Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Steeleye Span

Prog Related

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Steeleye Span Wintersmith album cover
3.33 | 11 ratings | 3 reviews | 27% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2013

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Overture (2:09)
2. The Dark Morris Song (4:01)
3. Wintersmith (4:37)
4. You (3:24)
5. The Good Witch (3:49)
6. Band Of Teachers (3:46)
7. The Wee Free Men (2:17)
8. Hiver (3:25)
9. Fire & Ice (5:13)
10. The Making Of A Man (4:03)
11. Crown Of Ice (4:05)
12. First Dance (4:44)
13. The Dark Morris Tune (5:30)
14. The Summer Lady (3:54)
15. Ancient Eyes (4:38)
16. We Shall Wear Midnight (4:09)

Total time 63:44

Bonus CD from 2014 SE:
1. To Be Human (4:11)
2. Be Careful What You Wish For (5:48)
3. Granny Aching (2:33)
4. Just One Heart (4:25)
5. You (Live *) (2:44)
6. Ancient Eyes (Live *) (3:26)
7. The Dark Morris Tune (Live *) (3:04)
8. The Dark Morris Song (Live *) (4:12)
9. The Making Of A Man (Live *) (3:59)
10. Crown Of Ice (Live *) (4:19)
11. Summer Lady (Live *) (4:12)
12. We Shall Wear Midnight (Live *) (4:24)
13. Ancient Eyes (Demo) (3:12)
14. The Wee Free Men (Demo) (2:23)

* Recorded 2013 Wintersmith tour

Total time 52:52

Line-up / Musicians

- Maddy Prior / lead vocals
- Julian Littman / guitars, piano, vocals
- Pete Zorn / acoustic guitar, sax, vocals
- Peter Knight / violin, vocals
- Rick Kemp / bass, vocals
- Liam Genockey / drums, percussion

- Terry Pratchett / spoken word (5)
- Kathryn Tickell / Northumbrian pipes
- Bob Johnson / vocals
- John Spiers / melodeon
- Jessica May Smart / violin (bonus 1-4)

Releases information

Artwork: Tim Marrs

CD Park Records - PRK CD132 (2013, UK)
2xCD Park Records ‎- prkcd138 (2014, UK) Bonus CD w/ new tracks, live performances and demos

Thanks to mbzr48 for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy STEELEYE SPAN Wintersmith Music

STEELEYE SPAN Wintersmith ratings distribution

(11 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of rock music(27%)
Excellent addition to any rock music collection(18%)
Good, but non-essential (45%)
Collectors/fans only (9%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

STEELEYE SPAN Wintersmith reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by SouthSideoftheSky
3 stars Steeleye Span + Terry Pratchett = true

Wintersmith is a conceptual album based around some novels by well-known fantasy author Terry Pratchett. What is less well-known--at least it was news to me--is the fact that Pratchett is a long-standing fan of Steeleye Span and a personal friend of the members of the band. As is clearly written on the cover, Pratchett even participated in the making of this album. Though, his precise role in the proceedings is somewhat unclear to me (is it him doing the spoken word section in The Good Witch?). Clear is at least that the songs are based around themes from Pratchett's writings, specifically the novels featuring the Tiffany Aching character (which I haven't read, but I've read a few others of Pratchett's many books).

Putting music to Pratchett's Discworld has been done before by Dave Greenslade with moderate success. Steeleye Span is more successful. The imagery of Pratchett and the inventive Folk Rock of Steeley Span is a very good combination and it seems that the band gained in inspiration from working with a conceptual theme. This is one of those albums that are instantly likeable. The songs are catchy and easy to get into. There is a nice variation in tempos, instruments (they even dusted off the old saxophone and add some pipes & whistles) and vocals (male and female), but the songs are not overly progressive. The typical sound of the band, and the distinctive voice of Maddy Prior, is unmistakable and this album is in their trademark style. A fun and enjoyable listen. It is not however up to par with such strong latter-day Steeleye Span albums as They Called Her Babylon and Time.

This album is recommended for fans of both the band and the author. Now I feel like reading some Pratchett (a great man who sadly is suffering from early-onset Alzheimer's disease).

Latest members reviews

4 stars This is definitely an album that I have tried to play in the summer time with poor results. It's not because the album is bad. It's just too damn wintery in feel which makes it perfect for early December and the rest of the cold snowy season. The Wintersmith, released last year (2013) is a co ... (read more)

Report this review (#1324119) | Posted by SteveG | Sunday, December 14, 2014 | Review Permanlink

3 stars Steeleye Span is one of my favourite band and it has been in for approximately eight years. "Wintersmith" is their twentyfirst studio record of which I haven't heard everyone. 1970-1978 was their best time of music fantasy but I have also heard very good stuff from them of later years. "They c ... (read more)

Report this review (#1074848) | Posted by DrömmarenAdrian | Sunday, November 10, 2013 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of STEELEYE SPAN "Wintersmith"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.