Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Emerson Lake & Palmer

Symphonic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Emerson Lake & Palmer The Essential Emerson, Lake & Palmer album cover
2.87 | 10 ratings | 2 reviews | 20% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2011

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Fanfare For The Common Man (9:44)
2. Still... You Turn Me On (2:54)
3. Hoedown (3:46)
4. Black Moon [Single Edit] (4:49)
5. Tarkus (20:41)
6. Jerusalem (2:44)
7. Tiger In A Spotlight (4:35)
8. Better Days (5:36)
9. From The Beginning (4:15)
10. Knife Edge (5:05)
11. Karn Evil 9: 1st Impression - Part 1 (8:44)
12. I Believe In Father Christmas (3:20)

1. Karn Evil 9: 1st Impression - Part 2 (4:49)
2. Nutrocker [Live] (3:59)
3. Peter Gun [Live] (3:37)
4. All I Want Is You (2:35)
5. Brain Salad Surgery (3:08)
6. Take A Pebble (12:29)
7. C'est La Vie (4:18)
8. Lucky Man (4:39)
9.Affairs Of The Heart (3:48)
10. Canario (3:59)
11. Pirates (13:20)
12. Pictures At An Exhibition: The Great Gates Of Kiev [Live] (6:30)
13. Honky Tonk Train Blues (3:11)
14. The Enemy God Dances With The Black Spirits (3:22)

Total Time 150:12

Line-up / Musicians

- Keith Emerson / keyboards
- Greg Lake / vocals, bass, electric & acoustic guitar
- Carl Palmer / drums, percussion

Releases information

Legacy - 88697850202, Sony Music - 88697850202, Columbia - 88697850202

Thanks to hattrick231 for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy EMERSON LAKE & PALMER The Essential Emerson, Lake & Palmer Music

EMERSON LAKE & PALMER The Essential Emerson, Lake & Palmer ratings distribution

(10 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(20%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(10%)
Good, but non-essential (60%)
Collectors/fans only (10%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

EMERSON LAKE & PALMER The Essential Emerson, Lake & Palmer reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by AtomicCrimsonRush
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
3 stars These budget double essential CDs have been great to play in the car and I've enjoyed all of them as they encompass the best of the artists and well chosen tracks from most of the artists albums. There have not been many prog related releases apart from this so I had to indulge.

It opens with the indulgent and brilliant most well known Fanfare For The Common Man (9:44) that has to be included on every ELP comp. The ballads are here of course with Still... You Turn Me On (2:54) and From the Beginning. I love hearing again Emerson Hammond workouts on Hoedown (3:46) and I dont mind the latter day singles such as Black Moon [Single Edit] (4:49).

Now the best of the best follows with blitzkrieg progalicious Tarkus (20:41) the full version as it must be heard. I never tire of it, after all it's one of the 7 wonders of the prog world and one of the greatest multi movement suites along with Suppers Ready, Plague of Lighthouse Keepers, and 2112.

Always love luxuriating with headphones under Jerusalem (2:44), and Knife Edge (5:05) and praise the prog God's that we have Karn Evil 9: 1st Impression - Part 1 and 2. I Believe In Father Christmas is here and I wish it wasn't but its easily skippable at the end of CD1.

CD 2 is less impressive but I love the live tracks of Nutrocker [Live] (3:59), Peter Gun [Live] (3:37) and The Great Gates of Kiev.

All I Want Is You (2:35) and Brain Salad Surgery (3:08) are fantastic, but none compare to the quintessence of masterpiece Take A Pebble (12:29) and it is my introduction to the band with unforgettable lyrics that resonate in my heart.

Nice to revisit Lucky Man (4:39) and Pirates (13:20) also that I always treasured. Unfortunately the comp features really dire tracks such as Honky Tonk Train Blues (3:11) and The Enemy God Dances With The Black Spirits (3:22) but its rare I listen to the albums they come from so I can forgive.

Overall this is a very nice compilation, though not as awesome as previous double disk comps. Nevertheless it's a cheap way of grabbing hold of some of the greatest ELP in one package.

Latest members reviews

2 stars This is not a very good compilation. Don't get me wrong, there are certainly some fantastic tracks that are included on this double disc set, but there's really too much nonsense on here. It seems as though the person who decided on the tracklist wanted to get an even distribution of songs fro ... (read more)

Report this review (#915151) | Posted by zeqexes | Monday, February 18, 2013 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of EMERSON LAKE & PALMER "The Essential Emerson, Lake & Palmer"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.