Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Laurie Anderson

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Laurie Anderson Laurie Anderson, William S. Burroughs & John Giorno: You're The Guy I Want To Share My Money With album cover
3.13 | 5 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 1981

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Laurie Anderson - Dr. Miller (4:22)
2. Laurie Anderson - It Was Up In The Mountains (2:49)
3. Laurie Anderson - Drums (0:30)
4. Laurie Anderson - Closed Circuits (7:26)
5. Laurie Anderson - Born, Never Asked (4:30)
6. John Giorno - I Don't Need It, I Don't Want It, And You Cheated Me Out Of It (10:35)
7. John Giorno - Completely Attached To Delusion (7:52)
8. William S. Burroughs - Introducing John Stanley Hart (2:19)
9. William S. Burroughs - Twilight's Last Gleamings (2:48)
10. William S. Burroughs - My Protagonist Kim Carson (4:56)
11. William S. Burroughs - The Do Rights (3:37) *
12. William S. Burroughs - Salt Chunk Mary (4:14)
13. William S. Burroughs - Progressive Education (7:10)
14. William S. Burroughs - The Wild Fruits (2:24)
15. William S. Burroughs - The Unworthy Vessel (2:45)
16. Laurie Anderson - For Electronic Dogs / Structuralist Filmmaking / Drums (4:52)
17. William S. Burroughs - The Name Is Clem Snide / Mr. Hart Couldn't Hear The Word Death (5:04)
18. John Giorno - Excerpt From Put Your Ear To Stone & Open Your Heart To The Sky (5:03) *

* Not on CD

Total time 83:16

Line-up / Musicians

- Laurie Anderson / synth, Farfisa organ, violin, marimba, electronics, percussion
- John Giorno / spoken word, producer
- William S. Burroughs / spoken word

- Perry Hoberman / sax (1)
- Wharton Tiers / drums (3,16)
- "Paul From L.A." / spoken word (2)

Releases information

Recorded during their "Red Night" spoken word tour of 1981

Artwork: George Delmerico

2xLP Giorno Poetry Systems - GPS 020-021 (1981, US)

CD Giorno Poetry Systems - GPS 042-2 (1993, US) Different running order and omits 2 tracks from double-LP edition

Thanks to octopus-4 for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy LAURIE ANDERSON Laurie Anderson, William S. Burroughs & John Giorno: You're The Guy I Want To Share My Money With Music

More places to buy LAURIE ANDERSON music online

LAURIE ANDERSON Laurie Anderson, William S. Burroughs & John Giorno: You're The Guy I Want To Share My Money With ratings distribution

(5 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(25%)
Good, but non-essential (75%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

LAURIE ANDERSON Laurie Anderson, William S. Burroughs & John Giorno: You're The Guy I Want To Share My Money With reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by octopus-4
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR RIO/Avant/Zeuhl,Neo & Post/Math Teams
3 stars This highly experimental album is made of material collected during a tour called "Red Night". At that time she was not a full time musician but more of a theatrical performer. It's not properly a Laurie Anderson's album, even though the mastermind behind the project is probably her.

It's a collaboration between three artists one is John Giorno who I personally don't know and is also the album's producer but I think his main job was actually "poet" and the famous writer William S. Burroughs.

It's poetry spoken on avant and minimal music. Listening to this album I wonder why this artist is on crossover and not in the Avant subgenre, but it doesn't matter. Thinking to a reference, the closest thing that I can think to is Claudio Milano's Adython for the minimalistic approach and that bit of electronic behind. The difference is in the vocal extension but even if Laurie wasn't actually a professional singer she uses low and high tones within her speech in a very interesting manner.

It's everything but an easy album, but it doesn't take too listens before getting deeply into it. As often happens with electronic music based on repetitive sequences of notes or even of sounds, it's like our brains work in the background, finding schemes and mathematical relations so that at the, let's say, third listen the various songs are consolidated in our memory.

I guess she's the author of all the musics, so that it can be considered as the first Laurie Anderson's album but effectively it has been released as a nameless trio.

The side D of the vinyl has a very particular technical feature: it contains 9 songs and which one is played depends on the exact point of contact with the pickup. In brief it's like a randomizing algorithm is used. You never know which track is coming.

It's a very hypnotic album (in particular Dr. Miller) which pays a tribute to the fact of having been initially thought for theatrical performances.

Excellent addition for fans of Avant and/or Progressive electronic. 3 stars for the others

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of LAURIE ANDERSON "Laurie Anderson, William S. Burroughs & John Giorno: You're The Guy I Want To Share My Money With"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.