Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Andreas Vollenweider

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Andreas Vollenweider Vox album cover
2.16 | 6 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2004

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Hey You, Yes... You! (At The Gate Of Sound) (4:56)
2. Wake Up And Dance! (All The Good Reasons...) (4:16)
3. Pilgrim (... And I Shall Not Be Sad) (3:46)
4. Seven Doors (2:58)
5. Enchanted Rocks (3:47)
6. These Hearts Of Gold (4:01)
7. The King & The Fool (2:18)
8. The Sons Of Sysiphos (4:04)
9. Paper Walls (3:57)
10. Innocent (4:10)
11. Ripples In The Lake Of Time (4:24)
12. Silver Moment (Come Down To The Moon) (2:51)
13. Kira's Waltz (3:47)
14. What If It Wasn't A Dream? (4:17)

Total time 53:32

Line-up / Musicians

- Andreas Vollenweider / electroacoustic harp, vocals, acoustic (1,9,10,13) & electric (1,5,7,10,11,14) guitars, acoustic bass (1,7,11), keyboards (1,4,5,11,13,14), alphorn (1), bowed psaltery (2), electric piano (2,12), organ (3,5,7,13), melodica (8), cheng (3), kalimba (14), bass flute (1,4), composer, arranger & producer

- Khanyo Maphumulo / vocals (2)
- Khululiwe Sithole / vocals (2)
- Noëmi Vollenweider & the Beewis School Choir / chorus vocals (2)
- Susan Hendriks / chanting (2)
- Hedreich Nichols / vocals (5,7)
- Zoé Mikuleczky / vocals (10)
- Silver Men's Choir / chorus vocals (5,11,13,14)
- Daniel Küffer / tenor (2,5,7,11), baritone (7,8,14) & soprano (13) saxes, organ (3), vocals (5), bass clarinet (6,9,11)
- Erdal Kizilcay / oud (1), keyboard (1,6), bass (2,10), vocals (2,5), acoustic bass (3,14), fretless & cornet (4), electric guitar (6)
- Martin Tillmann / acoustic & electric cello (7,9,11,13,14)
- Sebastian Vollenweider / didgeridoo (2)
- XiaoJing Wang / erhu (2)
- Sujay Bobade / Indian bansuri flute (2)
- Pops Mohamed / mbira (2)
- Jonathan Vollenweider / beat box (5)
- Silver Symphony / orchestra (6,11,13,14)
- Walter Keiser / drums (all), vocals & timpani (5)
- Andi Pupato / percussion, frame drum & tabla (1), bata drums (8), vocals (5)
- Wajmi Sagjaram / father bam drum (2)

Releases information

Artwork: Düde Dürst

CD Colomba ‎- CD 804-01 (2004, Switzerland)

Thanks to octopus-4 for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry


More places to buy ANDREAS VOLLENWEIDER music online

ANDREAS VOLLENWEIDER Vox ratings distribution

(6 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(33%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (67%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)


Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by kenethlevine
2 stars While vocals had been deployed as instruments in vintage ANDREAS VOLLENWEIDER productions, and he did engage accomplished singers to impart thematic messages on "Eolian Minstrel" and in multiple languages on "Cosmopoly", "Vox" represents the harp players first headlong venture into lead vocals. He actually possesses a pleasant voice suited to his Renaissance gentleman persona and equally dolce musical style. Luckily he has written lyrics that harmoniously abut the music, because, even with all these boxes being ticked, this is one of his less exciting releases.

One could approach this from the opposite camp and assess that, given cheesy lyrics, relatively conventional or at least habitual arrangements, and diffident vocal style, subtracting out the ethnic fusion that somewhat elevated its immediate predecessors, it's a wonder that "Vox" isn't a total botch job, which it assuredly is not.

Vollenweider's earnest and understated manner works wonderfully on "these Hearts of Gold", "Home of Love", "Pilgrim" and "Ripples in the edge of time", as he intuits brilliantly what his fans might want from his own lips as opposed to second hand deliveries via ELIZA GILKYSON or CARLY SIMON.

Unfortunately, the rest just doesn't quite rise to the level of succinctness required in this genre, and much is stuck in cliches of the 1980s to which Vollenweider didn't even stoop in the heart of that decade. I'm thinking "Wake up and Dance", "Sons of Sisyphus" and "What if it wasn't a dream" in particular.

Though Vollenweider is to be commended for finally giving voice to these interests for the first time, he unfortunately didn't stick with it for the duration so "Vox" is the quintessential fan only release, though probably not for all fans.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of ANDREAS VOLLENWEIDER "Vox"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.