Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Gandalf Visions 2001 (with bonus CD: Rare & Precious Pieces - 20 Years Of Gandalf) album cover
3.19 | 8 ratings | 1 reviews | 12% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2001

Songs / Tracks Listing

Disc 1: Music inspired by J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord Of The Rings
1. The Magician's Return (1:49)
2. A Long-Expected Birthday-Party (6:15)
3. Anduin - The Great River (5:41)
4. Weathertop - Flight To The Ford (5:48)
5. In Safety At Elrond's House (5:19)
6. Galadriel's Mirror (1:19)
7. The Fellowship Of The Ring (3:59)
8. Moria - A Journey In The Dark (6:19)
9. Lothlorien - The Golden Wood (4:01)
10. Just Go On Believing (title song) (5:15)
11. Out Of Doubt - Out Of Darkness (6:55)
12. Creeping Shades Of Mordor (1:55)
13. At The Crossroads To The Land Of Shadow (2:38)
14. A Long And Uncertain Road (6:01)
15. Orodruin - Mountain Of Fire (5:28)
16. The Battle's Over - Many Partings (3:24)
17. Just Go On Believing (dance-mix) (5:21)

Disc 2: Rare and Precious Pieces
1. Mirages Upon A Desert Of Sand (part 4) (4:27)
2. The Peaceful Village (5:12)
3. The Power of Nature (3:21)
4. Mysterious Creatures (3:09)
5. Just For You (3:42)
6. Spiritual Dawn (2:39)
7. Colours Of The Earth (3:27)
8. The River Of Realization (part 1) (4:09)
9. The Shining (4:16)
10. Dreamscapes (part 1) (3:42)
11. Invisible Power (3:29)
12. The Ancient Secret Path (3:10)
13. Maintheme from "Labyrinth" (3:18)
14. Face In The Mirror (4:26)
15. The Lonesome Wanderer (3:46)
16. Aquarius (vocal version) (3:32)
17. Cosmic Circle Dance (single version) (3:20)
18. Echoes From Ancient Dreams (part 1) (3:43)
19. Samsara (3:48)

Total Time: 150:15

Line-up / Musicians

- Gandalf / classical and electric guitars, keyboards, soundscapes, charango, piano, bass, grand piano, percussion, sitar and programming
- Toni Burger / violin
- Peter Aschenbrenner / Bohdram, flutes, saxophones, Irish whistle
- Christian Strobl / Djembe, darabuka and drums
- Robert Julian Horky / flute and bass flute
- Wolfgang Wograndl / bass
- Julia / vocals on "Just Go On Believing"
- Steve Hackett / electric guitar on track 14 from Disc 2

Releases information

Sony Columbia 2001

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
and to SouthSideoftheSky for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy GANDALF Visions 2001 (with bonus CD: Rare & Precious Pieces - 20 Years Of Gandalf) Music

More places to buy GANDALF music online

GANDALF Visions 2001 (with bonus CD: Rare & Precious Pieces - 20 Years Of Gandalf) ratings distribution

(8 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(12%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(38%)
Good, but non-essential (50%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

GANDALF Visions 2001 (with bonus CD: Rare & Precious Pieces - 20 Years Of Gandalf) reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by SouthSideoftheSky
3 stars The Magician's Return

While the title might perhaps lead you to think that this is a re-recorded version of Gandalf's 1981 album Visions, the present album is actually a brand new 2001 studio album. It could be considered a belated follow-up album (a bit like Rick Wakeman's Return To The Centre Of The Earth), but it is hard to find any direct connections between Visions and Visions 2001. There are however plenty of indirect connections such as a general return to the sound and feel of the original Visions. Also the two albums are similarly structured with ambient pieces functioning as interludes between more uptempo and melodic pieces. The quality of the two albums is also similar, though overall I prefer the original Visions.

In keeping with his chosen artist name, Gandalf here made an album explicitly inspired by Tolkien's Lord Of The Rings. And he manages to capture the moods of that story and its magnificent fantasy worlds perfectly. As usual Gandalf plays a plethora of instruments including acoustic and electric guitars, keyboards, and the wonderful sitar (that also was featured on the original Visions to great effect). On some passages Gandalf's electric guitar playing sounds very much like that of Steve Hackett (with whom Gandalf worked on Gallery Of Dreams, and obviously picked up more than a few tricks from Hackett). Other musicians involved here add bass and drums which ensures a strong Rock base of the sound, and yet others add flutes, whistles, and violin, which gives this a distinct Folk music nature.

Overall, Visions 2001 is a very high quality offering that deserves to be heard. There are however two main problems with it that prevent me from giving it the same high rating as the original Visions. One problem is that it is just a bit too long for its own good. With a running time of well over an hour it tends to wear the listener down despite the high quality of the music. The album would definitely have benefited from being shortened somewhat. The other problem is that there is one misplaced vocal number on this otherwise completely instrumental album. When this song started I first thought that Spotify had gone mad and started playing an Andrew Lloyd Webber musical soundtrack. It does not fit in at all among the rest of the tracks here and is a complete embarrassment in its own right. With these flaws taken into account, Visions 2001 is inferior to the original Visions album which was more coherent and effective. Still, if you liked that album, and Gandalf in general, you should get this album as well as it is clearly (despite its flaws) one of Gandalf's better albums.

Before ending I should mention that the album comes with a bonus CD called Rare & Precious Pieces featuring alternate versions of familiar pieces from throughout Gandalf's recording career (including his collaborations with Steve Hackett and Tracy Hitchings). It provides a decent overview, but it is better to start with the regular albums.

Recommended in addition to the original Visions

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of GANDALF "Visions 2001 (with bonus CD: Rare & Precious Pieces - 20 Years Of Gandalf)"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.