Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Heavy Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Jane Tribute To Peter Panka album cover
4.04 | 6 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review
Buy JANE Music
from partners
DVD/Video, released in 2008

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Intro
2. All my Friends
3. Tomorrow
4. Fire Water Earth & Air
5. Much too Much
6. Rest of my Life
7. BMW (Harlis)
8. Bell of Bothfeld (Harlis)
9. Daytime
10. Angel of Death (Warlock Rockballett)
11. Morgan Le Fay (Warlock Rockballett)
12. Windows/Spain
13. Silence (Jutta Weihnhold Band)
14. Voice in the Wind (with Denise Panka)
15. Wind
16. Another Way (with Martin Hesse)
17. Your Circle (with Martin Hesse)
18. River
19. Drumsolo (performed by Fritz Randow + Nossi Neske of Birth Control)
Bonus: "Hinter Den Kulissen (backstage footage) in Germany and Belgium

20. Honestly
21. Out in the Rain
22. Hangman
23. Fun Time
24. So So Long
25. Welcome to the Club

Total time concert: 176 minutes

Bonus features (36 min):
Interviews with Klaus Meine, Rudolf Schenker (both Scorpions) and Martin Hesse, Fritz Randow, Klaus Walz and Arndt Schulz. And ... an "Easteregg!"

Line-up / Musicians

- Charly Maucher / bass and vocals
- Klaus Waltz / guitar and vocals
- Werner Nadolny / keyboards
- Arndt Schulz / guitar and vocals
- Fritz Randow / drums

- Martin Hesse / bass and vocals
- Nossi Noske / drums
- Denise Panka / Stand-Tom

Guest bands:
- Harlis
- Jon Symon's Rockballett Warlock
- Jutta Weinhold Band

Releases information

2DVD Cool & Easy Records CAEDVD 003 (2008)

Thanks to erik neuteboom for the addition
and to NotAProghead for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy JANE Tribute To Peter Panka Music

More places to buy JANE music online Buy JANE & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

JANE Tribute To Peter Panka ratings distribution

(6 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(100%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

JANE Tribute To Peter Panka reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by erik neuteboom
4 stars

I have always loved Jane their pleasant sound, I got familiar with it when their legendary 2- LP Live At Home was released, late 1976. OK, it's simple, the lyrics are almost hilarious and the German accent is very obviously but their blend of bluesrock, melodic rock and Heavy Prog often carries me away to a .. 'Progressive Blues Heaven', especially because of the unique combination of pleasant keyboard layers, moving electric guitarwork and warm vocals (often with a melancholical undertone). When I heard about the terrible news that Peter Panka had passed away on June 28th 2007 (only 59 years old) I felt very, very sad. It's great that only a few months later (on November 23rd) friends and fellow musicians organised a Tribute To Peter Panka tour, this concert is from Hannover. The line-up consists of the original members Charly Maucher (bass and vocals) and Werner Nadolny (keyboards), veteran Fritz Randow (drums, once Eloy) and the gitarists/singers Klaus Waltz en Arndt Schultz.

During the concert the emphasis is on the tracks from the Live At Home 2-LP: the opener All My Friends (warm organ sound and wonderful bluesy guitar), Fire Water Earth & Air (beautiful work on keyboards like the string-ensemble sound and Hammond organ and tasteful solos on guitar and synthesizer), Rest Of My Life (very compelling), Daytime (melancholical undertone and strong build-up to an emotional climax with lush keyboards, sensitive guitar and heavy drums), Windows/Spain (Jane at their most progressive including lots of improvisations like an impressive part featuring a kind of 'guitar wall' supporting a psychedelic inspired synthesizer solo on the Moog Liberation), Wind (fluent with organ and propulsive guitar and drums), River (featuring former bass player Martin Hess who looks like a cross between Arthur Brown and Keith Richards), Out In The Rain (including acoustic guitar, delicate interplay between bass and a strings-sound and a moving guitar solo) and Hangman (tasteful guitarwork like early Wishbone Ash and a flashy synthesizer solo). Everything during this concert gets musically an extra dimension because of the way the musicians show their appreciation for Peter Panka, very touchy! The song Tomorrow, from the latest album with Peter Panka, sounds as a modern variation on the early Jane sound, very distinctive and tasteful and during So So Long the stage is crowded with all musicians that joined Jane on this concert like Martin Hesse, drummer Nossi Noske (once Birthcontrol), Peter Panka's daughter Denise Panka (on the socalled 'Stand-Tom') and band members of Harlis (2 songs with pleasant bluesrock between the Spencer Davis Group and Eric Clapton), Jon Symon's Rockballett Warlock (2 songs, once Peter Panka played with them in front of 100.000 spectators!) and the Jutta Weinhold Band (composition Silence, not really my cup of tea).

The Bonus Material on the 2 DVD's contains backstage footage, tour camera work during the Tribute To Peter Panka Tour 2007 from Germany and Belgium and short interviews with Klaus Meine and Rudolf Schenker from Scorpions, Martin Hesse and drummer Fritz Randow (Jane, once Eloy).

This is not typical progrock but in my opinion this 2-DVD is a historical German Progressive Rock document and a very impressive tribute to Peter Panka with lots of great musical highlights, not to be missed by the many Jane fans.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of JANE "Tribute To Peter Panka"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives