Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Taï Phong

Symphonic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Taï Phong Return of the Samurai album cover
2.40 | 16 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2013

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. One Day (4:40)
2. Carry Me (3:34)
3. Davy (3:25)
4. Long Ago (4:29)
5. Meggie (3:39)
6. The Second Life (3:00)
7. Sherry (3:52)
8. Come to Me (5:06)
9. Never Let Me Go Away (3:29)
10. Talk to Me (6:36)
11. Reviens-moi (3:36)
12. Eclipse (6:21)

Total Time 51:47

Line-up / Musicians

- Sylvie Tabary / lead vocals
- Khanh Mai / guitar, keyboards, lead vocals
- Davy Kim / guitar, synthesizers, programming, mixing
- Jean-Philippe Dupont / piano, keyboards

- Shay Zohar / lead vocals
- Angélique Paquet / lead vocals
- Hervé Acosta / lead vocals
- Aina Quash / lead vocals
- Barbara Thomachot / lead vocals
- Patrice / guitar
- Michael Zurita / guitar
- Philippe Kalfon / guitar
- Pierre Guillot / guitar
- Olivier Cosson / piano, keyboards
- Angelo Zurzolo / piano, keyboards
- Boris Duvigneau / piano, keyboards
- Kevin Codfert / piano, keyboards
- Jacky Rouablet / banjo
- Alain LLorca / bass
- Jean-Louis Foiret / bass
- Julien Tekeyan / drums
- Arthue Travert / drums

Releases information

Artwork: Lang Ho Thong

CD Vocation Records ‎- 3760061166905 (2013, France)

Thanks to mbzr48 for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy TAÏ PHONG Return of the Samurai Music

TAÏ PHONG Return of the Samurai ratings distribution

(16 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(19%)
Good, but non-essential (50%)
Collectors/fans only (31%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

TAÏ PHONG Return of the Samurai reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by kenethlevine
2 stars With the previous "Sun" breaking a 21 year drought, TAI PHONG's faithful only needed to wait 14 years for "Return of the Samurai". At this point it's more or less a solo effort of original member Khanh Mai, with a variety of invited guests a few of whom appeared as band members on "Sun". Added to the band proper is lead vocalist Sylvie Tabary, and, given the high pitched vocals that have always been synonymous with TAI PHONG, it's nigh impossible to determine who is singing each track, not that it matters, as both can hit any scripted note and then some.

If this version of the group had a different name, it's doubtful they would even crack the prog related frontier let alone symphonic prog, as this collection comprises mostly short tracks of a poppy nature, simple and melodic, at times syrupy ballads with fine harmonies, a bit to the good side of the "Sister Jane" clones we get on every release. If "Samurai" proves one theorem, it's that TAI PHONG is as accomplished with the short form as on the feathery tip of the prog spectrum.

I want to signal a few of the standouts here, notably "Meggie" which appears to be a tribute to the MAGGIE REILLY era of MIKE OLDFIELD at least musically and vocally, so yum. "One Day" and "Long Ago" won't win points for original titling but they are definitely entitled to be heard. "Come to me" and "Talk to Me" are similarly more worthwhile than you might think with surprisingly blistering lead guitar incursions which help make this better than dispensable whatever your tastes.

The Samurai is more lover than fighter here, and the near total lack of adventurousness dings her further. 2.5 stars rounded down.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of TAÏ PHONG "Return of the Samurai"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.