Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Red Fiction / ex Atomic Ape


From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Red Fiction / ex Atomic Ape Swarm album cover
3.89 | 19 ratings | 2 reviews | 21% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2014

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Red Tide (4:23)
2. The Blind Snake Charmer (4:38)
3. Heraklion (4:15)
4. Penumbra (4:13)
5. Cabin of the Cursed (3:59)
6. Lost Hills (0:51)
7. Passenger (4:15)
8. Nerve Agents (3:38)
9. Refraction (3:06)
10. Telesto (3:25)
11. Rhythm Futur (7:18)

Total Time 44:01

Line-up / Musicians

- Jason Schimmel / guitar, keyboards, bouzouki
- Ryan Parrish / saxophones
- Trevor Parrish / trumpet
- Steve Moore / trombone
- John Whoolilurie / saxophones
- Trey Spraunce / guitar, piano
- Adam Stacey / clavinet
- Luke Bergman / bass
- Danny Frankel / percussion
- Lee Smith / drums
- Frank Silva / saxophone
- Andrew Conrad / clarinet
- Joe Doria / organ
- Timba Harris / violin
- Eyvind Kang / viola
- Artyom Manukyan / cello
- Isaac Mills / flute
- Devin Hoff / bass
- Dave Abramson / drums
- Will Wulfeck / trombone
- Tim Young / guitar
- Archie Carey / bassoon
- Adrian Terrazas Gonzales / flute
- Jessika Kenney / voice
- Mike Stone / drums
- Mike Lockwood / drums
- Zack Cline / guitar

Releases information

CD Web of Mimicry - WOM044 (2014, US)

Thanks to holymoly for the addition
and to The Bearded Bard for the last updates
Edit this entry


RED FICTION / EX ATOMIC APE Swarm ratings distribution

(19 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(21%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(42%)
Good, but non-essential (26%)
Collectors/fans only (5%)
Poor. Only for completionists (5%)


Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Nogbad_The_Bad
FORUM & SITE ADMIN GROUP RIO/Avant/Zeuhl & Eclectic Team
4 stars Atomic Ape are a new band from Jason Schimmel (Guitar, Keyboards, Bouzouki) who previously led Estradasphere, they are an evolution from Orange Tulip Conspiracy. Jason is the former bassist from Secret Chiefs 3 and has spent 4 years working in this project with a collection of 25 musicians. Among them Mimicry-familiar names like Trey Spruance (Guitar, Piano), Eyvind Kang (Viola), Tim Young (Guitar), Devin Hoff (Bass), Jessika Kenney (Voice), Dave Abramson (Drums), Timba Harris (Violin), Steve Moore (Trombone), and other heavy luminaries like Joe Doria (Organ), Danny Frankel (Percussion), and Mike Stone (Drums).

This is heavily crafted instrumental music which touches many genres, the label describes it as surf-drenched alternate universe of lost TV-land cop show soundtracks. Trey's guitar is heavily featured with his distinctive SC3 sound though overall the band has a much more wind led sound with Saxes, Trombones, Bassoons, Trumpet & Flute. It's a fun ride and a great debut.

The release is on Mimicry Records, the home of Secret Chiefs 3, Sleepytime Gorilla Museum and Miasma and the Carousel of Headless Horses.

Review by BrufordFreak
COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
4 stars Out of Mimicry Records comes a kind of action movie soundtrack la Pulp Fiction or, as the album art indicates, a soundtrack appropriate for a modern King Kong movie--kind of Dick Dale meets Frank Zappa and the Pink Martinis on Broadway. The songs are all instrumentals and--did I mention--very soundtrack-ready (now somebody, please, make the movie!) though wordless voices are occasionally used in the mix as another instrument ("Passenger"). There are few with some klezmer feels to them ("Penumbra," "Heraklion," "Nerve Agents" and "Rhythm Futur"). The use of horns, accordions, heavily treated guitars, and many odd "incidentals" to augment the standard rock lineup is rather creative and refreshing. The band's leader is Jason Schimmel--formerly of acclaimed bands ESTRADASPHERE and THE ORANGE TULIP CONSPIRACY. I really enjoy every song--they all make me smile, they all make me want to dance, they're all unusual, quirky and, yes, freshly entertaining, but my favorites include:

Favorite songs: the Dick Dale-influenced opener, "Red Tide" (4:22); the hilarious 60s Samba "party movie" parody, "The Blind Snake Charmer" (4:38)--which could easily fit into a 60s James Bond or 70s Pink Panther movie (8/10); the eery, down tempo "Cabin of The Cursed" (3:58); the nearly KARDA ESTRA-like "Passenger" (4:14), and; the hip and upbeat "Refraction" (3:06).

A smile-a-minute masterpiece of perfect-for-a-soundtrack songs who just happen to be without a screen companion. Perhaps Hollywood will find this extremely talented orchestra and hook 'em up!

4.5 stars. We'll wait a while to see if this deserves to be remembered and treated as a "masterpiece of progressive rock music" as I'm not completely certain it fully belongs to the prog catalogue. But, then, there are The Cardiacs . . .

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of RED FICTION / EX ATOMIC APE "Swarm"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.