Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Heavy Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Ningen-Isu Peten-Shi To Kuuki-Otoko album cover
3.00 | 1 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1994

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Shinpan No Hi (5:41)
2. Kokoro No Kaji (4:07)
3. Kohfuku No Neji (5:13)
4. Ayakashi No Tsuzumi (5:18)
5. Yashagaike (7:23)
6. Namakemono No Jinsei (5:02)
7. Taiyoh Kokuten (6:59)
8. Seishun Rock Daijin (3:01)
9. Tengoku Ni Musubu Koi (4:17)
10. Jinmen-Soh (5:15)
11. Daiyogen (3:25)
12. Hashire Melos (4:21)
13. Motto Hikari Wo! (3:49)
14. Ringo No Namida (4:02)
15. Maisoh-Mushi No Uta (5:44)

Total Time 73:30

Line-up / Musicians

- Shinji Wajima / guitars, voices
- Ken'ichi Suzuki / bass, voices
- Noriyoshi Kamidate / drums
- Masuhiro Gotoh / drums

Releases information

Meldac label MECR30054

Thanks to DamoXt7942 for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy NINGEN-ISU Peten-Shi To Kuuki-Otoko Music

More places to buy NINGEN-ISU music online Buy NINGEN-ISU & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

NINGEN-ISU Peten-Shi To Kuuki-Otoko ratings distribution

(1 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (100%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

NINGEN-ISU Peten-Shi To Kuuki-Otoko reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by FragileKings
3 stars This is the first compilation album of Ningen Isu. It was released on Meldac in 1994, the fifth release on that label and the final release in the band's contract with the label until resigning with them in 1999.

This compilation includes songs from their first four original studio albums with Meldac: Ningen Shikkaku (1990), Sakura no Mori no Mankai no Shita (1991), Ougon no Yoake (1992), and Rashoumon (1993). There are three bonus tracks as well.

The album does a good job of representing these albums. Ningen Shikkaku has Ayakashi no Tsuzumi, Tengoku ni Musubu Koi, and Ringo no Namida. These three songs capture that band in a very heavy and hard hitting retro sound that was their style on the debut album. The music resembles classic Budgie and Black Sabbath while sometimes going faster, bearing some influence of both NWoBHM and speed metal.

From Sakura no Mori no Mankai no Shita, there's Kokoro no Kaji, Yashagaike, and Taiyou Kokuten. This album's guitar sound brought us closer to the mid-seventies but the band's style remained a blend of seventies heavy and hard rock with some eighties influences. Kokoro no Kaji begins almost like thrash metal, Yashagaike features a Japanese folk beginning before the song evolves into a heavier electric mood, and Taiyou Kokuten reflects the band's fondness for doom-heavy, Black Sabbath-styled songs.

Two songs are from Ougon no Yoake: Shinpan no Hi and Kofun no Neji. This album was more progressive with longer songs; however, these two tracks here, while still showing the band's progressive rock influences, are more concise and capture the band's metal spirit. It's interesting to note that future compilations would largely ignore this album. Unfortunate, as I consider it one of their best.

Finally, from Rashoumon we have Namakemono no Jinsei, which is a medium tempo but rousing heavy rock track about the life of a loafer; Seishun Rock Daijin, a hard rocker with an upbeat mood; Maisoh Mushi no Uta, which begins like a slow, hard rock track but breaks double-time into a lead guitar solo in tandem with the bass; and Motto Hikari wo, which was the opening track on Rashoumon and is a one-punch, two-punch hard and heavy rocker that's quite catchy I find.

The three bonus tracks are Daiyogen, a rugged, speed metal number that slows down for a solid metal riff in the middle before picking up the pace again; Hashire Melos, a Maiden-esque instrumental that was used for a Honda motorcycle commercial, and the Yashagaike single B-side version of Jinmensou. The original song appeared on the debut ep. This version was recorded with an acoustic guitar intro instead of the clean guitar intro of the original.

This is rather a good compilation, capturing the band's heavy and hard rock sound while at the same time giving some room for the impression that they are also a progressive band. For a first time listener, you will be get an excellent impression of Ningen Isu's early years. No other compilation includes as many tracks from the second to fourth albums. As well, two of the three bonus tracks are available only on this compilation. My personal thoughts are that there are some songs on those albums that better represent the band's prog side. So, for fans of progressive rock, this album is alright, but it's better for fans of hard and heavy rock with a progressive edge to it.

Two strikes against this are one: it's out of print, and two: in 2016 most of Ningen Isu's catalogue to date was reissued on HQCDs and so the actual reissued albums from 2016 sound better than this compilation album. The album can be found on iTunes and possibly with other streaming services. Used CDs are available on the Internet

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of NINGEN-ISU "Peten-Shi To Kuuki-Otoko"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives