Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


I Califfi

Rock Progressivo Italiano

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

I Califfi Così ti Amo album cover
2.50 | 5 ratings | 1 reviews | 20% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 1970

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Acqua e Sapone 1967
2. Al Mattino 1967
3. Chiuso con Tutti (Close Another Door) 1969
4. Così ti amo (To love Somebody) 1968
5. Fogli di Quaderno 1969
6. Forse Cambierà 1969
7. Il mio Futuro 1969
8. La Fiera del Perdono (Scarborough Fair) 1968
9. Ma Dove Vai 1969
10. Milady 1969
11. Non Serve a Niente 1969
12. Parlano di Te 1968
13. Pensieri di Davjack 1969
14. Tutto Quello 1968
15. Vorrei Scordar 1968

Track list of CD 52-OSM-004
1. Al Mattino (In The Morning)
2. Ma Dove Vai
3. Il Mio Futuro
4. Chiuso Con Tutti (Close Another Door)
5. Parlano Di Te
6. Pensieri Di Davjack (Though Of Emerlist Davjack)
7. Così Ti Amo (To Love Somebody)
8. La Fiera Del Perdono (Scaraborough Fair)
9. Tutto Quello
10. Forse Cambierà
11. Marshall Jim 100
12. Cara (unreleased)
13. Fogli Di Quaderno
14. La Bellezza
15. Torna A Me (Look Away)
16. Un Uomo solo
17. L'appuntamento
18. Vita Inutile
19. Lei Non Ti Tradirebbe Mai
20. Acqua E Sapone

Line-up / Musicians

- Paolo Tofani / guitar
- Giacomo Romoli / keyboards
- Franco Boldrini / bass
- Carlo Felice Marcovecchio / drums, vocals

Releases information

LP Riffi RFS-ST 14030
CD On Sale Music 52-OSM-004

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
and to Snow Dog for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy I CALIFFI Così ti Amo Music

I CALIFFI Così ti Amo ratings distribution

(5 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(20%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(40%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (40%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

I CALIFFI Così ti Amo reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by DangHeck
2 stars The mixing on this album is really something else, right from the start, kind of jarring with "Al mattino"... It feels like my ears are experiencing the depth and breadth of the composition lol. I don't know how else to put it. And I really have to wonder if they did it with such great purpose (I assume yes). At least it's musically lovely. And very very of the time, 1969/1970, just as 1973's followup, Fiore di metallo, is very much a product of its time. For general fans of Prog, I would recommend starting with Fiore (as I did).

This strange production style on the opener relaxes immediately and the remainder is largely orthodox in mixing. On that second track, "Ma dove vai", the organ and harmonica call to mind GRAHAM BOND ORGANISATION. Sort of an Italian Beat thing (as I'm sure that was very much a thing post-British Invasion). Other elements of that style of jazz-inspired early hard rock can be heard on the closer, "Marshall Jim 100".

Musically, the album is an interesting mix of general 1960s idioms. What we, as ProgArchives listeners, may have come for in Proto-Prog and Psychedelia is matched with Sunshine(ish) Pop, Baroque Pop and even neo-classical flavors (yes, I know this may sound redundant having already mentioned Proto-Prog), and that sort of rootsy(?), bluesy, even jazzy thing (the specific sound that made me think of Graham BOND). Are Progressive Rock fans going to want to flock to this early, at best, Proto-Prog-adjacent album? I would think not. But also, this release, 4 years before the aforementioned 1973 followup, shows an interesting creative basis for the band: How were I Califfi inspired early on? What were they jumping off of to become one of the many bands within the very specific Italian Prog pantheon?

One thing that of course caught my eye (and then my ears) was their cover of the (early) Bee Gees, here, the title track: "Cosí ti amo (To Love Somebody)". The organ they use here reminds me of PROCOL HARUM. Makes me even more curious of all the bands and musical artists that had greatest effect on I Califfi. To be clear, really, a decent album. But that's about it. Certainly not a whole lotta Prog goin' on in 1969, but especially not on this'n... If I were to suggest anything, it's the previously mentioned final track on the digital version I had access to, "Marshall Jim 100." Heavy jammin'.

Enjoy! Or don't!

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of I CALIFFI "Così ti Amo"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.