Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Stanley Clarke

Jazz Rock/Fusion

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Stanley Clarke Modern Man album cover
2.88 | 21 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 1978

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Opening (Statement) (4:22)
2. He Lives On (Story About The Last Journey Of A Warrior) (4:24)
3. More Hot Fun (4:31)
4. Slow Dance (3:16)
5. Interlude: A Serious Occasion (0:21)
6. Got To Find My Own Place (3:17)
7. Dayride (4:06)
8. Interlude: It's What She Didn't Say (1:24)
9. Modern Man (3:31)
10. Interlude: A Relaxed Occasion (1:24)
11. Rock 'N' Roll Jelly (5:07)
12. Closing (Statement) (2:37)

Total time 38:20

Line-up / Musicians

- Stanley Clarke / acoustic, piccolo & electric basses, piano (2,9), narrator (1), vocals (7), string arranger & conductor (6), producer

- Dee Dee Bridgewater / vocals (1,7,12)
- Julia Waters / vocals (3,4)
- Maxine Waters / vocals (3,4)
- Raymond Gomez / electric guitar (1,3,6,7,12)
- Jeffrey Baxter / electric, synth & pedal steel guitars (2)
- Jeff Beck / guitar (11)
- Michael David Garson / Oberheim & Moog synths (1,3,7,12), organ (1,12), piano (4,6)
- Carmine Appice / bass & drums (11)
- Gerry Brown / drums & percussion (1,3,6,7,12)
- Jeff Porcaro / drums & percussion (2,4,9)
- Steve Gadd / cymbal (1,12)
- Al Harrison / piccolo trumpet (1,3,7,12), trumpet & flugelhorn (6)
- James Tinsley / piccolo trumpet (1-3,7,12), trumpet & flugelhorn (6)
- Bob Malach / tenor sax (1,3,6,7,12), flute (6)
- Al Williams III / soprano (1,3,6,7,12) & baritone (1,3,12) saxes, flute (6)
- Dale Devoe / trombone (1,3,6,7,12)
- Charles Veal Jr. / violin & string section concertmaster (6,9)
- Ed Walsh / Oberheim programming

Releases information

Artwork: Ed Lee with Norman Seeff (photo)

LP Nemperor Records ‎- JZ 35303 (1978, US)

CD Nemperor Records ‎- ZK 35303 (1986, US)
CD Epic ‎- EPC 468220 2 (1991, Netherlands) Remastered

Thanks to clarke2001 for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy STANLEY CLARKE Modern Man Music

STANLEY CLARKE Modern Man ratings distribution

(21 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(5%)
Good, but non-essential (67%)
Collectors/fans only (29%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

STANLEY CLARKE Modern Man reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Sean Trane
3 stars If the School Days album was still a good album that could indeed find space on the JR/F or JF/F shelf, Modern Man is the last that could fit in that "progressive fold"; the guest being the now-usual suspects: the Steely Dan crowd, the big Jeff, Dee Dee and the LA-studio gang (Porcaro & co), and the album is torn between NY (the Hendrix studios) and LA, with the latter winning. Ken Scott is not producing anymore, that part being handled by Stan The Man. Despite the rather un-compromising photo artwork, there are 12 tracks, clocking all under 5-mins but some as little as 20-seconds intros, filled with complex arrangements (Stan was classically trained), but lacking the balls to go completely conceptual or bombastic

Opening on the charming fairly-proggy but very cheesy Opening (those spoken vocals are hilariously embarrassing) filled with ambitious orchestrations, the album soon gives way to the atrocious MOR/soul He Lives On (with that "warrior" subtitle) that doesn't fit the music at all, even if again the arrangements are rather ambitious. Actually from an arrangement, orchestration and instrumentation, most if not all of the album is quite impressive in terms virtuosity, including a solid brass section that could be out of an Earth Wind & Fire album.

Indeed the book-ended title track by two short interludes shows that Clarke had strong ambitions, but didn't realize that the music he was writing and producing would be so tacky, cheesy, soapy, soppy and even bring disbelieving smirks at this grandiloquent, pompous and rather bombastic muzak. However, More Hot Fun and Slow Dance are particularly groovy ultra-funk pieces, but also close to disco beats, and both don't really fit with the more ambitious songwriting on the album.

In some ways, some of the most ambitious tracks of Modern Man are slightly reminiscent of Rick Wakeman's solo albums between Journey and 1984, and not faring much better in terms of ridicule. I may appear to be tough on The Bass-Slapping King with this particular review and School Days' (both being equal in terms of proggyness), but I can't call this ambitious soulish-MOR mixed with high-technique funk anything close to "prog". It might be worth letting an ear on it to sample, but approach cautiously: in the end it'll be your call. Don't say I didn't warn you, though.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of STANLEY CLARKE "Modern Man"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.