Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Talking Heads

Prog Related

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Talking Heads The Heads: No Talking - Just Head album cover
1.90 | 25 ratings | 2 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Collectors/fans only

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 1996

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Damage I've Done (6:19)
2. The King Is Gone (4:12)
3. No Talking Just Head (4:34)
4. Never Mind (3:51)
5. No Big Bang (3:30)
6. Don't Take My Kindness For Weakness (4:43)
7. No More Lonely Nights (5:14)
8. Indie Hair (3:49)
9. Punk Lolita (4:35)
10. Only The Lonely (4:05)
11. Papersnow (4:59)
12. Blue Blue Moon (5:20)

Total time 55:11

Line-up / Musicians

- Jerry Harrison / keyboards, piano (12), guitar (8)
- Tina Weymouth / bass, keyboard bass (5), vocals (9), backing vocals (4,11,12)
- Chris Frantz / drums, loops, bongos (11)

- Johnette Napolitano / vocals (1,9), backing vocals (2,4,12), guitar (1)
- Michael Hutchence / vocals (2)
- Debbie Harry / vocals (3,9)
- Richard Hell / vocals (4)
- Maria McKee / vocals & synthesizer & guitar (5)
- Paul Leveridge / vocals (6)
- Shaun Ryder / vocals (6)
- Malin Anneteg / vocals (7)
- Ed Kowalczyk / vocals (8)
- Gordon Gano / vocals (10)
- Andy Partridge / vocals & whistle (11)
- Gavin Friday / vocals (12)
- Blast Murray / guitar
- Lenny Pickett / saxophone & bamboo flute (2)
- Abdou M'Boup / percussion (2,4)
- Sly Dunbar / sampled loops (9)

Releases information

Talking Heads line-up, excluding Byrne, hence the title and band moniker

Artwork: Tina Weymouth

CD MCA Records ‎- MCAD-11504 (1996, US)

Thanks to Rune2000 for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy TALKING HEADS The Heads: No Talking - Just Head Music

TALKING HEADS The Heads: No Talking - Just Head ratings distribution

(25 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (20%)
Collectors/fans only (36%)
Poor. Only for completionists (44%)

TALKING HEADS The Heads: No Talking - Just Head reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Warthur
1 stars This album arguably shouldn't be included in a Talking Heads discography - though you could be forgiven for being fooled, given the style of the cover. David Byrne, mastermind of Talking Heads, wasn't involved in its production at all, and was so incensed by the Heads' activities that he actually sued to stop them trading on Talking Heads' name.

The Heads themselves consisted of Tina Weymouth, Jerry Harrison and Chris Frantz, and were born out of an abortive reunion attempt that failed due to David Byrne's unwillingness to revive Talking Heads. So, they ditched the main songwriter and lead vocalist and co-opted a revolving cast of guest singers to front the album, the intent being to have the guest singers also sing Talking Heads songs on the accompanying tour.

It's not a terrible idea, except for one problem: without David Byrne, who *are* the Heads? For the project to work at all they needed to establish their own identity. Were they a new band with a new style, a Talking Heads side project with similar musical sensibilities, or something between the two? They don't appear to have any idea, and as a result the record is an enormous mess, with each song being in a different style from all the other songs. It certainly doesn't help that the Heads themselves don't really seem to have their hearts in the project, cranking out uninspiring musical backing to their guest singers' lyrics with one eye on the paycheque at all times.

Ultimately, nothing can disguise the fact that this was a shameless attempt by the Heads to trade on Talking Heads' past glories, and nothing can disguise the fact that without David Byrne at the helm the magic just isn't there. Avoid.

Review by Chris S
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
3 stars When all was dead and buried the remaining three members of Talking Heads decided to reunite one more time with the collaboration of many well known artists. It was 1996, no David Byrne, just Tina Weymouth, Jerry Harrison & Chris Frantz. The result of which is an extraordinary album venturing from sublime to rediculous. The first song and possibly the best has guest vocalist Johnette Napolitano on vocal. " Damage I Have Done" shows the band cleaned down, with great bass and heavy drumming in parts. The lyrics all about drug abuse and how the body can continue to endure the damage done. Napolitano from the alternative rock band Concrete Blonde owns the show with great vocals and chrous line. Best played very loud! " The King Is Gone" is another great track, yes Michael Hutchence of INXS leads the vocals and does a fine job too. Debbie Harry of Blondie leads the vocals on the title track and it is a hypnotoc song, sexually explicit in the lyrics, great hypnotic loops and keyboards from Jerry Harrison. Another great song off this album is the AIDS driven " No More Lonely Nights" with Malin Anneteg on vocals, again very explict lyrics. The album does at times border on soft porn with the adult themes and the music hints at major substance and lifestyle abuse! Quite recognisable given some of the guests, the themes and lyrics. There are as said some rather inane dull moments like Ed Kowalczyk's " Indie Hair", from the band Live, totally unlike him but this album does have that that slapstick side to it also. " Papersnow" with Andy Partridge of XTC fame the best of the rest. Mainly some great material on here but let down by a few mediocre yet likeable tracks. I would give this a solid three stars, when David Byrne was venturing on some really poor solo work this wasa breath of fresh air.Byrne did not agree and successfully shut them down. As Tina Weymouth once was quoted as saying, Byrne never once reciprocated any love for her, Harrison or Frantz and just did his own thing.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of TALKING HEADS "The Heads: No Talking - Just Head"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.