Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Canterbury Scene

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Egg Seven Is a Jolly Good Time album cover
3.11 | 8 ratings | 1 reviews | 25% 5 stars

Write a review

Buy EGG Music
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1985

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Bulb
2. While growing my hair
3. I will be absorbed
4. Fugue in D minor
5. They laughed when I sat down at the piano...
6. The song of McGillicudie the Pusillanimous (or don't worry James, your socks are hanging in the coal cellar with Thomas)
7. Boilk
8. Symphony No.2:
...a) Movement 1
...b) Movement 2
...c) Blane
...d) Movement 4
9. Seven is a jolly good time
10. You are all princess

Line-up / Musicians

- Clive Brooks / drums
- Mont Campbell / bass, vocals
- Dave Stewart / organ, piano, tone generator

Releases information

Lp. See For Miles SEELP 47 C / Cd. See For Miles SEECD 220 (1985)

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
and to Joren for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy EGG Seven Is a Jolly Good Time Music

More places to buy EGG music online

EGG Seven Is a Jolly Good Time ratings distribution

(8 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(25%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (62%)
Collectors/fans only (12%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

EGG Seven Is a Jolly Good Time reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
3 stars Poached

The album title belies the fact that this is a straight re-release of Egg's first album, with two bonus tracks. Those bonus tracks are the A and B sides of a single released by the band prior to the recording of their debut album. The album title is taken from the single's A side which in turn takes its title from the time signature of the chorus of the song.

This "compilation" has recently been superseded by a superb remastered version of the self titled debut album, which also includes the two additional tracks, plus a further track (the missing "Third Movement") which was dropped from the album for copyright reasons.

"Seven is a jolly good time" is therefore now only of interest from a collectors' point of view.

Reviews of the "Egg" album, including the expanded remaster, can be found here: .

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of EGG "Seven Is a Jolly Good Time"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.