Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Thinking Fellers Union Local 282


From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Thinking Fellers Union Local 282 Lovelyville album cover
3.91 | 3 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Studio Album, released in 1991

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Four O'Clocker 2 (3:25)
2. Not This World (1:13)
3. Nail In The Head (6:04)
4. Green Eyed Lady (3:44)
5. Mother Uncle Delicious Tasty (0:55)
6. The Streets Vibrated With Traffic And Power Tools (0:16)
7. Mark My Words (0:40)
8. Push (0:32)
9. More Glee (6:16)
10. Big Hands (2:45)
11. The Marshall (1:29)
12. Sinking Boats (4:48)
13. Motorin' Flarey Jenkins (2:34)
14. 2x4's (4:25)
15. Nothing Solid (7:18)
16. - 22. The Crowded Diaper
16. Maverick (1:36)
17. Wonderbread Display (0:33)
18. The Meat Display (1:31)
19. Strife Is Good (2:08)
20. The Marshall's Boonts (0:32)
21. The World Is Changing For Good (0:53)
22. The Demise Of Craig (3:40)

Total Time 57:17

Line-up / Musicians

- Anne Eickelberg / bass, voices
- Paul Bergmann / drums
- Mark Davies / guitar, bass, voices, keyboards, drums, euphonium
- Brian Hageman / guitar, viola, tape, voices, mandolin
- Hugh Swarts / guitar, voices
- Jay Paget / drums

Releases information

CD / LP / Cassette Matador Records (1991)

Thanks to DamoXt7942 for the addition
Edit this entry


Matador Records 1991
$10.00 (used)

Right Now on Ebay (logo)

More places to buy THINKING FELLERS UNION LOCAL 282 music online Buy THINKING FELLERS UNION LOCAL 282 & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

THINKING FELLERS UNION LOCAL 282 Lovelyville ratings distribution

(3 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(67%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (33%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

THINKING FELLERS UNION LOCAL 282 Lovelyville reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by HolyMoly
4 stars Thinking Fellers' third album, this is where the band's eclectic ambition all comes into focus, and provides the template for even greater successes to follow. Songs typically establish an indie-rock riff pattern that you can follow, and then they... do things to it. Three guitars all dive- bombing each other, sending the songs in new directions just as you start to get comfortable. Still, this might be their most accessible album, in terms of what you'd be likely to hear on a college radio station. It's no accident that many of these songs rank among fans' favorites. I'd like to focus on one of them here.

My absolute favorite here, and possibly my favorite TFUL282 song of all, "Sinking Boats". A distant vocal shouted through a megaphone sits atop a thundering rhythm of guitars and drums, playing a simple riff punctuated by little clangy guitar licks. Two verses of this, then WHOA! the song is somewhere else entirely, a quiet foreboding section of throbbing bass and plucked guitar notes. A few measures of this, and then a loud, dissonant riff (probably handled by at least 2 guitars playing different things) comes in. This pattern is repeated a couple of more times, the song stops dead, and then back into the thundering rhythms of the first song before coming to an abrupt end. Total time, just under 5 minutes.

I'm not a bad writer by any means, but that last paragraph just doesn't describe the experience that well. It's hard to put into words. I think the experience can be summed up better by two thoughts that some to mind: "How do they make guitars sound like that?" and "What possessed them to write that?"

The album has several similarly "whoa" tracks, but also contains its fair share of "Feller Filler", little teeny random snippets of rehearsal tapes usually highlighting a unique sound they happened upon. These are fairly disposable, but they do give their albums their own special character. There's also a sequence of extra non-LP tracks at the end (collectively called "The Crowded Diaper", a name I absolutely love), which are basically throwaways.

My third favorite Fellers album, some of their finest music and the first full flowering of their genius.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of THINKING FELLERS UNION LOCAL 282 "Lovelyville"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives