Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Steely Dan

Jazz Rock/Fusion

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Steely Dan Showbiz Kids: The Steely Dan Story 1972-1980 album cover
4.00 | 6 ratings | 3 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2000

Songs / Tracks Listing

Disc: 1
1. Do It Again (5:56)
2. Dirty Work ( 3:08)
3. Reelin' In The Years (4:37)
4. Only A Fool Would Say That (2:57)
5. Change Of The Guard (3:39)
6. Bodhisattva (5:18)
7. The Boston Rag (5:40)
8. Show Biz Kids (5:26)
9. My Old School (5:46)
10. Rikki Don't Lose That Number (4:32)
11. Night By Night (3:40)
12. Pretzel Logic (4:32)
13. Any Major Dude Will Tell You (3:08)
14. Black Friday (3:41)
15. Bad Sneakers (3:21)
16. Doctor Wu (3:55)
17. Any World (That I'm Welcome To) (3:55)
18. Chain Lightning (2:59)

Disc: 2
1. Kid Charlemagne (4:38)
2. Don't Take Me Alive (4:16)
3. Haitian Divorce (5:51)
4. The Fez (4:02)
5. Here At The Western World (4:01)
6. Black Cow (5:10)
7. Aja (8:00)
8. Deacon Blues (7:36)
9. Peg (4:00)
10. Josie (4:35)
11. FM (5:06)
12. Babylon Sisters (5:49)
13. Hey Nineteen (5:07)
14. Time Out Of Mind (4:12)
15. Third World Man (5:13)

Total Time: 2:38:48

Line-up / Musicians

- Walter Becker / Bass & Guitars
- Donald Fagen / Keyboards & Vocals
- Various Artists

Releases information

CD MCA Universal

Thanks to DocB for the addition
and to NotAProghead for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy STEELY DAN Showbiz Kids: The Steely Dan Story 1972-1980 Music

More places to buy STEELY DAN music online

STEELY DAN Showbiz Kids: The Steely Dan Story 1972-1980 ratings distribution

(6 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(100%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

STEELY DAN Showbiz Kids: The Steely Dan Story 1972-1980 reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Mellotron Storm
4 stars STEELY DAN are one of the few bands where i'd be content with a compilation album over having all their studio records. Having said that I still find "Countdown To Ecstacy" and "Pretzel Logic" quite strong but man they have so many amazing songs on other recordings but for my tastes those albums aren't that strong as a whole. On a non-prog site their first six records are rated extremely high and there is almost no difference in the overall ratings between them. In other words these guys have been beyond successful over their careers.

I must admit I have had a bit of an infactuation with Becker and Fagan of late. I mean their lyrics are incredible and they've done nothing but create hit after hit and they don't all sound the same either, quite the opposite. These guys shunned the spotlight yet their music kept pushing them back out into it album after album. This is the most exhaustive compilation i've seen where they take us from "Can't Buy A Thrill" right through to "Gaucho" in chronological order. I count 13 brilliant tracks over those seven albums and nine years. Of course there are about 8 more I consider amazing but a step below those 13. Bottom line is that this double disc recording covers their careers very well.

My favourite 13 tracks ? Well three from "Can't Buy A Thrill" in "Do It Again" , "Dirty Work" and "Reelin' In The Years". I absolutely love those songs. Next is "Countdown To Ecstacy" and "Show Biz Kids" and "My Old School" although special mention also to "Boston Rag" and "Bodhisattva". "Pretzel Logic" is great too with "Rikki Don't Lose That Number" and "Any Major Dude Will Tell You" and special mention to the title track. Lastly on disc one is "Katy Lied" and none of these are in my top 14 but I do enjoy "Black Friday" , "Bad Sneakers" and "Any World (That I'm Welcome To)".

Disc two begins with tracks from the "Royal Scam" and one of my 13 are here in "Kid Charlemagne" but I do like "Take Me Alive" and "The Fez". Next is "Aja" and three killer tunes from my top 13 in "Deacon Blues" , "Peg" and "Josie". "FM" is included but it was released on a soundtrack only. "Hey Nineteen" is my final from the top 13 and it's from "Gaucho". Special mention to "Babylon Sisters".

So there you have it. I find it interesting that I was just starting to get very serious about music just as they released "Gaucho". Still I knew so many of their songs from the radio. In fact later I would be surprised at how many of these songs were actually done by them.

Latest members reviews

4 stars A best of album that covers the period from 1972 until 1980 in the life of a great rock band. SHOWBIZ KIDS contains over 2 and a half hours of music on 2 discs and is woth the money to anyone wanting to see what this band was all about. I suppose I could quibble a bit about what tracks are here: Ma ... (read more)

Report this review (#733662) | Posted by mohaveman | Friday, April 20, 2012 | Review Permanlink

4 stars I can't believe I'm the first reviewer for this album. Showbiz Kids is a very good introduction to Steely Dan. Some may say the two discs are too much for an introduction, sometimes that's the case, but not here. Their greatest hits album is good, but doesn't offer anything other than their ra ... (read more)

Report this review (#501691) | Posted by Kix | Thursday, August 11, 2011 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of STEELY DAN "Showbiz Kids: The Steely Dan Story 1972-1980"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.