows (Haze): This trio presents a strongly build-up track (echoes from mid-Genesis) with varied work on keyboards (from soaring layers, to short synthesizer runs and organ waves), the ominous climate is emphasized by dramatic vocals and the climax features a wonderful electric guitar solo along a deep Moog Taurus bass pedals sound.

3. A Tale Of You (Liaison): A slow rhythm and a mellow atmosphere with twagning guitars, bass pedal notes, fluent synthesizer flights and Saga-like vocals, a fragile electric guitar solo is the highlight.

4. Hidden Mysteries (Trilogy): After a dreamy intro with a soaring strings-sound, a catchy mid-tempo follows featuring Alex Lifeson-inspired rhythm guitar with howling runs and powerful drumming, very dynamic.

Side two:

1. Peace (Solstice): This is the only band that had made an entire album when this compilation was released. Their sound is a blend of folk (violin) and symphonic prog with a quite electronical sound of the keyboards and warm female vocals. The final part is very compelling with a howling electric guitar solo and fat bass pedals notes.

2. Unspoken Words (Citizen Cain) : Many years before this band released their debut CD on the Dutch label SI Music, Citizen Cain was a trio with vocals that reminds me of Gentle Giant and dynamic and powerful music with echoes from Rush. The guitarwork is strong, from propulsive riffs to fiery licks.

3. Blood And Roses (Lahost) : This is an alternating song with a catchy rhythm, bombastic keyboards, lots of good musical ideas but to me it sounds a bit unstructured.

4. Fire In The Sky (Quasar) : The powerful female vocals remind me of Grace Slick in a varied song, from a catchy beat to a slow rhythm, it sounds beautiful but to me a bit too laidback.

An interesting LP release, check it out on E-Bay! P.S. 1) Thanks to Joolz for his help! P.S. 2) Sorry about the incomplete album cover, I could not find a better one on the Internet.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of VARIOUS ARTISTS (LABEL SAMPLERS) "Fire In Harmony"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives