Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Jazz Rock/Fusion

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Material One Down album cover
2.44 | 13 ratings | 1 reviews | 15% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 1982

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Take A Chance (4:31)
2. I'm The One (5:25)
3. Time Out (4:52)
4. Let Me Have It All (5:23)
5. Come Down (4:43)
6. Holding On (4:40)
7. Memories (3:58)
8. Don't Lose Control (4:18)

Total time 37:50

Bonus track 0n 1992 & 1997 reissues:
9. Bustin' Out (8:03)

Line-up / Musicians

- Michael Beinhorn / synths (Prophet 5, Oberheim OBXa), sequencer, tapes, vocoder, Roland drum machine, percussion
- Bill Laswell / basses, Fx

- Nona Hendryx / lead (1,9) & backing (4) vocals
- R. Bernard Fowler / lead & backing vocals (2,5)
- Noris Night / lead vocals (4)
- B.J. Nelson / lead vocals (1,4,6)
- Whitney Houston / lead vocals (7)
- Thi-Linh Le / voice (8)
- Jean Karakos / voice (8)
- Nicky Skopelitis / guitar (1,6) voice (8)
- Nile Rogers / guitar (2,5)
- Fred Frith / guitar (3)
- Ronald Drayton / guitar (4,6,9)
- Michael Beinhorn / synthesizers
- Raymond Jones / Yamaha CP-70B electric grand piano (2,7)
- Oliver Lake / tenor & alto saxophones (5)
- Archie Shepp / tenor saxophone (7)
- Bill Laswell / basses
- J.T. Lewis / drums (1,3,6)
- Tony Thompson / drums (2,5,8)
- Yogi Horton / drums (4,7)
- Fred Maher / drums (9)
- Daniel Ponce / bongos (2,8)
- Nicky Marrero / timbales & bells (1,6), snare (3)

Releases information

Artwork: Michael Beinhorn

LP Elektra ‎- 60206-1 (1982, US)

CD Restless Records - 7 72654-2 (1992, US) With a bonus track, new cover art
CD Charly Records ‎- CPCD 8282 (1997, Germany) Remastered with a bonus track, original cover

Thanks to Captain Capricorn for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy MATERIAL One Down Music

MATERIAL One Down ratings distribution

(13 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(15%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(15%)
Good, but non-essential (31%)
Collectors/fans only (38%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

MATERIAL One Down reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by zravkapt
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
2 stars This is possibly the worst Material album although I haven't heard every one. Basically a duo of bassist Bill Laswell and keyboardist Michael Beinhorn with guest musicians. Both would go on to produce and collaborate with many artists. After this album, Beinhorn co-wrote Herbie Hancock's biggest hit "Rockit". The vast majority of the music here is post-disco early '80s R&B and synth-pop. Very dated. Most of the vocals are done by females.

Some of the more well known guests include Nile Rodgers of Chic and a 16-year old Whitney Houston(more on that later). The best thing about this album is Laswell's bass playing, but even it sounds very dated now. "Let Me Have It All" was written by Sylvester Stewart, otherwise known as Sly of the Family Stone. "Holding On" was co-written with Brian Eno. Neither song is anything special. The last three songs are the best. Before I get to the first of the three, I'll talk about the last two. "Don't Lose Control" has some good vocoder and a nice synth melody. Some talking in French near the end. "Busting Out" is a nifty club song. I think this was a single. Good bass playing and a decent guitar solo near the end.

The best song here and the least dated is "Memories". This is the song with Whitney Houston on vocals, two years before her debut album. Jazz legend Archie Shepp plays some great saxophone on this song. Whitney does the best vocals on the whole album. This song was written by Hugh Hopper(RIP) for The Wilde Flowers(who split into Caravan and Soft Machine). The version here is very good. Great lyrics("Get so you cannot stay, and yet cannot go"). Soft Machine, Daevid Allen and Robert Wyatt all recorded this song, but Wyatt's version from 1974 is the definative version. Dare I say the version here is the second best.

This album won't be of much interest to many people(whether they like prog or not). I would say you're better off getting the first album Memory Serves or the 1993 album Hallucination Engine for your first taste of Material. Material were very hit-or-miss, and this is a miss. 2 stars.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of MATERIAL "One Down"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.