Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Angelo Branduardi

Rock Progressivo Italiano

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Angelo Branduardi Futuro Antico III album cover
2.63 | 4 ratings | 2 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2002

Songs / Tracks Listing

La Ninfa Amorosa
1. Il Ballerino
2. Moresca
3. Balletto
4. Il Curioso
5. Ritornello
Amore e Attesa
6. Tu dormi, io veglio
7. Sinfonia
8. Su su leva, alza le ciglia
9. Corrente
10. Non è tempo d'aspettare
11. Ritornello
La Rugiada... Lacrime d'Amore
12. Ritornello
13. La rousée du joli moi de mai
14. Corrente La Favorita Gonzaga
15. Ritornello
16. Go Crystal Tears
Amore e Tormento
17. Vita mia perché mi fuggi
18. Ritornello
19. Quest'amore, quest'arsura
20. Ritornello
21. Sì dolce è il tormento
Amore e Morte
22. Donna lombarda - versione mantovana
23. L'avvelenato
24. Sinfonia
Amore e Gioia
25. Come Again
26. Balletto
27. Mantovanella
28. Novello Cupido
29. Ritornello
30. Or che tutto gioioso
31. Est-ce Mars

Line-up / Musicians

- Angelo Branduardi / vocals
- FrancescaTorelli / artistic direction

Thanks to Prog-Brazil for the addition
and to NotAProghead for the last updates
Edit this entry


More places to buy ANGELO BRANDUARDI music online

ANGELO BRANDUARDI Futuro Antico III ratings distribution

(4 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (25%)
Collectors/fans only (75%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

ANGELO BRANDUARDI Futuro Antico III reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by octopus-4
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR RIO/Avant/Zeuhl,Neo & Post/Math Teams
3 stars Francesca Torelli, the director of the "Ensemble Scintille di Musica" wrote on her blog how this porject was conceived, letting understand that this is more a project of the Ensemble with the participation (and the name) of Angelo Branduardi than a Branduardi's project.

The subtitle "Mantova alla corte dei Gonzaga" (Mantova at the Court of Gonzaga) comes from the fact that the Gonzaga, family who ruled Mantova for about two centuries, were famous for their support to every kind of art, including music.

The album is made of six suites composed of different medieval madrigals, villanelle, or other genres of popular (in these times) music, from different authors but joined together basing on their arguments.

The authors are not much famous. Probably the best known is Monteverdi.

So this is late medieval music, played using original instruments on which Angelo's voice sounds perfect, even though the best moments are probably the instrumentals. The classical guitar of track 9 is something that Steve Hackett would surely like, I think.

For people who loves classical music but also the European folk: British, Celic, Breton and Provencal, just to give an idea. More or less we all come from the same roots. Also Branduardi sings in various languages.

The album cover is part of a painting of Giulio Romano (1499-1546) and represents "Psiche and Eros" that other than being in Mantova is in line with the subject of the six suites that are all about Love and Death.

Not as good as the previous Futuro Antico but good enough. The important advice is: don't think to hear any prog.

Latest members reviews

2 stars On my review of the third Futuro Antigo album, I feel I am repeating myself........... and so is Angelo Branduardi too. This album was released through the EMI Classics label and is therefore widely available at libraries in the western world. Hence, the high sales figures for this series o ... (read more)

Report this review (#303634) | Posted by toroddfuglesteg | Tuesday, October 12, 2010 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of ANGELO BRANDUARDI "Futuro Antico III"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.