Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Oingo Boingo

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Oingo Boingo Farewell album cover
5.00 | 6 ratings | 1 reviews | 100% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Live, released in 1996

Songs / Tracks Listing

Disc 1
1. Insanity (7:42)
2. Little Girls (3:55)
3. Cinderella Undercover (4:45)
4. Controller (2:50)
5. Burn Me Up (2;53)
6. Insects (3:04)
7. No One Lives Forever (4:12)
8. Hey! (7:45)
9. Reptiles And Samurai (5:41)
10. Water (4:04)
11. I Am The Walrus / Tender Lumplings (4:03)
12. Piggies (6:47)
13. We Close Our Eyes (4:12)
14. Mary (6:09)
15. Can't See (Useless) (4:23)

Total Time 71:23

Disc 2
1. Helpless (3:55)
2. I'm So Bad (3:38)
3. Change (8:49)
4. Stay (3:40)
5. Who Do You Want To Be (2:59)
6. On The Outside (3:36)
7. Wild Sex (In The Working Class) (4:38)
8. Dead Man's Party (6:07)
9. Nasty Habits (5:32)
10. Clowns Of Death (6:50)
11. Ain't This The Life (3:14)
12. Whole Day Off (4:28)
13. Grey Matter (6:19)
14. No Spill Blood (5:22)
15. Only A Lad (4:20)

Total Time 73:27

Line-up / Musicians

- Danny Elfman / lead vocals, guitar
- Steve Bartek / lead guitar, backing vocals
- John Avila / bass, backing vocals
- Johnny "Vatos" Hernandez / drums, percussion
- Warren Fitzgerald / guitar, backing vocals
- Sam "Sluggo" Phipps / tenor and soprano saxophones, vocals on "Reptiles and Samurai"
- Leon Schneiderman / baritone saxophone, percussion
- Dale Turner / trumpet
- Katurah Clarke / percussion
- Marc Mann / keyboards

Releases information

2CD Giant Records (1996)

Thanks to Evolver for the addition
and to NotAProghead for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy OINGO BOINGO Farewell Music

More places to buy OINGO BOINGO music online

OINGO BOINGO Farewell ratings distribution

(6 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(100%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

OINGO BOINGO Farewell reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Evolver
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Crossover & JR/F/Canterbury Teams
5 stars Just after releasing what was easily their best studio album, "Boingo", Danny Elfman decided to disband the group. I don't know if it was the success he has had creating film soundtracks, if he was just getting tired of this aspect of his music, or even if with that last masterpiece he found he had nothing more to say in the genre, but that was his decision. Instead of touring, the group played one final farewell concert, and of course, called the album "Farewell".

The album does have a few tracks from "Boingo", as it was the latest release, but the concert serves as a career retrospective of the band, with tracks from all of their albums except "So-Lo" and "Dark At The End Of The Tunnel" (two of their weaker albums, in my opinion). Five previously unreleased tracks (Burn Me Up,Water, Piggies, Helpless and Clowns Of Death) were also played as part of the set, probably just to get them out there, and all of them are welcome additions to the album.

The arrangements are harsher than on previous tours, with Warren Fitzgerald, an additional guitarist added to free up Steve Bartek from playing rhythms, adding to the mayhem. And everything was played as if this was their last concert, with the band just letting go and playing their brains out. This emotional performance gives even the oldest tunes an edge that they hadn't had previously, and makes this concert album an amazing event.

If any of the members of the band happen by to read this. Thank you. You have created some of my favorite listening experiences.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of OINGO BOINGO "Farewell"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.