Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Stanley Clarke

Jazz Rock/Fusion

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Stanley Clarke S. M. V. (Stanley Clarke, Marcus Miller & Victor Wooten): Thunder album cover
3.30 | 15 ratings | 2 reviews | 13% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2008

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Maestros de las Frecuencias Bajas (2:52)
2. Thunder (6:37)
3. Hillbillies on a Quiet Afternoon (6:11)
4. Mongoose Walk (5:57)
5. Los Tres Hermanos (5:25)
6. Lopsy Lu - Silly Putty (medley) (6:12)
7. Milano (4:21)
8. Classical Thump (jam) (4:50)
9. Tutu (5:04)
10. Lil' Victa (4:10)
11. Pendulum (4:15)
12. "Lemme Try Your Bass" (0:57)
13. Grits (5:24)

Total Time 62:15

Line-up / Musicians

- Stanley Clarke / electric & acoustic (7,9) basses
- Marcus Miller / bass, bass clarinet (1), alto & tenor saxes (1), keyboards (4), synth (2,3,-7,9,11,13), programming (2,6,9), producer
- Victor Wooten / bass, arrangements (6,8,9)

- Butterscotch / vocals (2,9) beatbox & voice trumpet (2,11)
- Ruslan Sirota / keyboards (1)
- Ariel Mann / synth (1)
- George Duke / clavinet (3), keyboards (6)
- Chick Corea / piano (4)
- Carlton Taylor / keyboards (9)
- Patches Stewart / trumpet (1,6)
- Steve Baxter / trombone (1,6)
- Ronald Bruner, Jr. / drums (1,10,13)
- Derico Watson / drums (3,4)
- Poogie Bell / drums (5,6)
- J.D. Blair / drums (9)
- Kevin Ricard / percussion (4,5,7)

Releases information

Artwork: Steve Parke

CD Heads Up International ‎- HUCD3163 (2008, US)

Thanks to Evolver for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy STANLEY CLARKE S. M. V. (Stanley Clarke, Marcus Miller & Victor Wooten): Thunder Music

STANLEY CLARKE S. M. V. (Stanley Clarke, Marcus Miller & Victor Wooten): Thunder ratings distribution

(15 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(13%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(60%)
Good, but non-essential (27%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

STANLEY CLARKE S. M. V. (Stanley Clarke, Marcus Miller & Victor Wooten): Thunder reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Evolver
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Crossover & JR/F/Canterbury Teams
3 stars Thunder? Not quite. Maybe there's a storm off in the distance.

When I heard that these three aces of the basses were getting together fof an album I couldn't wait. I was salivating at the thought of some of the greatest bassist ever pushing each other to new heights. When I finally purchased the album, I was a bit disappointed. The performances are great, mind you, but there is little on this that I would call outstanding.

I think what put me off here was the slow pace of nearly every composition. While a rhythmically slow song gives the bassist room to play much faster, I wanted to hear one or two songs where these guys' fingers were flying constantly. But alas.

It is nice to hear the way Clarke, Miller & Wooten blend their basses, each taking turns with the lead, or sometimes two or three basses inunison blasting away. Songs like "Thunder", "Mongoose walk" and "Classical Thump" are all examples of this form.

And finally Clarke seems to admit that "Lopsy Lu" and "Silly Putty" are almost the same song, blending both together in a medley where it is often difficult to tell which song is being played when.

If you love bass, this is a good showcase.

But I sort of wish they at least played "Big Bottom". ;)

Latest members reviews

3 stars Stanley Clarke. Marcus Miller. Victor Wooten. If you know anything about jazz fusion, funk, or the electric bass, these men need no introduction. These three bassists - some of the best players alive - are responsible for revolutionizing the electric bass and demonstrating what the instrument ... (read more)

Report this review (#917707) | Posted by RBlak054 | Friday, February 22, 2013 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of STANLEY CLARKE "S. M. V. (Stanley Clarke, Marcus Miller & Victor Wooten): Thunder"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.