Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Electro Quarterstaff

Tech/Extreme Prog Metal

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Electro Quarterstaff Aykroyd album cover
3.74 | 10 ratings | 2 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2011

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. The Wolf Shall Inherit The Moon
2. McNutty
3. Waltz Of The Swedish Meatballs
4. Unholy Gravy
5. Descent By Annihilation Operator
6. The Blacksmith
7. Stroganoff
8. Japanese Upside Down Cake

Line-up / Musicians

- Dan Earle Ryckman / Drums
- Joshua Steven Bedry / Guitars
- Andrew Colin Dickens / Guitars
- Drew Aaron Johnston / Guitars
- Marty Thiessen / Bass

Releases information

Official release date is 18, October, 2011 by Willowtip Records.

Thanks to Lynx33 for the addition
Edit this entry


Willowtip 2011
$9.32 (used)

Right Now on Ebay (logo)

More places to buy ELECTRO QUARTERSTAFF music online Buy ELECTRO QUARTERSTAFF & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

ELECTRO QUARTERSTAFF Aykroyd ratings distribution

(10 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(50%)
Good, but non-essential (20%)
Collectors/fans only (10%)
Poor. Only for completionists (20%)


Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by UMUR
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
4 stars "Aykroyd" is the 2nd full-length studio album by Canadian progressive metal act Electro Quarterstaff. The album was released through Willowtip Records in October 2011.

Electro Quarterstaff play an instrumental and extremely technical type of progressive metal on "Aykroyd". While it may seem strange when the music doesn't vocals and lyrics the band are actually very good at incorporating humour in their music to go along with the cartoonish cover artwork. The humouristic element works like a charm. Always delivered in a tasteful yet wacky manner. The tracks are querky, structurally complex and delivered in a convincing high energy fashion. Electro Quarterstaff features a drummer, a bassist and no less than three guitarists. The team of guitarists compliment each other well throughout the album. Dissonant chords, odd melodies and harmonies which threatens to bend your mind at any time. Backed by the powerful and well playing rythm section, the guitar attack is something out of the ordinary. While there are some mellower moments on the album like the opening track "The Wolf Shall Inherit The Moon", "Aykroyd" is generally a very busy and challenging affair that takes some time to sink in. Upon repeated listens the album reveals quite a few layers though and if you're up for a challenge it's definitely an album I can recommend.

We're talking high level musicianship, a great organic sound production and some pretty intriguing songwriting. I'd say somewhere between a 3.5 to a 4 star (75%) rating is deserved.

Latest members reviews

4 stars ELECTRO QUARTERSTAFF was an instrumental avant-prog-metal band from Winnipeg, Canada. Released in 2011 by Willowtip Records, "Aykroyd" was their second full-length album which followed "Live" EP (2002), "Swayze" EP (2004) and the first full-length "Gretzky" (2006). For the first time, all tr ... (read more)

Report this review (#1913468) | Posted by raigor | Monday, April 9, 2018 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of ELECTRO QUARTERSTAFF "Aykroyd"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives