Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Symphonic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Frágil Frágil album cover
4.28 | 9 ratings | 5 reviews | 22% 5 stars

Write a review

Buy FRÁGIL Music
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1990

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Obertura
2. Av. Larco
3. Mundo Raro
4. Pastas, Pepas y otros Postres
5. Floral
6. Oda Al Tulipan
7. Le Dicen Rock
8. El Abuelo
9. Animales
10. Aquella Niña
11. La del Brazo
12. Cuanto Hay
13. Como un Loco
14. Pilon
15. Huarmi
16. Serranio

Line-up / Musicians

- Octavio Castillo / synthesisers, Korg, ARP, violin, steel guitar, piano, flute
- Arturo Creamer / drums on tracks 1 to 7
- Jorge Durand / drums on tracks 8 to 16
- César Bustamante / piano, synthesisers, Korg, organ, mellotron, violin, ARP, OMNI
- Luis Valderrama / guitars, mandolin
- Andrés Dulude / vocals

Releases information


Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy FRÁGIL Frágil Music

More places to buy FRÁGIL music online

FRÁGIL Frágil ratings distribution

(9 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(22%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(56%)
Good, but non-essential (22%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

FRÁGIL Frágil reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Ivan_Melgar_M
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Symphonic Prog Specialist
4 stars I usually don't review compilations, because it's better to understand a song in its natural context, and that is in the way and order that the band placed each track in the original album. Another good reason IMO is that not the band or the fans but the producers are the ones who decide which songs are better. If I want a good compilation, I burn my own CD with the tracks I want (This is legal if you own the original CD).

But in the case of this self titled album Frágil, there was a strong reason, the band had only released albums in vinyl format for the Peruvian market using unknown labels, so they needed to be recognized outside our country and what a better way than to become one of the first Peruvian bands to release a CD with a serious producer like Delta Discos S.A.

Frágil is a collection of songs from their first two albums, has some great achievements and a few mistakes.

I used to believe that mixing songs from their first two albums was a mistake, being that the first one "Avenida Larco" is a very symphonic release that caused a prog' explosion in Perú and the second one "Serranio" is more Pop/Rock/Neo Prog oriented with a touch of Peruvian black and native indian folk music that only a few hardcore fans noticed, but after listening it carefully I believe it was the right decision, because all their material is good and if not together I would never had the chance to listen some great tracks.

The only mistake I find is that they didn't included two of their best tracks, "Lizzy" a beautiful flute song that reminds of Jethro Tull but with a more nostalgic atmosphere and Caiman, an excellent track with politic lyrics that's one of the most beloved songs from their repertoire.

Now let's talk about the positive points again, they joined two great tracks Mundo Raro (Strange World) and Pastas Pepas y otros Postres (Cocaine, Pills and other Desserts - free translation-) as Yes did with Your Move/All Good People in Yessongs, the effect is impressing because the contrast of the soft Mundo Raro with the explosive Pastas ... makes evident how good they were playing in different moods, simply outstanding.

The first five songs (Really six because of the double track we talked about before) from the album are simply outstanding, part of the best material ever released by this underrated Peruvian band, the influences go from Genesis to Yes and Jethro Tull, but they don't limit to copy music, they use this influence, blend it with their own sound an create something new and original.

I encourage everybody to listen this first songs carefully, probably among the best progressive rock ever released in Latin America and for those who don't like lyrics in foreign language, you always have "Obertura" (Overture) one of the best instrumentals I ever heard, but I'm sure that it's worth the effort to use a dictionary while reading the lyrics which are very interesting in most of the cases.

The seventh song "Le Dicen Rock" (They Call it Rock) as it's name implies is a clear Rock & Roll song from their first album, that always thought was out of place, not bad at all but breaks the atmosphere of the album.

The second part of "Frágil" (From track seven to fourteen) is absolutely different, not bad, because they are very competent composers and musicians but more oriented towards other influences, from this second part my favorite songs are Aquella Niña (That Girl), a very good ballad with the outstanding voice of Andrés Dulude and the amazing keyboards of Octavio (Tavo) Castillo; and the extremely beautiful Huarmi (Aymara translation for Wife) based in flute, very sweet track with the nostalgic melodies from the high Andes.

An excellent album with a few weaker tracks, especially El Abuelo/Animales (The Grandfather/Animals) and the confusing Cuanto Hay (How Much?) even though it's a great addition to any prog music collection.

Being that the exact rating are 3.5 stars will have to rate Frágil with 4 stars, even when I believe Sorpresa del Tiempo is slightly better and I rated it with the same number of stars.

Latest members reviews

4 stars What can i say about a compilation? I think a pack of songs from other albums doesn't deserve a review, (the compilation has all songs from the "Av. Larco" album minus 2 songs: "Hombres Solos (Caiman)" and "Lizy", and all songs from "Serranio" but 1 song: "Inquietudes"). The selection of songs ... (read more)

Report this review (#2747) | Posted by eriksalkeld | Monday, March 14, 2005 | Review Permanlink

5 stars I would like to tell you freind tha the name of frgil doesn`t come from the Yes album called Fragil,The singer told me the real history:It starts in their garage where they usually had their rehearsals .Once the guitarist`s grandma got into the gararge and starts screeming for the noise and Andres( ... (read more)

Report this review (#2745) | Posted by | Monday, April 26, 2004 | Review Permanlink

5 stars Hey friends, this album is a masterpiece of prog rock made in South America. This part of the world has many to give, this album is a good example of that. This record will surprise you because of the quality of musicians and arrangements. It´s a must have; if you buy this one, you won´t be disap ... (read more)

Report this review (#2744) | Posted by | Friday, March 12, 2004 | Review Permanlink

4 stars Fragil is the best progresive band of Peru, in the Avenida Larco album, they get a good sound with a nicemusicals instruments. PD. I will like you show discography of Tangerine Dream, and XTC. thank ... (read more)

Report this review (#2743) | Posted by | Monday, January 5, 2004 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of FRÁGIL "Frágil"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.