Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Billy Sherwood

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Billy Sherwood The Prog Collective album cover
3.37 | 48 ratings | 6 reviews | 17% 5 stars

Good, but non-essential

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2012

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. The Laws of Nature (7:19)
2. Over Again (9:04)
3. The Technical Divide (7:55)
4. Social Circles (8:03)
5. Buried Beneath (8:11)
6. Follow the Signs (7:28)
7. Check Point Karma (7:14)

Total Time 55:14

Bonus tracks on 2013 double-LP edition:
8. The Laws of Nature (instrumental) (7:19)
9. The Technical Divide (instrumental) (7:55)
10. Social Circles (instrumental) (8:03)
11. Check Point Karma (instrumental) (7:19)
12. Over Again (single edit) (3:59)
13. Let the World Revolve (bonus track) (4:44)

Line-up / Musicians

- Billy Sherwood / guitar, keyboards, drums, lead (5) & backing vocals, composer, production & mixing

- John Wetton / lead vocals (1)
- Tony Levin / bass (1)
- Jerry Goodman / violin (1)
- Richard Page / lead vocals (2)
- Geoff Downes / keyboards solo (2)
- Alan Parsons / lead vocals (3)
- Gary Green / lead guitar (3)
- David Sancious / keyboards solo (3)
- Chris Squire / bass (3)
- Annie Haslam / lead vocals (4)
- Peter Banks / lead guitar (4)
- Steve Hillage / guitar (5)
- Larry Fast / keyboards (5)
- John Wesley / lead vocals & guitar (6)
- Tony Kaye / keyboards & Hammond (6)
- Colin Moulding / lead vocals (7)
- Rick Wakeman / keyboards solo (7)

Releases information

CD Purple Pyramid ‎- CLP9904 (2012, US)

2LP Purple Pyramid ‎- CLP9904 (2013, US) With 6 bonus tracks

Digital album (includes also instrumental versions of all tracks)

Thanks to AtomicCrimsonRush for the addition
and to projeKct for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy BILLY SHERWOOD The Prog Collective Music

BILLY SHERWOOD The Prog Collective ratings distribution

(48 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(17%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(38%)
Good, but non-essential (25%)
Collectors/fans only (19%)
Poor. Only for completionists (2%)

BILLY SHERWOOD The Prog Collective reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by SouthSideoftheSky
3 stars The Billy Sherwood Project

Apparently modelled on the Alan Parsons Project, this album features a host of well-known musicians from bands like Yes, King Crimson, Gentle Giant, Renaissance, and more. Even Alan Parsons himself makes an appearance. Taking the role that Parsons did in his "project" is the incredibly prolific and multi-talented Billy Sherwood who serves as producer, song writer, and performer. "The Billy Sherwood Project" would perhaps have been a better name for this as "The Prog Collective" is a somewhat ridiculous name.

From Yes we have no less than six members past and present including three from that band's original line-up in keyboard player Tony Kaye, bassist Chris Squire, and guitarist Peter Banks (the latter two of which are sadly no longer with us). In addition to these, the other three Yes-men appearing here are Rick Wakeman, Geoffrey Downes, and of course Billy Sherwood himself. Other progressive Rock luminaries appearing here include John Wetton from King Crimson, UK, and Asia fame; Tony Levin, who played with King Crimson and Anderson Bruford Wakeman Howe, among others; Gary Green from Gentle Giant, and Annie Haslam from Renaissance.

The album features seven tracks all of which are around seven to nine minutes in length. Different tracks features different people with Wetton leading off on the opener The Laws Of Nature. Jerry Goodman from The Mahavishnu Orchestra hands in a mean violin on the same track. Over Again features Richard Page with Geoff Downes on keyboards. Next up is Technical Divide on which Alan Parsons sings lead. Social Circles is beautifully sung by Annie Haslam and Peter Banks plays some really nice guitar solos on the track. On Buried Beneath, Billy Sherwood sings lead which he does very well as usual. Also appearing of the track are Larry Fast of Synergy and associated with Nektar, and Steve Hillage of Khan and Gong. The track reminds slightly of Buried Alive from Rick Wakeman's Return To The Centre of The Earth album (on which Ozzy Osbourse sang lead vocals). Following The Signs features Tony Kaye (with whom Sherwood also plays in Circa) and John Wesley. Finally, the closing track is sung by Colin Moulding and Rick Wakeman plays keys.

Like most albums of this kind, with different people singing and playing on different tracks, this album feels somewhat disjointed with some songs not really fitting in among the others. Nonetheless, I find this album enjoyable and all seven songs are good. This album is surprisingly overlooked given the involvement of such big stars and the music found here will appeal to fans of the people involved and the various bands they are associated with.

Latest members reviews

4 stars First of all, there was absolutely no reason to list both The Prog Collective albums here on Prog Archives as 'various artists'. Both are definitively not what we call V/A, but de facto Billy Sherwood's solo albums with a lot of guest contributors. Not a prog band sensu stricto, while also not ' ... (read more)

Report this review (#1903042) | Posted by proghaven | Tuesday, March 13, 2018 | Review Permanlink

2 stars I had such high hopes for this album. With guests like Annie Haslam, John Wetton, John Wesley, Gary Green, Richard Page, Chris Squire, Rick Wakeman, Peter Banks, et al, I was expecting so much more. The playing is fine, but somewhat uninspired as it's not a whole band with guest spots. This is a ... (read more)

Report this review (#901042) | Posted by wehpanzer | Monday, January 28, 2013 | Review Permanlink

4 stars A must have. Don't try to find the progressive bands roots. Just open your mind, listen n enjoy the entire album. Its not Porcupine Tree, nor Yes or Asia. It is one of the best albums have bought this year. Some of the best Prog rock musicians joined this project. So what do expect? Something unusu ... (read more)

Report this review (#834447) | Posted by ASLAN | Sunday, October 7, 2012 | Review Permanlink

2 stars If you treat this album as a solo Sherwoods project you won't be surprised (ok, it's better then most of his music). If you wan't to find a bit of Gentle Giant or Gong or even Renaissance spirit here you will be disappointed. All those prog-giants are only surnames on the album sleeve. What w ... (read more)

Report this review (#808139) | Posted by epistan | Tuesday, August 21, 2012 | Review Permanlink

5 stars AWESOME!!!!!!!! This record is a must for anyone who wanted to know what all kinds of different "prog" artists would sound like if they jammed together. With this album Billy Sherwood has finally climbed out of the pseudo-prog box and established himself as a sort of Steve-Wilson persona who is so ... (read more)

Report this review (#807028) | Posted by Boe_E | Saturday, August 18, 2012 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of BILLY SHERWOOD "The Prog Collective"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.