Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Psychedelic/Space Rock

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Eloy Timeless Passages - The Very Best of Eloy album cover
2.77 | 23 ratings | 3 reviews | 35% 5 stars

Write a review

Buy ELOY Music
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2003

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD 1 (77:22)
1. Decay of Logos (8:17)
2. Lost (The Decision)?? (5:01)
3. The Midnight Fire / The Victory of Mental Force (8:06)
4. Master of Sensation (5:59)
5. Silhouette (edit) (3:26)
6. The Bells of Notre Dame (remix) (6:18)
7. Sphinx (6:42)
8. All Life Is One (6:27)
9. Rainbow (5:13)
10. Point of No Return (5:25)
11. Ro Setau (edit) (5:00)
12. Poseidon's Creation (live, previously unreleased) (11:28)

CD 2 (78:09)
1. Time to Turn (4:31)
2. End of an Odyssee (9:23)
3. Voyager of the Future Race (6:25)
4. At the Gates of Dawn (instrumental) (4:14)
5. The Tides Return Forever (6:35)
6. The Sun-Song (4:51)
7. Follow the Light (9:45)
8. The Apocalypse (14:52)
a) Silent Cries Divide the Nights b) The Vision - Burning c) Force Majeure
9. Illuminations (remix) (6:14)
10. The Answer (11:19)

Total Time 155:31

Line-up / Musicians

- Frank Bornemann / guitars, vocals
- Michael Gerlach / keyboards
- Klaus-Peter Matziol / bass
- Hannes Folberth / keyboards
- Hannes Arkona / guitar
- Fritz Randow / drums
- Nico Baretta / drums
- Lenny Mac Dowell / flute

Releases information

EMI 5 82464-2

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
and to projeKct for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy ELOY Timeless Passages - The Very Best of Eloy Music

More places to buy ELOY music online

ELOY Timeless Passages - The Very Best of Eloy ratings distribution

(23 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(35%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(22%)
Good, but non-essential (22%)
Collectors/fans only (17%)
Poor. Only for completionists (4%)

ELOY Timeless Passages - The Very Best of Eloy reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Seyo
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
1 stars OK, let's be serious!

Listening to "Timeless Passages" (which I would rather call "Endless Boredom") is a very painful 155 minutes long experience. It is supposed to be a more or less comprehensive anthology of ELOY's career, from 1976 "Dawn" to 1998 "Ocean 2". But if these are "the best" moments of their music, I am surely not going to spend a cent on buying any of studio albums.

There are serious flaws in ELOY music and for me only two are enough. The first, a terrible vocal, which sounds so ridiculous that is impossible to take these guys seriously when singing about Logos, Mental Force, Sphinx, Poseidon, Odyssey, Dawn, Tide and other "higher" topics taken from the obligatory catalogue of "space rock". The guy, whom I never bothered to remember his name, is an awful singer and his English is bad. At moments it is plain funny to hear his singing.

The second, the whole musical concept of these guys is firmly stuck in the mid-1970s PINK FLOYD, TANGERINE DREAM and late 1970s ALAN PARSONS PROJECT. OK, the tutors are musical giants and many artists draw inspiration from them in quite original way, but the pupils in this case are F-mark students. It can be fine to try to emulate or cover, or cite the influences but when you do that in such a bad way, with so little originality and even without some essential composing skills, then we have a problem.

And still, there is the third one; prog-rock haters would certainly cherish the bands like ELOY - everything the people don't like in progressive rock is present here in a condensed form: dubious SF "concepts"; overblown lyrics; sterile and "metallic" production; excessive use of monotonous synth keyboards; aimless guitar solos and dull and bloodless rhythm section; long tracks without any purpose. It is rather ironic that one of the best songs on this compilation is pop-hit "Rainbow" from 1988. Even though performed in a creamy style of 1980s ALAN PARSONS's tear-invoking sleazy ballads, it is at least a concise and developed pop song.

If you like space-rock, there is plenty of more innovative, courageous, artistically relevant and more listenable bands. If you like German rock, forget about ELOY and start discovering any of real progressive and experimental Kraut-rock ensembles. Don't waste time and money on this.

On a less critical note, ELOY may exactly be a perfect start for teenage kids to develop a sensation and understand the elements of "ambitious" rock music, whatever that means. In that context, ELOY can be a part of 8th grader collection, together with QUEEN and IRON MAIDEN for instance (I am referring to the time of early 1980s and its music scene).

For collectors (are there any?) there is only one track, previously unreleased 1994 live version of "Poseidon's Creation", worth mentioning. For all others, do yourself a favour and stay away from ELOY!

Latest members reviews

5 stars This is an excellent complication, and is one of the very few things that got me interested in Eloy. I listened to the whole 2 CD's because my friend gave it to me for a few days, and I was hooked from the start. I listened to the interesting vocals, knowing this was not an English band. Th ... (read more)

Report this review (#249430) | Posted by Rushlover13 | Monday, November 9, 2009 | Review Permanlink

2 stars In my opinion Eloy is actually a great band that any prog lover should've listened to. Sure Eloy isn't one of the top ten best bands ever, but good nonetheless. Personally I don't like compilations, and since this one isn't a particulary great one it doesn't get a good rating. Still it's very lon ... (read more)

Report this review (#111623) | Posted by Autoband | Sunday, February 11, 2007 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of ELOY "Timeless Passages - The Very Best of Eloy"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.