Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


David Sylvian

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

David Sylvian Died In The Wool (Manafon Variations) album cover
2.39 | 16 ratings | 2 reviews | 31% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2011

Songs / Tracks Listing

Disc 1 (55:47)
1. Small Metal Gods (5:09)
2. Died In The Wool (6:03)
3. I Should Not Dare (For N.O.) (3:24)
4. Random Acts Of Senseless Violence (6:24)
5. A Certain Slant Of Light (For M.K.) (3:28)
6. Anomaly At Taw Head (5:06)
7. Snow White In Appalachia (5:59)
8. Emily Dickinson (3:35)
9. The Greatest Living Englishman (Coda) (3:06)
10. Anomaly At Taw Head (A Haunting) (3:12)
11. Manafon (4:05)
12. The Last Days Of December (6:16)

Disc 2 (18:15)
13. When We Return You Won't Recognise Us (18:15)

Total time 74:02

Line-up / Musicians

- David Sylvian / vocals, electric (3) & acoustic (4,6) guitars, keyboards (4,7), sampling & electronics (2,6,10), producer

- Keith Rowe / guitar (2,4,6,7,11)
- Erik Carlson / violin (1,6,7,9,10,12)
- Jennifer Curtis / violin (1,6,7,9,10,12)
- Margaret Dyer / viola (1,6,7,9,10,12)
- Christopher Gross / cello (1,6,7,9,10,12)
- Marcio Mattos / cello (6)
- Dai Fujikura / string conductor (1,6,7,9,10,12) & arranger (4,6,10,12), sampler (11)
- Steve Jansen / cymbals (2)
- Eddie Prévost / percussion (2,13)
- Kate Romano / clarinet samples (2)
- John Butcher / sax (2,13)
- Erik Honoré / electronics (2), arrangements & sampler & synth (5)
- Toshimaru Nakamura / no-input mixing board (2,6,13)
- Jan Bang / arrangements (3,5,8), sampler (5,8,11)
- Christian Fennesz / guitar & laptop (3,4,7)
- Evan Parker / sax (3,6,10)
- Werner Dafeldecker / acoustic bass (4,7)
- Jennifer Curtis / violin (4)
- Michi Wiancho / violin (4)
- Wendy Richman / viola (4)
- Katinka Kleijn / cello (4)
- Michael Moser / cello (4,7)
- John Tilbury / piano (4,6,7)
- Franz Hautzinger / trumpet (4,11)
- Helge Sten / guitar samples (5)
- Arve Henriksen / trumpet (13), trumpet samples
- Christian Wallumrød / piano samples
- Tetuzi Akiyama / electric & acoustic guitars (9)
- Otomo Yoshihide / turntables (9)
- Claire Chase / bass flute (10,12)
- Laura Moody / cello (13)
- Günter Müller / Fx (13)
- Emma Smith / violin (13)
- Jennymay Logan / violin (13)
- Ros Stephen / violin (13)
- Charlie Cross / viola (13)
- Vincent Sipprell / viola (13)

Releases information

Artwork: George Bolster

2xCD Samadhisound - sound cd ss0021 (2011, UK)

Thanks to tendst for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy DAVID SYLVIAN Died In The Wool (Manafon Variations) Music

More places to buy DAVID SYLVIAN music online

DAVID SYLVIAN Died In The Wool (Manafon Variations) ratings distribution

(16 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(31%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(19%)
Good, but non-essential (12%)
Collectors/fans only (25%)
Poor. Only for completionists (12%)

DAVID SYLVIAN Died In The Wool (Manafon Variations) reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Dobermensch
2 stars A fairly one dimensional and dreary album which, to call 'grey' would be giving porage a bad name. David Sylvian delivers his vocals here as though he's auditioning for the 'speaking clock'.

The addition of strings adds a certain degree of interest, but overall the structure is dreadful - lying scattered like a bag of sugar spilt over your kitchen floor.

The background sounds are excellent in an almost 'musique concrete' manner but the tunes, as such are awful. It's one of those beatless albums, with no drums, bass or guitar which I normally love, but here I'm left scratching my head in bewilderment.

Only the double tracked vocals help Sylvian out of the quicksand of this dirge. It may be a superbly clear and sharp recording, but guaranteed - you'll be left with absolutely nothing worth humming or whistling at the end of this album. And that includes the 'bonus' instrumental cd which could have fitted on to the first CD if it weren't for the usual money making ploys.

Damn!, what's happened to Sylvian? He sounds like he really can't be bothered at all these days.

Review by admireArt
2 stars Tiresome, inches away from boring.

The consequence of self-indulgence. David Sylvian's, self-aquired musical language does not save these "Manafon Variations" or the crumbs of that previous album, of being irrelevant. Even his best "discoveries" work against the music. The usually inviting and mysterious songwriting, is reduced to "raw" emotionless experimentations, that should never have been brought outside his private personal collection.

No attractive melodies, forget whole songs. His usual, charged with emotions, introspective "atmospheres" , sound as empty as repetitive. And the "melancholic" lyrical world it presents, is more exclusive than inclusive, therefore uninteresting for third parties. Go backwards and listen to the original "Manafon", that one is worth the ticket. This one not.

For "die hard fans" only.

Disappointing **2 PA stars.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of DAVID SYLVIAN "Died In The Wool (Manafon Variations)"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.