Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Symphonic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Karfagen Aleatorica album cover
3.88 | 139 ratings | 3 reviews | 30% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2013

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Karfagen - Aleatorica (5:38)
2. Mad Gods of Destiny (8:23)
3. Shadoof (1:37)
4. D'ale (2:55)
5. Gnome in a Bathroom (2:29)
6. Solar Cydes (5:58)
7. Transaleatorica (1:29)
8. Mystic Castles (9:36)
9. Radio Beam (0:16)
10. Whirlabout (5:43)
11. Sweetmeat (2:15)
12. A Day Without Rain (7:44)
13. Amazing Ananda (2:09)
14. Aleatorica (Back to the Alea) (5:46)

Total Time 61:58

Line-up / Musicians

- Antony Kalugin / keyboards, acoustic guitar, vocals, percussion

- Alexandr Pavlov / electric & acoustic guitars, vocals
- Sergii Kovalov / bayan, accordion, vocals, keyboards
- Sergey Klevensky / flutes, clarinet, pipe reed
- Artyom Vasilchenko / tenor saxophone (1,6)
- Helen Bour / oboe
- Alexandr Pastuchov / bassoon
- Max Morozov / viola
- Daria Maiourova / violin
- Tomek Mucha / electric violin
- Oksana Podmaryova / cello
- Oleg Prokhorov / bass
- Kostya Ionenko / bass (11)
- Vanya Rubanchyuk / drums
- Olga Koganyuk / backing vocals (2)

Releases information

CD Caerllysi Music ‎- CM13011 (2013, UK)

Thanks to Rendref for the addition
and to projeKct for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy KARFAGEN Aleatorica Music

More places to buy KARFAGEN music online

KARFAGEN Aleatorica ratings distribution

(139 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(30%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(35%)
Good, but non-essential (21%)
Collectors/fans only (9%)
Poor. Only for completionists (4%)

KARFAGEN Aleatorica reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings
No collaborator/experts review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Latest members reviews

4 stars Each album Karfagen released by far tells its own, brand new story. Perhaps that's why the discography of this Ukrainian symphonic prog band is so diverse, and always surprising. In this respect, Aleatorica has been rather under-discussed so far, despite marking yet another experimental venture ... (read more)

Report this review (#2261875) | Posted by Yo-yo | Monday, September 16, 2019 | Review Permanlink

4 stars Karfagen is a Ukrainian symphonic rock band which mostly seems to perform instrumental music. It is made up by the composer Antony Kalugin and one this record from 2013 a lot of other musicians too. Together they play a wonderful world of songs and melodies, played on a lot of symphonic instru ... (read more)

Report this review (#1206268) | Posted by DrömmarenAdrian | Sunday, July 6, 2014 | Review Permanlink

5 stars Aleatoric is a term that is coined by musicians/composers like Karl-Heinz Stockhausen and Pierre Boulez in 1957 at the Ferienkurse in Darmstadt (Hessen/Germany). It is, to tell it most easy, music that lets you hear circular themes in music in different costumes. That is what Antony Kalugin does her ... (read more)

Report this review (#891013) | Posted by MusicMike | Friday, January 11, 2013 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of KARFAGEN "Aleatorica"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.