Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Canterbury Scene

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Gong The History and Mystery of the Planet Gong album cover
3.02 | 11 ratings | 2 reviews | 9% 5 stars

Write a review

Buy GONG Music
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1989

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Intro (from Christmas Party 1973) (1:02)
2. Captain Shaw And Mr. Gilbert (Recorded by Daevid in 1964) (1:12)
3. Love Makes Sweet Music (Daevid Allen & Soft Machine Radio Broadcast 1968) (1:06)
4. Riot 1969 (with Soft Machine in France plus DLT Interview) (1:40)
5. Dreaming It (Earliest Live Recording of Gong 1969) (5:32)
6. I Feel So Lazy (Live in Los Angeles 1972) (4:25)
7. And I Tried So Hard (Live in Los Angeles 1972) (5:26)
8. Radio Gnome Pre-Mix (Studio Out Take 1973) (3:06)
9. Pot Head Pixies (Live 1973) (1:26)
10. Clarence In Wonderland (Radio Session with Kevin Ayers) (5:16)
11. Where Have All The Flowers Gone? (Recorded in Deya Spain 1976) (5:42)
12. Gong Poem (Recorded with Clive Williamson 1976) (1:40)
13. Deya Goddess (Recorded in Deya Spain 1976) (8:25)
14. Opium For The People (Studio Version Sung in French) (4:21)
15. Red Alert (Recorded in Wales 1980 with Mother Gong) (2:14)
16. 13-8 (Studio Session 1981 Featuring Guy Evans & Dave Sawyer) (3:58)
17. Gliss-U-Well (Studio Version 1981 with Dider from the Tape "Words Fail Me") (1:13)
18. Future (Taken from Australian Tape Only Release "Living on the Brink") (1:14)
19. The Dream (with Gilli Smyth & Tom the Poet Australia 1985) (4:06)
20. Chernobyl Rain (Kansas Mix Invisible Opera Co.) (3:48)
21. Let Me Be One (Recorded Live in Glastonbury 1988 (6:10)

Total Time 73:03

CD re-release The Owl and The Tree bonus disc

1. I Am A Tree (4:42)
2. Lament For The Future Of The Forest (3:41)
3. Hands (3:17)
4. Unseen Ally (4:11)
5. La Dea Madri (7:06)
6. The Owly Song (6:36)
7. I Am My Own Lover (14:32)
8. Tudor Love Poem (5:01)

Total Time 49:06

Line-up / Musicians

- Daevid Allen / guitars, vocals
- Gilli Smyth / vocals
(artists not listed)

Releases information

Vinyl LP Demi Monde DMLP-1018 (UK)

CD NMC PILTO 67 (2000,with bonus CD)

Thanks to Evolver for the addition
and to snobb for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy GONG The History and Mystery of the Planet Gong Music

More places to buy GONG music online

GONG The History and Mystery of the Planet Gong ratings distribution

(11 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(9%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(18%)
Good, but non-essential (45%)
Collectors/fans only (27%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

GONG The History and Mystery of the Planet Gong reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Evolver
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Crossover & JR/F/Canterbury Teams
3 stars I find it rather amazing that I'm the only one here with this collection, and I'm not even a big Gong/Daevid Allen fan. But I found this one in a bargain bin for a ridiculously low price at a mall music store - not a normal place to find obscure prog releases.

This is an uneven, but fascinating collection of live tracks, studio outtakes, radio appearances and other odd pieces by Daevid Allen's groupings of Gong and it's many off-shoots. The tracks come from as far back as 1964, and as late as 1988, so this really does cover a long history of this band. The recording quality ranges from slightly less than fair (on some of the older live recordings) to very good. The performances are all excellent. And the song selection should please any prog historian.

Review by HolyMoly
3 stars A Daevid Allen musical scrapbook

My journey into Gong territory began rather inauspiciously in 1989 with this obscure little compilation. Actually, that's not entirely true - a few months earlier, I had come across the LP Expresso (the American pressing of Gazeuse!), by the Pierre Moerlen-led jazz/fusion version of the band. So to go from that to this... it was mighty confusing for a budding prog fan like me that didn't have the Internet yet to look these things up and make some sense of it. I think I even sold this a couple of years later, but I ended up missing it, and purchased it a second time. See, though it's a pretty random pick of outtakes of variable quality, there's actually quite a few songs on here I would not want to be without.

It takes about 5 tracks before any real music happens, as the first few opening tracks are mostly little soundbites meant to provide some slices of pre-Gong history -- such as a clip from when the police shut down a Soft Machine concert in France during some student riots (with Daevid (?) having some very choice words for the cops). But by track 5 we're into the early Gong, with the lovely, live "Dreaming It", a song I have not seen on any other album, though I did see a live clip from French television circa 1971. It's a simple bass-driven mantra number, with Allen's spiritual wailing, inspirational and yearning. Other great moments include Gong's Peel Session with Kevin Ayers, performing Kevin's now-classic "Clarence in Wonderland", a wonderfully raw take on the punky "Opium for the People"; some very lovely acoustic Daevid Allen solo material like "Deya Goddess" (pure bliss; also included on his Now Is the Happiest Time of Your Life LP), the superb ska-rocker "Chernobyl Rain" (with the Invisible Opera Company)....

Come to think of it, there's actually very little "Gong" on this CD, at least in the classic incarnation of which most prog fans are aware (Radio Gnome stuff y'know). But there's such a variety of stuff here that you're bound to find something you like, even if it's a comedy skit ("Captain Shaw and Mister Gilbert"... man is that wacky), a capella group chanting ("Let Me Be One"), spoken word poetry ("The Dream", "Gong Poem"), relaxing instrumentals ("13/8"), or what have you.

If you really want classic Gong stuff, and won't accept any substitutes, you're bound to be disappointed; however, this comp still throws you a few bones with rare versions of "Pot Head Pixies", "And I Tried So Hard", and "Where Have All the Flowers Gone". But the focus here is on covering the breadth of Daevid Allen's many musical projects (not just Gong, either) over three decades. Not all of it is great, but don't dismiss it entirely, or you may find yourself buying it again like I did.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of GONG "The History and Mystery of the Planet Gong"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.