Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Tori Amos

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Tori Amos Night Of Hunters album cover
3.78 | 49 ratings | 3 reviews | 14% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2011

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Shattering Sea (Variation on: Song of the Madwoman on the Sea-Shore, Prelude op. 31 no. 8 - Alkan) (5:38)
2. SnowBlind (Variation on: Añoranza from 6 Pieces on Spanish Folksongs - Granados) (3:14)
3. Battle of Trees (Variation on: Gnossienne no. 1 - Satie) (8:42)
4. Fearlessness (Variation on: Orientale from 12 Spanish Dances - Granados) (6:31)
5. Cactus Practice (Variation on: Nocturne op. 9 no. 1 - Chopin) (4:27)
6. Star Whisperer (Variation on: Andantino from Piano Sonata in A major D 959 - Schubert) (9:53)
7. Job's Coffin (Inspired by: Nautical Twilight) (3:32)
8. Nautical Twilight (Variation on: Venetian Boat Song from Songs without Words op. 30 - Mendelssohn) (3:16)
9. Your Ghost (Variation on: Theme and Variations in E flat major WoO 24 from Ghost Variations - Schumman) (5:38)
10. Edge of the Moon (Variation on: Siciliano from Flute Sonata BWV 1031 - Bach) (4:51)
11. The Chase (Variation on: The Old Castle from Pictures at an Exhibition - Mussorgsky) (3:02)
12. Night of Hunters (Variation on: Sonata in F minor K. 466 - Scarlatti And: Salva Regina, Gregorian Chant) (5:32)
13. Seven Sisters (Inspired by: Prelude in C minor - Bach) (2:44)
14. Carry (Variation on: The Girl with the Flaxen Hair from Préludes I - Debussy) (4:07)

Total Time 72:17

Line-up / Musicians

- Tori Amos / vocals, grand piano, producer

- Kelsey Dobyns (TA niece) / vocals as 'The Fire Muse' (12)
- Natashya Hawley (TA daughter) / vocals as 'Anabelle' (2,5,7,11)
- Laura Lucas / flute
- Andreas Ottensamer / clarinet
- Nigel Shore / oboe, English horn
- Peter Whelan / bassoon
- Luke Whitehead / contrabassoon
- Apollon Musagète Quartet:
- Piotr Skweres / cello solo (6)
- Piotr Szumiel / viola solo (10)
- Pawel Zalejski / violin (6)
- Bartosz Zachlod / violin (6)
- John Philip Shenale / arrangements

Releases information

2xLP Deutsche Grammophon ‎- B0015900-01 (2011, US)

CD Deutsche Grammophon ‎- B0015849-02 (2011, US)

Thanks to Kotro for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy TORI AMOS Night Of Hunters Music

TORI AMOS Night Of Hunters ratings distribution

(49 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(14%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(49%)
Good, but non-essential (22%)
Collectors/fans only (8%)
Poor. Only for completionists (6%)

TORI AMOS Night Of Hunters reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Slartibartfast
COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / In Memoriam
4 stars Tori's variations.

Sort of a musical version of comedy improv. Select various pieces of classical music from a set offered to you, now weave it into a story about a day in the life of a couple. Deutsche Grammphon her approached her with the rough concept. Tori delivers a song cycle story starting from the couple's tulutous arrival in a new place to ending up mending things in the end.

She hits on four of my favorite decomposing compsers: Satie, Mussorgsky, Debussy, and Bach amongst a few other notables. Tori does great justice to all the composers both her arrangements and lyrics (Greg Lake, eat your heart out). So you do get updated versions of old music. The non-vocal piece, Seven Sisters, though credited to a Bach piece, has a distinct Reich/Glass flavor to it. Take away all the voices and you would still have a decent classical album with a master piano player at the core of the various ensembles she assembled. With vocals of Tori and Natasha Hawley, you get something almost operatic (thank God not too operatic), that becomes something extraordinary.

Spring for the deluxe version with the DVD. There's much more to the story in, of, and around this album, plus it's a nice package to boot.

Review by Menswear
4 stars The Queen is Dead?

No, I'm not stating Morrissey and the Smiths for the sake of it, it's true. Well, she's not completely flatline and this time, Deutsh Gramophon, defebrillo pads in hands, is shouting 'CLEAR!' over this record.

To me, this record is the best in a long time, a change of pace, a breath of fresh air in her claustrophobic world. She is joined by her daughter on many tracks, and surprisingly, I'm not bothered at all by it. Nastashya Hawksley is bringing a new dimension to the story, playing characters and singing the best she can , not trying to copy mommy (which is quite okay).

The orchestration behind falls a bit short in grandeur, the whole music is somewhat put in the back row because Mrs. Amos' voice is, again, up and front. And it's one of my few negative comments on this record, the music could've been a tad higher in volume. A bit more crazy moments would've been nice. A shame since American Dull..pardon Doll Posse was filled with arrogance and rawness.

I think that what brings me to this record is the homogenic blend of her piano skills and the feel of a simple orchestration behind. We don't experience that often in prog rock, and even less often in general rock. So if you don't have an anti-guitar album, this one is thick and juicy piece of vegan chamber rock.

The whole thing feels lushious green and charcoal grey, it's a great match!

Latest members reviews

4 stars This year there are loads of great albums coming out and I listened to many of those. Among many artists i have loved for years including Neal Morse, Dear Hunter, Dream Theater (ugh), Phideaux, White Willow, PoS, Anathema, etc., I am happy to report that this album by Tori Amos seems to be one of ... (read more)

Report this review (#544051) | Posted by terryl | Thursday, October 6, 2011 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of TORI AMOS "Night Of Hunters"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.