Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Ron Geesin

Eclectic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Ron Geesin A Raise of Eyebrows / As He Stands album cover
4.90 | 2 ratings | 1 reviews | 50% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1995

Songs / Tracks Listing

1 A Raise of Eyebrows 2:21
2 Freedom for Four Voices and Me 2:30
3 Psychedelia 1:12
4 Positives 2:19
5 It's All Very New, You Know 5:41
6 A Female! 0:26
7 Certainly Random 2:50
8 The Eye That Nearly Saw 4:34
9 Two Fifteen String Guitars for Nice People 2:34
10 From an Electric Train 3:27
11 A World of Too Much Sound 2:11
12 Another Female! 0:10
13 We're All Going to Liverpool 4:01
14 Ha! Ha! But Reasonable 1:37
15 Roll'em, Bowl'em - In Three Movements 3:07
16 Duet for Two and Street Market 2:50
17 On-Through-Out-Up 2:41
18 Waiting for Life 1:19
19 The Middle of Whose Night? 2:32
20 Wrap a Keyboard Round a Plant 3:21
21 Twist and Knit for Two Guitars 2:29
22 Up Above My Heart 2:03
23 A Cymbal and Much Electronics 2:44
24 To Roger Waters Wherever You Are 3:04
25 Mr. Peugeot's Trot 1:16
26 Upon Composition 3:02
27 Concrete Line Up 2:25
28 Rise Up Sebastian! 2:29
29 Looming View 2:04
30 Can't You Stop That Thing? 2:39

Line-up / Musicians

- Ron Geesin
- N.A.

Releases information

See for Miles SEECD 433

Thanks to clarke2001 for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy RON GEESIN A Raise of Eyebrows / As He Stands Music

More places to buy RON GEESIN music online

RON GEESIN A Raise of Eyebrows / As He Stands ratings distribution

(2 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(50%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (50%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

RON GEESIN A Raise of Eyebrows / As He Stands reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Dobermensch
5 stars Comical and farcical hi-jinx by a funny wee man from Stevenson near Ayr in Scotland. Ron Geesin is more well known for getting Floyd out of a hole during their construction of their enormously problematic title tune 'Atom Heart Mother' in 1970.

This 'two-for-one' cd release includes 'A Raise of Eyebrows' from '67 and 'As he Stands' from '73. This is like a more eccentric Ivor Cutler with many more dimensions and versatility.

Partly spoken word, partly piano, banjo, acoustic guitar with lots of additional sound effects, and electronics thrown in. Some of the spoken word parts are completely mental and downright peculiar, for example "Trot, trot old lady, how was your body in the bath - or were you just disgusted?" - thats the complete lyrics to 'Another Female!' The whole album is full of such idiosyncrasies.

A real oddity. In fact, one of the oddest cd's I own. Right up there in terms of weirdness with the best 70's 'Residents' albums. A very silly genius who will appeal to fans of the quirkier and more experimental parts of Floyd circa 'Ummagumma'.

There are one or two moments which sound like 'The Body' soundtrack which was recorded with Roger Waters, but this is a far better and more adventurous endeavour. Bewildering and beguiling, this is one strange cd that is right out there on the fringes of lunacy.

Very unique and off the wall.

If it's something stark raving bonkers trousers round the ankles you want in listenable form - this is the one for you. A criminally overlooked recording from a very loveable character who clearly didn't give a monkeys arse about sales.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of RON GEESIN "A Raise of Eyebrows / As He Stands"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.