Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Pinkly Smooth

Experimental/Post Metal

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Pinkly Smooth Unfortunate Snort album cover
4.00 | 5 ratings | 1 reviews | 40% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2002

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Necromance Theatre (7:08)
2. Mezmer (4:21)
3. Nosferatu Does A Hefty Dance (4:58)
4. Pixel & Nasal (4:34)
5. The Body Of Death Of The Man With The Body Of Death (4:16)
6. McFly (3:19)

Total Time 28:36

Line-up / Musicians

- Rathead (Jimmy "The Rev" Sullivan) / drums (tracks 2, 3, 4, 6), piano (tracks 2, 3, 6), lead vocals (all tracks)
- Synyster Gates / lead guitars (all tracks)
- Buck Silverspur (El Diablo) / bass (all tracks)
- Justin Meacham (Justin Sane) / keyboards & piano (track 4)
- Derek Eglit (Super Loop) / drums (tracks 1 & 5)

Releases information

Label: Bucktan
Released: 2002

Thanks to Rune2000 for the addition
and to Rune2000 for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy PINKLY SMOOTH Unfortunate Snort Music

More places to buy PINKLY SMOOTH music online

PINKLY SMOOTH Unfortunate Snort ratings distribution

(5 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(40%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(20%)
Good, but non-essential (40%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

PINKLY SMOOTH Unfortunate Snort reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Rune2000
4 stars I was quite surprised when I heard of Pinkly Smooth and even more so when they were suggested and added to Prog Archives!

The band was formed in the summer of 2001 in Huntington Beach, California, as a side project for Avenged Sevenfold's drummer/songwriter Jimmy "The Rev" Sullivan. This project is very far removed from the metalcore sound of the Avenged Sevenfold and features a highly eclectic mix of metal that might have been inspired by Mr. Bungle and Unexpect.

My first encounter with this short release was a surprisingly enjoyable one and I kept returning to it from time to time over the course of a year. I really like the eclectic side of the music with its shifts in style that are featured all throughout these six tracks. The downside to the record is its terrible production which often sounds like an unpolished home recording, but who cares when the music is this good!

I'll keep this review short by simply recommending everyone to leave their reservations behind and just dive head first into Unfortunate Snort. It's a fun little record that I wish was expanded to a full length recording, but that will unfortunately never happen. Highly recommended to fans of eclectic progressive music!

***** star songs: Mezmer (4:21) The Body Of Death Of The Man With The Body Of Death (4:16) McFly (3:19)

**** star songs: Necromance Theatre (7:08) Nosferatu Does A Hefty Dance (4:58) Pixel & Nasal (4:34)

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of PINKLY SMOOTH "Unfortunate Snort"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.