Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Tori Amos

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Tori Amos Midwinter Graces album cover
3.79 | 15 ratings | 1 reviews | 13% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2009

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. What Child, Nowell (3:12)
2. Star Of Wonder (3:51)
3. A Silent Night With You (3:23)
4. Candle: Coventry Carol (3:18)
5. Holly, Ivy, And Rose (4:44)
6. Harps Of Gold (3:10)
7. Snow Angel (3:44)
8. Jeanette, Isabella (4:28)
9. Pink And Glitter (4:57)
10. Emmanuel (3:00)
11. Winter's Carol (5:22)
12. Our New Year (4:13)

Total time 47:22

Line-up / Musicians

- Tori Amos / vocals, piano, harpsichord (1,8), Wurlitzer (2), arranger (1,2,4-6,8,10), composer (3,7,9,11,12), producer

- Kelsey Dobyns / vocals (4)
- Natashya Hawley / vocals (5)
- Mac Aladdin / guitar (6,8,9,12)
- John Philip Shenale / synthesizer, sampling, string (1,3,4,8,9) and brass (4,9) arranger & conductor
- Bruce Burchmore / lute (4)
- Lon Price / orchestration (9)
- Ronnie Cuber / baritone sax (9)
- Bob Malach / clarinet, tenor sax
- Lawrence Feldman / clarinet & alto sax (9)
- Samuel Paul Bortka / bass clarinet (9) , tenor sax
- Bob Millikan / trumpet, flugelhorn
- Tony Kadleck / trumpet, flugelhorn
- Brian Pareshi / trumpet, flugelhorn
- James De La Garza / trumpet
- Dan Levine / trombone
- Keith O'Quinn / trombone
- Tom "Bones" Malone / trombone
- Dave Taylor / bass trombone (4,9)
- Haim Shtrum / violin
- Philip Valman / violin
- John Wittenberg / violin
- Margaret Wooten / violin
- Shari Zippert / violin
- Razdan Kuyumjian / violin
- Francine Walsh / violin
- Norm Hughes / violin
- Gil Romero / violin
- Calabria McChesney / violin
- Bob Peterson / violin
- Charles Everett / violin
- Armen Garabedian / violin
- Mark Cargill / violin
- Benedikt Brydern / violin
- Denyse Buffum / viola
- Jimbo Ross / viola
- Dan Neufeld / viola
- Evan Wilson / viola
- Harry Shirinian / viola
- Armen Ksajikian / cello
- Nancy Ross / cello
- Ernest Ehrhardt / cello
- Timothy Loo / cello
- Giovanna Moraga Clayton / cello
- Jon Evans / bass
- Matt Chamberlain / drums, percussion, bells

Releases information

Collection of classic carols and original songs from Tori Amos

Artwork: Christopher Kornmann

CD Universal Republic Records ‎- 0602527154459 (2009, Europe)

Thanks to ? for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy TORI AMOS Midwinter Graces Music

More places to buy TORI AMOS music online

TORI AMOS Midwinter Graces ratings distribution

(15 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(13%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(40%)
Good, but non-essential (33%)
Collectors/fans only (13%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

TORI AMOS Midwinter Graces reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Slartibartfast
COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / In Memoriam
4 stars It was somewhat surprising to see a self described "recovering Christian" put out a mostly Christmas album but it also focuses on the season in general. Not so surprising, my parents had a few Christmas LPs when I was growing up so there's some decent offerings in that genre.

Midwinter Graces is a mixture of original songs with plenty of covers and riffs on of old traditional stuff. Heavy on the strings.

What Child, Nowell - a new take on The First Noel. Star Of Wonder, a nice take on We Three Kings.

A Silent Night With You is one of the first originals that has nothing borrowed from the original song other than "silent night". The bonus edition does have her version of the original.

Candle: Coventry Carol, another cover of something old with Tori's own addition.

Holly, Ivy, And Rose - I believe this is first time where Tori duets with Nataysha Hawley. It's another take on something traditional that eludes me.

Harps Of Gold, Gloria in excelsis Deo.

Snow Angel - original.

Jeanette, Isabella - reworked traditional, I can't put my finger on it.

Pink And Glitter - another original, kind of big band jazzy.

Emmanuel - another traditional that I don't recognize.

The regular album wraps up with more two originals: Winter's Carol and Our New Year and for the bonus edition you get two more traditional: Comfort And Joy, Silent Night.

I suspect the album might have gone over well at holiday gatherings if I were to send it back in time, for the most part. Getting on to vinyl would probably be difficult.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of TORI AMOS "Midwinter Graces"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.