Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Fairport Convention

Prog Related

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Fairport Convention Live At The Marlowe Theatre, Canterbury (DVD) album cover
3.12 | 6 ratings | 1 reviews | 17% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
DVD/Video, released in 2003

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Walk Awhile
2. The Game Pieces
3. The Wood & The Wire
4. My Love Is America
5. The Widow Of Westmoreland
6. Canny Capers Medley (Step Away From The Bass / Sir Norm De Norm/My Gypsy Pal/Conway's Cognac
7. Don't Leave Too Soon
8. Western Wind
9. Journeyman's Grace
10. The Open Plans
11. Lakota Lullaby
12. Level Pegging
13. Rosemary's Sister
14. Woodworm Swing
15. The Happyman
16. Heart Of The Song
17. Rosie
18. Claudy Banks
19. John Gaudie
20. Theme From Mash (Suicide Is Painless)/End Of A Holiday/Matty Groves
21. Dirty Linen
22. Meet On The Ledge

Approximate running time 195 minutes

"Bonus" track
23. Si tu dois partir

Line-up / Musicians

- Dave Pegg / acoustic and electric bass, mandolin, vocals
- Simon Nicol / acoustic and electric guitar, vocals
- Ric Sanders / violin
- Chris Leslie / violin, mandolin, native American flute, vocals
- Gerry Conway/ drums, percussion

- Andy Guttridge / acoustic guitar, vocals

Releases information

Secret films SMADVD 234X (Snapper music)
Filmed in concert at the Marlowe Theatre, Canterbury 22 March 2003

Thanks to easy livin for the addition
and to SouthSideoftheSky for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy FAIRPORT CONVENTION Live At The Marlowe Theatre, Canterbury (DVD) Music

FAIRPORT CONVENTION Live At The Marlowe Theatre, Canterbury (DVD) ratings distribution

(6 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of rock music(17%)
Excellent addition to any rock music collection(33%)
Good, but non-essential (33%)
Collectors/fans only (17%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

FAIRPORT CONVENTION Live At The Marlowe Theatre, Canterbury (DVD) reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
3 stars Even the new boy's been with the band for over 10 years

Perhaps I am expecting too much when watching the current Fairport line up performing. I find myself hoping to hear the great Fairport classics of the early 1970's, and to witness the legendary Dave Swarbrick on the violin. Inevitably though, in the intervening period the band have had to move on from the pure voice of Sandy Denny, the magic of "Liege and Leif", and the communal creativity of the Angel Tavern.

These days, it is Dave Pegg who is the catalyst which keeps the band going, ably assisted by long serving Fairport luminaries such as Simon Nicol and Gerry Conway. They are joined by the relatively recent members violinist Ric Sanders (who has been with the band for over 20 years!), and the multi talented Chris Leslie who joined in 1996.

This DVD captures the band performing in 2003 in Canterbury, a place known better in these parts for a completely different genre of music. The age and subdued nature of the audience reflects the maturity of the band (Pegg celebrated his 60th birthday this year), but the boys themselves are in fine form.

There is very little of the old material here, although along the way we do get "Walk awhile", the title track from "Rosie", a quick burst of "Matty Groves", the live favourite "Journeyman's grace" and the traditional encore "Meet on the ledge". The rest of the material is from more recent albums, but at times even the band cannot remember which specific releases! "The wood and the wire" contributes several songs while other songs here had at the time not yet appeared on album. Between the songs we have elongated introductions and amusing anecdotes much of which appears to be lost on the apparently hard of hearing audience.

Highlights included the twin violins of Sanders and Leslie and Leslie's emotive recitals on native American flute. In vocal terms, the band work well together, taking it in turn to assume centre stage. It is Nicol though who tends to lead the proceedings.

I must admit, some of the newer songs are less impressive, the song-writing seeming to be becoming one challenge too many these days. We therefore have to rely to some extent on the band's interpretations of traditional material for the show highlights. The filming of the gig is excellent, and the 5.1 surround sound quality first class. The filming backstage during the interval is interesting and mildly amusing, while appearing to confirm that the band still relish the opportunity to perform live.

In all, a decent document of the current Fairport Convention playing live, but if you are a fan from the band's heyday, don't expect too much.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of FAIRPORT CONVENTION "Live At The Marlowe Theatre, Canterbury (DVD)"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.