Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


David Bowie

Prog Related

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

David Bowie The Singles Collection album cover
3.53 | 25 ratings | 5 reviews | 28% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
rock music collection

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1993

Songs / Tracks Listing

UK Version:

Disc One

1. Space Oddity (5:15)
2. Changes (3:35)
3. Starman (4:18)
4. Ziggy Stardust (3:14)
5. Suffragette City (3:26)
6. John, I'm Only dancing (2:47)
7. The Jean Genie (4:07)
8. Drive-In Saturday (4:30)
9. Life On Mars? (3:51)
10. Sorrow (2:54)
11. Rebel Rebel (4:30)
12. Rock 'N' Roll Suicide (2:58)
13. Diamond Dogs (6:04)
14. Knock On Wood (3:03)
15. young Americans (5:11)
16. Fame (4:14)
17. Golden years (4:00)
18. Sound and Vision (3:02)

Disc Two

1. Heroes (3:37)
2. Beauty and the Beast (3:33)
3. Boys Keep Swinging (3:17)
4. DJ (4:00)
5. Alabama Song (3:51)
6. Ashes to Ashes (4:24)
7. Fashion (4:47)
8. Scary Monster (and Super Creeps) (5:11)
9. Under Pressure [With Queen] (3:57)
10. Wild is the Wind (6:01)
11. Let's Dance (4:07)
12. China Girl (4:16)
13. Modern Love (3:56)
14. Blue Jean (3:11)
15. This is not America [With Pat Metheny] (3:47)
16. Dancing in the Street [With Mick Jagger] (3:10)
17. Absolute Beginners (5:37)
18. Day-In Day-Out (4:11)

Total Time 154:14

Line-up / Musicians

David Bowie -Vocals

Releases information

Rykodisc (U.S.)

Thanks to burtonrulez for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy DAVID BOWIE The Singles Collection Music

More places to buy DAVID BOWIE music online

DAVID BOWIE The Singles Collection ratings distribution

(25 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of rock music(28%)
Excellent addition to any rock music collection(48%)
Good, but non-essential (16%)
Collectors/fans only (4%)
Poor. Only for completionists (4%)

DAVID BOWIE The Singles Collection reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by ZowieZiggy
4 stars I purchased this double CD set when I was constructing my CD collection (back to 96 or so). I found it interesting enough to buy even if I possessed each track featured here. The purpose was to get all of his hit singles on a handy double CD set.

What's nice with this exhaustive singles compilation is that you have of course all these great musical moments (just look at the track list), but some non albums songs are also featured like the very good "John, I'm Only Dancing".

There are also some weaker songs on this compilation, like "Sorrow" for instance. The poorest here. If you have read my album reviews of the man, you know that I am not at all in love with his soul period ("Young Americans") and therefore "Fame" and "Golden Years" (this one being featured on the excellent "Station To Station" album) are not my cup of tea.

All of his timeless songs are present: from "Space Oditty" through "Day-In Day Out". It is such a great trip into his most commercial repertoire.

Is this the best entry for someone willing to tackle his repertoire? I don't know.

There are no track from "The Man." and only one from "Low" (one of his masterpiece IMHHO). But that's what a single collection is all about, right. No "Station To Station", no "Five Years", no "Time", no "Warzawa", no "1984" etc.

But don't worry, you will be so glad to listen to the extraordinary "Life On Mars", "Jean Genie", "Scary Monsters" and "Modern Love" that you will easily accept this double CD set for what it is: a great collection of songs which have marked the seventies and the eighties.

I decided to pick this album for my 1,800th review. Four stars for dear old David.

Latest members reviews

3 stars From 1993, this 2 cd set has just about every singles release by David Bowie up to that time, from old stuff like "Ziggy Stardust", "Space Oddity" up through his recent, at thnat time songs "modern Love" and "Blue Jean". While I really enjoy the 70's David Bowie, I find he "popped out" and "discoed- ... (read more)

Report this review (#749397) | Posted by mohaveman | Saturday, May 5, 2012 | Review Permanlink

1 stars It is quite long ago that I bought this cd, thinking that in a decent cd collection, there should be something present of David Bowie. In the past. I liked "The Jean Genie" and "Life on Mars" when these songs were hits. Particullary, the last song is a very musical good song. I believe that it ... (read more)

Report this review (#271892) | Posted by mscbox | Sunday, March 14, 2010 | Review Permanlink

4 stars A good collection from a man who added some colour to the last quarter of the 1900th century. I know I should really get into his studio albums instead of wasting my time on a best off sampler like this. But the track-list here is eye-watering. Gosh !! There is some fantastic songs where w ... (read more)

Report this review (#261986) | Posted by toroddfuglesteg | Friday, January 22, 2010 | Review Permanlink

4 stars This is an absolutley brilliant collection of Bowie singles. I would recomend this as an introduction to Bowie, as it was mine. You will be introduced to many facets of his musical personality. Most of the material on here is on Bowie studio albums with a few exceptions. 'John, I'm Only Dancing' ... (read more)

Report this review (#175988) | Posted by burtonrulez | Thursday, July 3, 2008 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of DAVID BOWIE "The Singles Collection"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.