Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Jackson Heights

Prog Related

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Jackson Heights King Progress album cover
2.89 | 16 ratings | 2 reviews | 12% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 1970

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Mr. Screw
2. Since I Last Saw You
3. Sunshine Freak
4. King Progress
5. Doubting Thomas
6. Insomnia
7. Cry Of Eugene

Line-up / Musicians

Charlie Harcourt / guitars, keuboards
Tommy Sloane / drums, percussion
Mario Tafia / bass, guitars
Lee Jackson / vocals.

Releases information

Charisma (CAS 1018)
Reissued in 1998 on CD by Repertoire (RR4714)

Thanks to Sean Trane for the addition
and to T.Rox for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy JACKSON HEIGHTS King Progress Music

More places to buy JACKSON HEIGHTS music online

JACKSON HEIGHTS King Progress ratings distribution

(16 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of rock music(12%)
Excellent addition to any rock music collection(31%)
Good, but non-essential (31%)
Collectors/fans only (25%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

JACKSON HEIGHTS King Progress reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Tom Ozric
2 stars Mr Gruff - Lee Jackson, and his post-Nice outfit Jackson Heights. More of an abhorration of The Nice, than anything. Jackson opting for a Folky, Soft-Rock direction, only lightly hinting at anything Progressive. Indeed, the (almost) footnote of the sleevenotes read - For Lee to 'go acoustic' is rather like a writer taking up the quill after years on a typewriter.... I say that the writer should've stuck with the typewriter in this case.... I prefer Lee playing his Left-Handed 'Teardrop' Cello Bass thingy, rather than Acoustic Guitars and Harmonica, but that's just me. There are moments here that are worthy, like the 7min minor- key 'Since I Last Saw You', beautifully haunting and pastoral - the tranquil guitar lines are quite memorable, the almost Psychedelic and late-60's sounding 'Sunshine Freak', and, for interest's sake, the lengthy, 'armchair' version of the track 'Cry Of Eugene', originally a pleasant piece by Emerson and Co., transcribed perfectly for Jackson's acoustic setting. As for the rest of the tunes, Doubting Thomas features Drummer/Percussionist Tommy Slone's 'Abdominal Percussion', adding an original whimsy to the proceedings, and the album opener 'Mr Screw' is indicative of this 'new' path Lee has chosen to pursue. Fortunately, Lee improved upon his formula for the next release. This album is just for the curious, tracking routes of their favourite artists (Who ?? Lee ???).

Latest members reviews

4 stars JACKSON HEIGHTS were a four-album English band, named after their founder member Lee Jackson, the group's lead singer and guitarist and a former member of The Nice. Jackson Heights also happens to be the name of a multi-ethnic neighbourhood (or ghetto) in New York City. Jackson Heights' first al ... (read more)

Report this review (#2418549) | Posted by Psychedelic Paul | Friday, July 10, 2020 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of JACKSON HEIGHTS "King Progress"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.