Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


TDW / Dreamwalkers Inc.

Heavy Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

TDW / Dreamwalkers Inc. Music to Stand Around and Feel Awkward To album cover
4.57 | 14 ratings | 2 reviews | 29% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2014

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Some Things, Part One (4:11)
2. Chameleon (5:20)
3. Surface Scratching (4:04)
4. Heading Back (2:19)
5. Home (4:43)
6. Butterflies (4:05)
7. Mourning After II (6:40)
8. Dreamwalk, Part II- The Descent (8:51)
9. Shock Awakening (1:33)
10. Jimmy (5:52)
11. Some Things, Part Two (10:31)

Total Time 58:09

Line-up / Musicians

- Tom De Wit / vocals, rhythm guitar, synth, bass, drum programming, composer, orchestration & mixing, co-producer

- Rosita Reitsma / lead (7) & backing vocals
- Maarten Gunsing / vocals (8)
- Lennert Kemper / lead guitar (2,4,11)
- Sybren Boonstra / lead guitar (3)
- Michiel van der Werff / lead guitar (5)
- Norbert Veenbrink / lead guitar (5)
- Sander Stegeman / lead guitar (7), backing vocals
- Tristan Visser / lead guitar (8)
- Frank Schiphorst / lead guitar (10)
- Ben van Gastel / guitar synth (11)
- Joop de Rooij / synth (10)
- Elvya Dulcimer / dulcimer (1)
- Laura ten Voorde / violin (1,7), backing vocals
- Hanna van Gorcum / violin (6)

Releases information

Artwork: Maarten Gunsing

CD Layered Reality Productions ‎- CDTDW001 (2014, Netherlands)

Thanks to mbzr48 for the addition
and to projeKct for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy TDW / DREAMWALKERS INC. Music to Stand Around and Feel Awkward To Music

TDW / DREAMWALKERS INC. Music to Stand Around and Feel Awkward To ratings distribution

(14 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(29%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(29%)
Good, but non-essential (29%)
Collectors/fans only (14%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

TDW / DREAMWALKERS INC. Music to Stand Around and Feel Awkward To reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by kev rowland
5 stars Earlier this year I received a Facebook message from Layered Reality Productions asking if it would be okay for them to send me an album to review. Almost as soon as I responded in the affirmative, Tom de Wit was in contact and we started having a conversation. He asked me if I would mind making some amendments to the band's listing on ProgArchives, and then one day a video case turned up in the post. I can't remember the last time I was sent one of these, so was actually quite pleased when I opened it to find CDs inside, one of which is the 2014 album 'Music To Stand Around and Feel Awkward To'. Tom sent me the booklet, but apologised for not sending the cover, which I then discovered was actually a 7'slipcase which didn't fit! Now, I haven't come across Tom before this, which rather surprised me when I realised that he originally started recording material under this name when he was just 14 years old, and is also involved with other bands as well.

The 24 page full colour A6 booklet provides information as to why the album was recorded, lyrics, Tom's thoughts on each song and details on who was involved. Tom is a multi-instrumentalist, providing lead and backing vocals, guitar, bass, synth, orchestral and drum arrangements, but here he brought in others to help out. These include the likes of guitarists Frank Schiphorst (MaYaN) and Tristan Visser (Majesty) who are provided with the opportunity to go nuts with no constraints. In the booklet it states that Tom provided all music and lyrics, 'except for the solo parts and contributed mayhem by guest musicians which they all rote by themselves (I WASH MY HANDS IN INNOCENCE!)'. Apparently it was recorded, mixed and engineered by Tom 'I AM NOT A CONTROL FREAK' de Wit (his capitals).

If I had read all this before listening to it I am sure that it would have enabled me to listen even more favourably to this than when I played it, and take it from me that was already right up there! They are categorised on PA as Heavy Prog, and to be honest in many ways that is bang on. The site defines the genre as follows: 'Heavy Prog defines progressive rock music that draws as much influence from hard rock as it does from classic progressive rock. In simple terms, it is a marriage of the guitar-based heavy blues of the late 1960s and 1970s - artists such as Cream, Led Zeppelin, and Black Sabbath - and the progressive/symphonic movement represented by King Crimson, Yes and Genesis.' Musically this is a melting pot of bands as diverse as all those above combined with modern symphonic metal, but with strong vocals and a feeling of honesty and presence throughout. It is tight, it is fresh, and overall it is simply bloody great. This doesn't feel in any like a small limited edition release, which this album was, but as if it had been put out by a major label who had been convinced to spend money on it.

The booklet makes me smile, makes me think that as a listener I have a real connection with Tom and what he is trying to achieve, and the music just makes that grin get ever wider. This is grown up music, refusing to pander to any of the fashions that exist, even within the progressive rock scene, and instead is definitely moving down its own path, to its own beat. Highly recommended, the only flaw being that it took me four years to discover it.

Latest members reviews

5 stars Usually I start an album review with a bit of background information about the artist, band or project before commenting the music. This time the first thing I have to mention is the spectacular way the album is presented. At first the package looks like an old vinyl single, nicely wrapped in a ... (read more)

Report this review (#1553133) | Posted by quxabletremor | Monday, April 18, 2016 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of TDW / DREAMWALKERS INC. "Music to Stand Around and Feel Awkward To"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.