Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Jazz Rock/Fusion

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Quaser Essence album cover
3.10 | 2 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

Buy QUASER Music
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2010

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. King Of Pancrase (4:31)
2. Roger (7:52)
3. Wait For Nothing (4:17)
4. Chang (4:24)
5. See The Light, Feel The Wind (6:48)
6. Anastasia (5:04)
7. Mr. Duck (5:08)
8. Tarotmaster (5:13)
9. Doomsday (5:18)
10. Tales Ancient (5:17)
11. Promised Land 1 (4:05)
12. Promised Land 2 (4:32)
13. Promised Land 3 (5:30)
14. Promised Land 4 (8:10)

Total Time: 76:09

Line-up / Musicians

- Takuya 'Whogets' Morita / keyboards, vocals
- Masami Katsuura / guitar
- Yusaku Nakatsuhama / bass
- Michael Yamaguchi / bass
- Hiroaki Fuji / bass
- Kazuo Katayama / drums

Releases information

Download itunes, Amazon

Thanks to rivertree for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy QUASER Essence Music

More places to buy QUASER music online

QUASER Essence ratings distribution

(2 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (100%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

QUASER Essence reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by DamoXt7942
FORUM & SITE ADMIN GROUP Avant/Cross/Neo/Post Teams
3 stars Cool creation dedicated to Mr. Duck.

QUASER are a Japanese progressive rock quartet with powerful guitar bullets, beautiful keyboard crystals and solid rhythm section bombs. This compilation album includes songs already released in their previous albums, "with digitally remastered". Namely we can enjoy their fundamental elements in each QUASER's era and, I consider, can feel their strong intention that they should keep them powerfully progressive. The first track "King Of Pancrase" has a very chilling guitar solo spun out by Masami and heavy, trailing (always delaying a bit like an echoic effect, maybe with his intention methinks) drumming by Kazuo (his drum solo is my love), with smart & slender keyboard sounds and deep bass ones. Actually we cannot expect consistent phylosophy or dramatic structure for typical compiled albums ... this "Essence" is one of them ... but luckily we can enjoy a magnificent story in the last four tracks "Promised Land". And especially the seventh one "Mr. Duck" I cannot help weeping with listening to. This song was dedicated to Eisho KAMOZAKI (drums), who has already passed away in a tough illness. All QUASERers might have composed this song, with their memories about him and his play. This soft and quiet song has terrifically deep sorrow and power we can feel. This is the moment we can be immersed in QUASER's hearty creation.

A good compilation indeed.

P.S. Why have they been added in Progarchives as a "Jazz Rock / Fusion" band? At least for me, they have a fantastic "Neo-heavy-symphonic" colour ... :)

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of QUASER "Essence"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.