Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Symphonic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Ange 70's / 80's - Deux Décennies De Concert album cover
3.17 | 4 ratings | 1 reviews | 25% 5 stars

Write a review
Buy ANGE Music
from partners
DVD/Video, released in 2003

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Par Les Fils De Mandrin
2. Au Café Du Colibri
3. Ainsi S'En Ira La Pluie
4. Autour Du Feu
5. Saltimbanques
6. Atlantis - Les Géants De La Troisième Lune
7. Hymne A La Vie (I. Cantique/II. Procession/III. Hymne)
8. Le Soir Du Diable
9. Sur La Trace Des Fées
10. Le Nain De Stanislas
11. Fils De Lumière
12. Au-Delà Du Délire
13. Les Noces
14. Les Temps Modernes
15. Les Yeux D'Un Fou (3'25)
16. Là Pour Personne - Je N'Suis...
17. Guignols
18. La Chasse
19. Fou!
20. Crever D'Amour (I. Prélude)
21. Crever D'Amour (I. Coït Final)
22. Ces Gens-Là

Line-up / Musicians

- Christian Décamps / vocals, piano, keyboards, organ, percussion
- Francis Décamps / keyboards, vocals, Mellotron, synthesizer, piano
- Jean-Michel Brezovar / guitar, vocals (1970-76)
- Daniel Haas / guitars, bass (1970-76)
- Gerald Jelsch / percussion, drums (1970-74)
- Jean-Pierre Guichard / drums, percussion (1976-78)
- Claude Demet / guitar (1978)
- Gerald Renard / bass (1978)

Releases information

DVD Musea FGBG 9013 (2003)

Thanks to Sean Trane for the addition
and to NotAProghead for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy ANGE 70's / 80's - Deux Décennies De Concert Music

More places to buy ANGE music online Buy ANGE & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

ANGE 70's / 80's - Deux Décennies De Concert ratings distribution

(4 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(25%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(50%)
Good, but non-essential (25%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

ANGE 70's / 80's - Deux Décennies De Concert reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Sean Trane
3 stars 3.5 stars really!!!

Another DVD of Ange from Musea, but this time more inclined towards the older fans of the band. Indeed as the title suggests this deal with the glorious 70's "concerts" (two of them) and the more "iffy" 80's performances. As you'd expect with such a wide time lapse, there is a vast variety of line-ups, with the only common players the Descamps brothers.

The first part is a TV special broadcast where the group presents the majority of Fils Du Mandrin concept in its entirety with a few parts enacted, notably the mellotron-dominated Aisi S'En Ira La Pluie and the mainly acoustic Autour Du Feu. The rendition does not look or sound like playback, but the performance is a bit deceiving, because the sound is a little thin. Overall this made-for-TV footage helps bringing to life the Mandrin concept, but it would've been even bettered if they'd done the in-between intros that you find on the Millésimé 77 Live album (on Musea as well).. The second 70's bit a Paris 77 concert, starting out on the now-oldie Soir Du Diable (from their debut Caricatures), almost a one- man show from Christian, but definitely a crowd pleaser. Two Jacotey tracks follow up before Fils De Lumière and Au Delà Du Délire (both from the Délire album) and a short version of Les Noces from Jacotey. This is definitely the best of the three footage available on this DVD, but unfortunately it's also the shortest.

The third part is their 80's is preceded by a short before the tour reportage and is also a Paris concert, but this time from 85 in promotion for the Fou album. Obviously quite a different era, Ange is trying (did not say succeed) to remain itself while modernizing its image and sounds. This document has been tampered with to include more interview and extra footage. The music is sounding definitely more 80's-ish and is slightly more guitar- dominated despite sounding a bit like a cross-breeding between saga and It Bites (if you forget Descamps' so distinctive vocals), while the visual aspects remain fairly strong with the drums sitting opposite the keyboards stacks, thus leaving the centre stage free for the theatrics, which include a bunch of mime and even some laser lights.

There is also a "bonus" section with pictures commented by Descamps, where they fare out as far as the early 90's, but again, you'd better have good understanding of French to catch the comments. Definitely THE early Ange live document, even if some parts have not aged well (I don't necessarily mean the 80's part here), but if you're more than a casual Ange fan? this is a must-own thing.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of ANGE "70's / 80's - Deux Décennies De Concert"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives