Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Rick Wakeman

Symphonic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Rick Wakeman Retro 2 album cover
3.32 | 37 ratings | 2 reviews | 8% 5 stars

Good, but non-essential

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2007

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Chasing The Devil (6:09)
2. Expect The Unexpected (4:38)
3. Beyond The Void (9:04)
4. An Angel Spoke To Me (5:33)
5. The Soundtrack (7:29)
6. The Fairground Shuffle (4:34)
7. Robert The Robot (3:44)
8. Standing Room Only (6:20)
9. Tigger The Bounce (4:42)
10. The Temple Of Life (11:02)

Total time 63:15

Line-up / Musicians

- Rick Wakeman / Prophet 5, RMI Electra Piano, Poly Moog, Korg Mono Poly, Korg ES50 electric piano, ES1, Mellotron M400, Korg Vocoder, Mini Moog, Korg Trident, Korg Sigma, Hammond M102 organ, Leslie Cabinet, producer

- Elliot Tuffin / vocals
- Jemma Wakeman / vocals (4)
- Dave Colquhoun / acoustic & electric guitars
- Lee Pomeroy / bass, Moog Taurus bass pedals
- Tony Fernandez / drums, percussion

Releases information

CD President Records ‎- RWCD 39 (2007, UK)

Thanks to Ricochet for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy RICK WAKEMAN Retro 2 Music

RICK WAKEMAN Retro 2 ratings distribution

(37 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(8%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(51%)
Good, but non-essential (30%)
Collectors/fans only (8%)
Poor. Only for completionists (3%)

RICK WAKEMAN Retro 2 reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by richardh
4 stars Another foray into the world of vintage keyboards from our erstwhile cape wearing wizard of prog.I was (and still is) a fan of his first Retro album and have had this for almost a year ,finally now getting round to reviewing it. It seems to me that Rick is not attempting to recreate seventies prog by going back to old keyboards but is in fact rying to find something new,or at least something that sits more comfortably with modern prog ideas. The sound is a lot cleaner which helps achieve that aim although fans of old style Rick Wakeman will be disappointed. So to the music:

1. Chasing The Devil (6.09) . A good solid instrumental start with excellent bass and drums.The band are smokin.8/10

2. Expect The Unexpected (4.38) .Gentler peice played in a relaxed jaunty way and featuring lead vocals from Elliot Tuffin. He has quite a gruff voice that suggests a bluesy background.Quite nice.7/10

3. Beyond The Void (9.04) .Trademark symphonic instrumental peice opening with a repetitive synth line that slowly builds.The keyboards are gradually layered on creating a stately ambience before the band kicks in after about 4 minutes.Then we have a more energetic and vibrant peice that recalls classic Wakeman.Best out and out prog track here by a country mile.9/10

4. An Angel Spoke To Me (5.33) .Delicate melodic song featuring the lovely voice of Ricks daughter Jemma.Very pretty music with nice Mellotron.7/10

5. The Soundtrack (7.29) .Quite a sombre slow paced track featuring some well judged Hammond organ.No fireworks although the mid section is quite heavy.OK but nothing more.6/10

6. The Fairgound Shuffle (4.34) .Another relaxed jaunty track that chugs along quite nicely.Nothing earth shattering although the Hammond organ is good. 6/10

7. Robert The Robot (3.44) .Elliot Tuffin features again.Pretty average and dangerously close to being 'filler'. 5/10

8. Standing Room Only (6.20) .More like it.Rockier hammond lead peice that brings a bit more energy to the proceedings. 7/10

9. Tigger The Bounce (4.42) Easily my favourite track on the album and the only piano peice. Rick is great here delicately caressing the keys and making the most of a nice theme.10/10

10.The Temple Of Life (11.02) .Longest track split into 4 sections. Jemma features strongly on the opener while the second section gets the Mellotron Choir treatment so beloved of Rick.The third section is a lot more energetic and brings the band more into the equation.The concluding section go full circle with Jemma heavily featured.7/10

Overall I feel this album is perched between good and excellent.Not a masterpeice but Rick succeeds in creating a perfectly enjoyable 'best of both worlds' keyboard album.

Latest members reviews

1 stars Whilst I was not overly enamoured by Retro 1, I liked the idea enough to hope that Retro 2 would repeat the formula, only this time with good music to carry the pieces. I was skeptical, on the grounds that: a) the band itself remained the same, meaning the same guitarist (eeek) and b) someone ... (read more)

Report this review (#284671) | Posted by theinvisibleman | Thursday, June 3, 2010 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of RICK WAKEMAN "Retro 2"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.