Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography




From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Shadowland A Matter of Perspective album cover
4.04 | 4 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2009

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. The Whistleblower (6:32)
2. A Matter of Perspective (2:16)
3. The Hunger (6:27)
4. Jigsaw (11:05)
5. USI (United States of Insanity) (9:28)
6. Mephisto Bridge (6:48)
7. The Seventh Year (5:10)
8. Dreams of the Ferryman (8:44)
9. Ring of Roses (6:31)
10. Edge of Night (7:05)

Total Time 70:06

Line-up / Musicians

- Clive Nolan / keyboards, vocals
- Karl Groom / guitars
- Ian Salmon / bass, acoustic guitar
- Mike Varty / keyboards
- Nick Harradence / drums

Releases information

"Best of" album featuring band's favourite tracks from the three previously released albums, and also boasting a brand new song.

Thanks to andrius.v for the addition
and to easy livin for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy SHADOWLAND A Matter of Perspective Music

More places to buy SHADOWLAND music online

SHADOWLAND A Matter of Perspective ratings distribution

(4 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(100%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

SHADOWLAND A Matter of Perspective reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
4 stars An enticement

Shadowland regrouped in 2009 to play a number of gigs in Europe. While they did not go to the extent of recording a completely new album, this "Best of" package was complied to allow them to offer new product to their audience. One brand new song was recorded by the band for the album, with Mark Westwood taking over bass duties for the track and the tour.

The album has 9 tracks drawn fairly evenly from the three studio albums plus the new song "Edge of night". The selections tend to be held up by fans as being the best on those albums, so it would be churlish to quibble about what is in and what is not. The fact that these songs were also performed live by the band during the aforementioned tour perhaps also confirms their place in Shadowland's history.

Pleasingly, the focus is on the most progressive numbers, the 11 minute "Jigsaw", the 9 minute "Dreams of the ferryman" and the 8½ minute, two part "A matter of perspective/The hunger" being but three of the highlights.

The new song fits in well. It was written by Clive Nolan while he was working on Caamora's "She" project, but as soon as he wrote it he "realised that it was really a Shadowland song". Followers of the band should ensure that they add this song, which is probably the band's final statement, to their collection. A live version is available on the similarly titled DVD and live album also released in 2009.

As with any compilation, it is as notable for what is missed out as it is for what is present. "A matter of perspective" serves as a good introduction to Shadowland, but be warned it will simply entice you to acquire the band's three studio albums anyway.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of SHADOWLAND "A Matter of Perspective"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.