Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Steeleye Span

Prog Related

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Steeleye Span Spanning the Years album cover
2.17 | 4 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1995

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD 1
1. The Blacksmith (3.40)
2. My Johnny Was a Shoemaker (1.11)
3. The King (1.29)
4. Lovely on the Water (5.19)
5. Marrowbones (4.27)
6. Rave On (1.26)
7. Gaudete (2.26)
8. John Barleycorn (4.49)
9. Alison Gross (5.27)
10. Robbery With Violins (1.47)
11. Rogues in a Nation (4.34)
12. Cam Ye O'er Frae France (2.48)
13. Thomas the Rhymer (3.15)
14. To Know Him Is to Love Him (2.43)
15. New York Girls (3.08)
16. Long Lankin (8.42)
17. Black Jack Davy (4.16)
18. Hard Times of Old England (5.13)
19. All Around My Hat (4.08)
20. London (4.10)

CD 2
21. Fighting For Strangers (4.21)
22. The Black Freighter (5.59)
23. The Victory (8.36)
24. The False Knight on the Road (6.08)
25. Rag Doll (3.20)
26. Let Her Go Down (3.37)
27. Sails of Silver (3.27)
28. Gone to America (4.23)
29. My Love (2.55)
30. Lady Diamond (4.37)
31. Blackleg Miner (Live) (4.11)
32. One Misty Moisty Morning (live) (4.39)
33. The Fox (3.05)
34. Following Me (3.39)
35. Tam Lin (live) (10.45)

Line-up / Musicians

See original albums for line ups

Releases information

Chrysalis Records CDCHR 6093 / 7243 8 32236 2 6 (2 CD, UK, 1995)

Thanks to easy livin for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy STEELEYE SPAN Spanning the Years Music

More places to buy STEELEYE SPAN music online

STEELEYE SPAN Spanning the Years ratings distribution

(4 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (33%)
Collectors/fans only (67%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

STEELEYE SPAN Spanning the Years reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
2 stars Thomas is cut off again

This double CD collection is without doubt the most comprehensive overview of Steeleye Span complied thus far. It covers all their studio albums, with at least two tracks from each (except "Ten man mop" which has just one), plus a handful of live tracks. With no less than thirteen studio album released in the period from 1970 to 1989 though, even two CDs cannot hope to offer more than a fleeting glimpse of the band's music over that period.

From a prog folk perspective, it is disappointing to find so few of the band's longer tracks here, "Long Lankin" being one of the few to be included. As such, and together with the presence of the obvious singles and indulgences (such as the covers of "Rave on" and "To know him is to love him"), it is hard to recommend this set as quick way to appreciate the band's credentials in that field. There is no doubting the quality of the music or the performances, and the collection does give a good indication of how their style developed and altered over the period. I do find myself frustrated though as much by what is not here as by what is.

The main interest therefore is probably in the rarer live tracks, including a full 10+ minutes of "Tam lin", a song that had previously been included on the landmark Fairport Convention album "Liege and Leif". The other live tracks are versions of songs from studio albums, and as such will really only appeal to devotees of the band. In any event, while these tracks might be considered rarities, all are available on other live albums by Steeleye Span. The live version of "Blackleg miner", taken from the otherwise studio album "Back in line" is of historical interest, as it was performed during the infamous UK miner's strike of the mid 1980's.

One final note, beware once again here that the version of "Thomas the rhymer" is the inferior edited one.

In all, a decent compilation of songs from all the Steeleye Span albums, but inevitably only a very potted history of a band who deserve far deeper investigation than that offered here.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of STEELEYE SPAN "Spanning the Years"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.