Anja Garbarek

Crossover Prog

From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Anja Garbarek Smiling & Waving album cover
3.79 | 9 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review
from Progarchives.com partners
Studio Album, released in 2001

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Her Room (2:26)
2. The Gown (3:21)
3. The Context (4:41)
4. Stay Tuned (4:16)
5. You Know (3:35)
6. Big Mouth (3:19)
7. The Diver (3:59)
8. That's All (3:51)
9. And Then (4:16)
10. It Seems We Talk (4:58)

Total Time 38:42


Search ANJA GARBAREK Smiling & Waving lyrics

Music tabs (tablatures)

Search ANJA GARBAREK Smiling & Waving tabs

Line-up / Musicians

- Anja Garbarek/ vocals, percussion
- The London Session Orchestra / strings (tracks 1, 4, 5, 8, 9)
- Laurence Pendrous / piano (tracks 1, 2, 7, 8), organ (track 4), Rhodes (track 6)
- Chris Lawrence / bass (tracks 1-3, 6, 7, 9)
- John Pigneguy, Richard Bissill / French horn (track 1)
- Steve Jansen / percussion (tracks 1, 2), drums (tracks 3, 4)
- John Bradbury, Ivo van der Werff, Tony Lewis, Tony Hinnegan / strings (tracks 2, 7)
- Mark Hollis / piano, electric bass, melodica (track 2)
- Melinda Maxwell / oboe (tracks 2, 7)
- Steven Wilson / guitar (tracks 2, 5, 10), percussion (track 3), piano (track 10)
- Martin Ditcham / percussion (tracks 2, 7)
- Nick Bucknall, Anthony Pike / clarinet (track 3)
- Tony Pleeth, Paul Kegg / cello
- Richard Barbieri / analogue effects (track 4)
- Jørgen Knudsen / atmosphere (track 4)
- Robin O'Neill / bassoon (track 5)
- Theo Travis / saxophone (track 6), flute (track 8), bass flute (track 10)
- Gavyn Wright / violin (track 6)
- Peter Lake / viola (track 6)
- Robert Wyatt / vocals (track 7)
- Helen Tunstall / harp (track 9)
- Frank Ricotti / vibraphone (track 10)

Thanks to windhawk for the addition
Edit this entry

ANJA GARBAREK MP3, Free Download (music stream)

Open extended player in a new pop-up window | Random Playlist (50) | How to submit new MP3s

Buy ANJA GARBAREK Smiling & Waving Music

Balloon MoodBalloon Mood
Bmg 1999
Audio CD$56.48
$11.57 (used)
Smiling & WavingSmiling & Waving
Phantom Sound & Visi 2001
Audio CD$22.90
$19.95 (used)
Right Now on Ebay (logo)

More places to buy ANJA GARBAREK music online Buy ANJA GARBAREK & Prog Rock Digital Music online:
  • AmazonMP3: Search for ANJA GARBAREK DRM-Free MP3 Downloads @ AmazonMP3 (USA Only) | AmazonMP3 (UK Only)

ANJA GARBAREK Smiling & Waving ratings distribution

(9 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(56%)
Good, but non-essential (33%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (11%)

ANJA GARBAREK Smiling & Waving reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Slartibartfast
4 stars Anja, the Daughter of jazz saxophonist Jan Garbarek, with Steven Wilson and Robert Wyatt, and all together on one album should make for something interesting and certainly enough it does. Steven does production for the album and plays various instruments on various tracks but not the track with Robert Wyatt. Robert only provides vocals for one song, The Diver. Robert later did cover a song he wasn't on for this album, Stay Tuned, and Richard Barbieri (another Porcupine Tree conspirator, Wyatt not counting yet as far as I know) puts in an appearance on one song, Stay Tuned, which was the one that Wyatt covered.

The center star is of course Anja. It's her project, not her first album, and the rest of the musicians do serve as supporting artists for her vision. Lyrically and perhaps musically you get a strong woman's perspective on the difficulties of life. A dark and chilling perspective at times.

This album is a bit like some of Angleo Badalamenti's soundtrack work with David Lynch: dark and mellow and jazzy and dreamy. Anja's lyrics and music are a mix of the disturbing with beauty. No-man comes to mind too, but I like Anja's vocal style much better than Tim Bowness'.

"Emerging through water. That's all we know. On hands and knees towards the shore. That's all we know."


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Slartibartfast (BETA) | Report this review (#276044) | Review Permalink
Posted Friday, April 02, 2010

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of ANJA GARBAREK "Smiling & Waving"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community

Server processing time: 0.25 seconds