Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Heavy Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Rush Sector 3 album cover
4.43 | 52 ratings | 3 reviews | 53% 5 stars

Essential: a masterpiece of
progressive rock music

Write a review

Buy RUSH Music
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2011

Songs / Tracks Listing

Disc 1: Signals

1. Subdivisions (5:32)
2. The Analog Kid (4:46)
3. Chemistry (4:56)
4. Digital Man (6:20)
5. The Weapon (Part II of Fear) (6:22)
6. New World Man (3:41)
7. Losing It (4:51)
8. Countdown (5:49)

Total Time: 42:17

Disc 2: Grace Under Pressure

1. Distant Early Warning (4:56)
2. Afterimage (5:03)
3. Red Sector A (5:09)
4. The Enemy Within (Part I of Fear) (4:34)
5. The Body Electric (4:59)
6. Kid Gloves (4:17)
7. Red Lenses (4:41)
8. Between The Wheels (5:44)

Total Time: 39:23

Disc 3: Power Windows

1. The Big Money (5:34)
2. Grand Designs (5:05)
3. Manhattan Project (5:04)
4. Marathon (6:09)
5. Territories (6:18)
6. Middletown Dreams (5:15)
7. Emotion Detector (5:10)
8. Mystic Rhythms (5:53)

Total Time: 44:28

Disc 4: Hold Your Fire

1. Force Ten (4:31)
2. Time Stand Still (5:08)
3. Open Secrets (5:37)
4. Second Nature (4:36)
5. Prime Mover (5:18)
6. Lock And Key (5:09)
7. Mission (5:15)
8. Turn The Page (4:55)
9. Tai Shan (4:15)
10. High Water (5:33)

Total Time: 50:17

Disc 5: A Show of Hands

1. Intro (0:53)
2. The Big Money (5:52)
3. Subdivisions (5:19)
4. Marathon (6:43)
5. Turn The Page (4:46)
6. Manhattan Project (5:00)
7. Mission (5:59)
9. Distant Early Warning (5:22)
10. Mystic Rhythms (5:32) (Only on Lp)
11. Witch Hunt (Part III of Fear) (3:55)
12. The Rhythm Method (drum solo) (4:40)
13. Force Ten (4:57)
14. Time Stand Still (5:10)
15. Red Sector A (5:12)
16. Closer To The Heart (4:53)

Total Time: 74:22

Disc 6: Signals (5.1)

1. Subdivisions (5:32)
2. The Analog Kid (4:46)
3. Chemistry (4:56)
4. Digital Man (6:20)
5. The Weapon (Part II of Fear) (6:22)
6. New World Man (3:41)
7. Losing It (4:51)
8. Countdown (5:49)

Total Time: 42:17

Line-up / Musicians

- Geddy Lee / basses, synthesizers, vocals
- Alex Lifeson / guitars, synthesizers, backing vocals
- Neil Peart / drums, acoustic & electronic percussion

Releases information

Six-Disc Set on Mercury; notable because the set contains "Signals" on DVD in 5.1 sound.

Thanks to sfranke for the addition
and to AtomicCrimsonRush for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy RUSH Sector 3 Music

More places to buy RUSH music online

RUSH Sector 3 ratings distribution

(52 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(53%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(35%)
Good, but non-essential (4%)
Collectors/fans only (4%)
Poor. Only for completionists (4%)

RUSH Sector 3 reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Gooner
5 stars Much has already been written about the albums within this set - "Signals", "Grace Under Pressure", "Power Windows", "Hold Your Fire" and "A Show Of Hands". All I can say is that this is an exceptionally well done job on the remastering. Specifically speaking, "Hold Your Fire" (one of my favourite Rush albums) has been given its proper due for a remaster. Also, "Countdown" from the album Signals is crystal clear, especially the sampling from Nasa's space programme. Grace Under Pressure doesn't sound quite so cold considering all the keyboards that were used (it's all well balanced here). For remastered Rush, this is likely the last stop you'll ever make. Superb and highly recommended for fans of '80s Rush. Last but not least, Rush's most atmospheric album for the keys - "Power Windows" is simply breathtaking. Wait 'til you hear "Territories". Better people, better food and better beer (that pretty much sums up Rush and this great box set). Signals comes with a 5.1 version on DVD (and I mean "version" because it's slightly different on the mixes used for the 5.1). Wow! Thank you Geddy, Alex & Neil.
Review by Warthur
4 stars The third "Sector" boxed set from Rush delivers fresh new remasters of their 1980s synth-era, taking in the studio albums from Signals to Hold Your Fire and the live album A Show of Hands.

I think there's no question that of the three Sector boxes, Sector 2 was the one which covers the most essential era of Rush, but I'd actually rank Sector 3 above Sector 1. Sector 1 has got 2112, of course, but arguably it was only really on 2112 that Rush started firing on all cylinders (though Fly By Night deserves an honourable mention), and albums like their debut or Caress of Steel showed stark growing pains.

On the other hand, whilst the synth era of the band rather sputtered out, they did at least have a cohesive musical vision all the way through it; the first two albums were very good, and I think Power Windows gets a slightly raw deal, and it was only really Hold Your Fire which wasn't pulling its weight there. Getting all of them, sounding better than they have for ages, plus a live album, in nicely-presented LP replica sleeves? Can't hurt.

Latest members reviews

5 stars don't buy this - wait till it's re-released with the bugs fixed! (SEE RUSH WEBSITE an reviews on the online sales site known as amaz**) even after the bugs get fixed ....even then - it's mastered WAY too high with reduced dynamic range, compression, clipping, etc ALSO,the sector 3 box appe ... (read more)

Report this review (#591402) | Posted by Matt-T | Monday, December 19, 2011 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of RUSH "Sector 3"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.