Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Roberto Cacciapaglia

Progressive Electronic

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Roberto Cacciapaglia Sonanze album cover
4.12 | 36 ratings | 2 reviews | 22% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 1975

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. 1st Movement (4:27)
2. 2nd Movement (4:12)
3. 3rd Movement (2:56)
4. 4th Movement (1:23)
5. 5th Movement (3:47)
6. 6th Movement (3:26)
7. 7th Movement (2:26)
8. 8th Movement (1:52)
9. 9th Movement (4:30)
10. 10th Movement (3:54)

Total Time 32:53

Bonus tracks on 2000 remaster - Otherworks 1972-1975:
11. Skywaves (3:23)
12. Electric Avenues (8:02)
13. Birds over Prague (1:00)
14. Floating Clouds (2:28)
15. Gongs (2:27)
16. Mother and Cousin (3:00)
17. Winds and Gong (3:04)
18. Moog Sequence (2:16)
19. Roxanne (5:56)
20. Metal Windows (0:43)
21. Slow Steps (4:20)
22. Manuela (1:52)
23. Rob Tiger (1:12)
24. Sub-Electronic (1:54)
25. Original Gongs (3:02)

Line-up / Musicians

- Roberto Cacciapaglia / piano, organ, harpsichord, synths (VCS3, Synthi A, Moog), guitar, vibes, composer & producer

- Elfriede Demetz / vocals
- Francesco Maria Minghinelli / vocals
- Luciano Bianco / piano
- Luciano Tessari / clarinet
- Alfredo Arcobelli / horn
- Giuseppe Ferreri / horn
- Giuseppe Merli / horn
- Bruno Ferrari / trombone
- Giuseppe Mauri / trombone
- Mario Arcari / oboe
- Elsa Parravicini / strings
- Franco Rossi / strings
- Gianni Berlindis / strings
- Giuseppe Cantoni / strings
- Marco Ravasio / strings
- Walter Morelli / timpani

Releases information

LP PDU ‎- Pld. SQ 6025 (1975, Italy)

CD Proper ‎- SP004 (2011, Europe) Remastered with 15 bonus tracks from 1972-1975 previously unreleased, sub-titled "Sonances & Otherworks 1972 - 1975"

Thanks to Ricochet for the addition
and to projeKct for the last updates
Edit this entry


ROBERTO CACCIAPAGLIA Sonanze ratings distribution

(36 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(22%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(33%)
Good, but non-essential (39%)
Collectors/fans only (6%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)


Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by philippe
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
5 stars Lesser known from the audience, Roberto Cacciapaglia is recognised for his high-quality and eclectic instrumental epic albums. His personal musical universe is quite varied, it incorporates classical symphonic music, sonic looped dronescapes, majestic spacey synth grooves and concrete avant gardism. Sonanze is an impressive and fascinating album, melodic, entrancing and experimental at the same time. This fantastic debut album admits comparisons with Franco Battiato's most challenging efforts and with Franco Leprino's exceptional orchestrated electronic suites. The two first movements introduce the listener in a charming-tumultuous symphonic dreaminess based on collage sounds, synth frequences and heroic langurous parts for strings and brass. Some buzzing-trancey manipulated voices are added to the mix, providing catchy hallucinatory effects. The third movement is a playful classical piano piece floating-like calm waves. The fourth movement is a dark-ritual voices incantation made in a modern operatic-theatrical style. The three following movements provide gorgeous, long form dreamy soundscapes for cloudy synth textures and harmonious static drones. The atmosphere is deliciously meditative and introspective without being easy listening and unconsistently new agey. The two last movements are strange cinematic musical scenes using massive atonal orchestrations and otherwordly layering synth sounds . This album is impressively complex, technically achieved but without being boring or cryptical for neophyts: The atmospheres are completely suggestive and magically haunted with the inclusion of dense, colourful melodic lines. A magnificent album and a must have for fans of vintage Italian prog, classical contemporary music and kosmische electronica.
Review by colorofmoney91
4 stars A lot of long-form electronic compositions can be described as having a symphonic quality, but that usually refers to the dynamics in the way that each electronic element is used to create a loud/soft or empty/full effects. Roberto Cacciapaglia's Sonanze, however, is symphonic in a very literal sense.

In addition to the experimental electronic manipulations as per the usual standard set by fellow Italians in this era, also included on this album are horns, piano, strings, choral vocals, among other orchestral instruments that create an unmistakable organic atmosphere. The way these acoustic orchestral instruments are used is very similar to the usual contemporary classical sounds (either super melodic or comparatively dissonant), which is too say not all too interesting or groundbreaking, but it does at an increased dreaminess to the music that would otherwise be absent.

The overall tempi of Sonanze is very laid back, never really progressing past a relatively quiet mid-tempo pace. As strong as the symphonic quality is in the instrumentation, the music never escalates to Mahler- or Beethoven-esque power and instead opts entirely for a French impressionism type of subdued dreaminess.

As for the electronics that make up the other half of the album's overall dynamic, it works well by integrating seamlessly into the orchestral moments, accentuating what the other instruments are playing. In moments of jarring dissonant string melodies, the electronic portion is mainly a despondent drone; in moments of organic cheer, the electronic portion is uplifting like the sun's rays.

Anyone interested in contemporary classical music could probably enjoy this if not expecting anything truly groundbreaking, but could very well be a soothing listening experience for anyone.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of ROBERTO CACCIAPAGLIA "Sonanze"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.