Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


The Warlocks

Psychedelic/Space Rock

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

The Warlocks Rise And Fall album cover
3.95 | 2 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2001

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Jam Of The Witches (14:07)
2. House Of Glass (9:07)
3. Skull Death Drum Jam (2:17)
4. Whips Of Mercy (3:52)
5. Song For Nico (6:15)
6. Left And Right Of The Moon (5:02)
7. Motorcycles (7:48)
8. Heavy Bomber / Laser Beam (9:15)

Total time 57:43

UK Version track list:
1. Song for Nico (6:15)
2. Cocaine Blues (2:35)
3. Caveman Rock (3:39)
4. Skull Death Drum Jam (2:17)
5. Jam of the Witches (14:07)
6. House of Glass (9:07)
7. Whips of Mercy (3:52)
8. Motorcycles (7:48)
9. Jam of the Zombies (6:06)

Total Time 55:46

Remastered / expanded edition (2010) track list:
CD 1 - Rise And Fall (62:59):
1. Jam Of The Witches (13:46)
2. House Of Glass (8:23)
3. Skull Death Drum Jam (2:46)
4. Whips Of Mercy (3:52)
5. Song For Nico (6:05)
6. Left And Right Of The Moon (5:02)
7. Motorcycles (7:51)
8. Heavy Bomber Laser Beam (9:12)
9. Jam Of The Druids (6:02)

CD 2 - EP & Rarities (73:26) :
1. Cocaine Blues (2:36)
2. Song For Nico (6:49)
3. Jam Of The Zombies (6:01)
4. Caveman Rock (3:28)
5. Angry Demons (3:37)
6. Jam Of The Warlocks (12:36)
7. Turn The Radio On (4:50)
8. Turn The Sun Down (5:47)
9. Total Headache (4:49)
10. Dilaudid (5:52)
11. Inside/Outside (Demo) (7:57)
12. Shake The Dope Out (Demo) (3:49)
13. Dope Feels Good (Demo) (5:15)

Line-up / Musicians

- Bobby Hecksher / vocals, guitar, bass
- JC Rees / guitar
- Corey Lee Granet / guitar
- Jeff Levitz / guitar
- Caleb Sweazy / bass, 12-string acoustic guitar
- Laura Grisby / tambourine, organ, vocals
- Danny Hole / drums
- Jason Anchondo / drums

Note : The actual instrumentation could not be fully confirmed at this moment

Releases information

Artwork: Bryan Lasley

CD BOMP! ‎- BCD-4082 (2001, US)
CD Evangeline ‎- GEL 4035 (2001, UK) Different track list
2xCD Zap Banana - ZAPBCD001 (2010, UK) Remastered & expanded release including the 2000 EP plus 8 unreleased bonus tracks, sub-titled "EP and Rarities", new cover

FLAC download -

Thanks to windhawk for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy THE WARLOCKS Rise And Fall Music

More places to buy THE WARLOCKS music online Buy THE WARLOCKS & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

THE WARLOCKS Rise And Fall ratings distribution

(2 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(50%)
Good, but non-essential (50%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

THE WARLOCKS Rise And Fall reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
4 stars You shouldn't do that

Formed in California, USA in 1999 under the leadership of Bobby Hecksher, The Warlocks boasted an ambitious eight man line up including no less than four lead guitarists and two drummers. Released in 2001, this album represents the band first full album, a six track EP having been released the previous year. Most of the tracks on that EP are included here, but beware, there are at least three different versions of this album. The UK and USA versions have different running orders, and two tracks which are unique to each. The UK version also has an additional jam track. The expanded "EP and rarities" version includes the six EP tracks (most of which therefore appear twice), plus the missing tracks from each version, plus some additional otherwise unavailable songs.

If we assume the track listing of the US version, which is closest to the expanded release, the album opens with a 14 minute monster called "Jam of the witches". While not quite as spacey as "In search of space", this guitar driven psychedelic rush does have echoes of Hawkwind's material from around that time, "You shouldn't do that" quickly coming to mind. There are also strong similarities with bands such as Death in Vegas ("Dirge") and the likes. The hypnotic pounding riffs are accentuated by the intrusive post rock style drums. This instrumental piece makes for a great opener, so it seems somewhat strange that for the UK release, it is relegated to midway through the album.

If the opening track was "You shouldn't do that", "House of glass" is "We took the wrong step years ago". This 9 minute song changes the mood radically, opening with acoustic guitar and spacey effects. The song also has strong similarities with Pink Floyd's acoustic songs on "Atom heart mother" and "Obscured by clouds". Here we find the first vocals of the the album, Hecksher actually sounding a bit Gilmour like. "Skull Death Drum Jam" is a silly title (see also the band's fourth album!) for a superfluous drums solo; the best that can be said is that thankfully it is kept reasonably brief.

"Whips of Mercy" maintains the softer tones, this and the following "Song for Nico" gradually building the mood back towards the psychedelic tones of the opener. "Song for Nico" is of course a tribute to the late Velvet Underground singer who found fame in psych's heyday. "Left and Right of the Moon" is a song which is absent from the UK version. The song continues the mood of "Song for Nico", with repetitive soft pop vocals on top of a gentle melody.

"Motorcycles" is a pleasant strummed guitar based song but sonically this seven minute refrain has little to do with its title. The album closes with "Heavy Bomber Laser Beam", the other track missing from the UK version. This 9 minute dirge returns us to the Death in Vegas style post rock through a building jam which bookends the set nicely.

On the UK version, "Jam of the zombies" is an early track which first appeared on the début EP. As such, while it is frantic and infectious, it is a relatively unrefined jam. "Cocaine blues" takes us right back to the trippy days of the late 60's in a Traffic like dreamy pop song.

Overall, a good first album by The Warlocks, which returns us to the golden age of psych. The main appeal of the album is that retro sound, but at this stage we shall have to reserve judgement on whether a career can be made in the 21st century from such a full commitment to an old style.

The various rarities which are added to the expanded re-release are largely in keeping with the tracks on the EP (more than the album) the more interesting including the Neil Young like single B side "Dilauded" and the sweet pop of "Turn the radio on". Even the expanded version has different releases, the version I have including a further bonus jam "Jam of the druids" which is not mentioned on the band's website. The demo "Inside/Outside" is an early example of the dirge style on which the various jams would be based, although here the track benefits from an appropriate vocal section, not unlike that of the fine but sadly unheralded band The Music.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of THE WARLOCKS "Rise And Fall"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives