Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography




From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Fish Candlelight in Fog - USA 2000 album cover
2.69 | 10 ratings | 1 reviews | 30% 5 stars

Write a review

Buy FISH Music
from partners
Live, released in 2000

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD 1 (66:11)
- The Philadelphia Show:
1. Faithhealer (6:19)
2. Lucky (5:21)
3. Intro: American Football and Jason's Story (3:40)
4. Just Good Friends (6:29)
5. Intro: Happy Birthday and Doc's Memorial (4:23)
6. Brother 52 (6:18)
7. Intro: Air-Conditioning and the Fog (4:18)
8. Hotel Hobbies (4:37)
9. Warm Wet Circles (6:20)
10. That Time of the Night (4:48)
11. Tumbledown (6:15)
12. Intro: Gascooker Rap (7:23)

CD 2 (73:29)
1. Plague of Ghosts (35:36)
- i. Old Haunts
- ii. Digging Deep
- iii. Chocolate Frogs
- iv. Waving at Stars
- v. Raingod's Dancing
- vi. Wake-Up Call (Make It Happen)
2. Cliche (6:39)
3. The Perception of Johnny Punter (3:40)
4. Intro: Company Address (6:42)
5. The Company (5:39)
- The New York City Show:
6. Hotel Hobbies (4:37)
7. Warm Wet Circles (4:19)
8. That Time of the Night (6:17)

Total Time 139:40

Line-up / Musicians

- Fish / vocals
- John Wesley / guitar
- Tony Turrell / keyboards
- Mark Prator / drums
- Steve Vantsis / bass
- Elisabeth Antwi / backing vocals

Releases information

Chocolate Frog Records/Fishy Music

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
and to projeKct for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy FISH Candlelight in Fog - USA 2000 Music

FISH Candlelight in Fog - USA 2000 ratings distribution

(10 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(30%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(50%)
Good, but non-essential (10%)
Collectors/fans only (10%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

FISH Candlelight in Fog - USA 2000 reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Warthur
2 stars This is a live album from the US leg of the Raingods With ZIppos tour, with a setlist very similar to that of Sashimi, recorded earlier on the European leg of the tour. Sashimi found Fish and the band in good form, but rather let down by nagging technical faults in the recording. This time around, the recording quality is much more consistent, but distressingly Fish's voice is the weak link.

The band play loud and backing singer Elisabeth Antwi gives it her all to cover for this somewhat, but the fact is that Fish's vocals just seem off on this recording. In the liner notes to the remastered edition of Fellini Days, Fish offers clues as to what went wrong here: late in the 1999 tour he came down with an absolutely rotten virus which he struggled with for weeks, and the Scandinavian leg of the tour had ended up being a "damp squib", leaving him and the band out of pocket.

Put that together and it's pretty apparent what happened here: Fish's voice was still ravaged from his illness, but he and the band couldn't afford to take the time off to recover because cancelling or delaying the American gigs would mean passing up money they couldn't afford to leave on the table - as well as sorely disappointing the US fans. So the show went ahead, and what we hear on Candlelight In Fog is the result. The live album was only released as a limited edition, and I suppose it is a nice memento for the fans who were there or for hardcore Fish fans - but equally, I can see why Fish wouldn't have given this a broader release.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of FISH "Candlelight in Fog - USA 2000"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.