Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Art Zoyd


From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Art Zoyd Metropolis album cover
4.00 | 36 ratings | 3 reviews | 33% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review

Buy ART ZOYD Music
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2002

Songs / Tracks Listing

DISC 1 (74:50)
- Metropolis:
1. Générique (4:17)
2. La Ville d'En Bas (2:31)
3. Les Jardins Éternels (5:45)
4. La Salle des Machines (5:12)
5. La Ville (1:53)
6. La Nouvelle Tour de Babel (7:01)
7. Le Complot (4:37)
8. Freder et Josaphat (1:10)
9. L'Homme Mince - Le Travailleur 11811 (4:27)
10. Rotwang L'Inventeur (2:40)
11. Apparation du Robot (2:04)
12. Le Descente vers les Catacombes (6:37)
13. La Légende de la Tour de Babel (3:08)
14. Dans l'Attente du Médiateur (2:23)
15. Maria et Feder (4:52)
16. Scène de Maria dans les Catacombes (3:55)
17. La Mort et les Statues (2:10)
18. Maria Prisonnière (1:07)
19. Métamorphose du Robot (2:42)
20. Maria - Robot (1:47)
21. Aparition et Danse Charnelle de la Femme-Robot (3:15)
22. Le Triomphe de la Mort (1:17)

DISC 2 (75:35)
- Metropolis (continuation) (33:26) :
1. Les Nuits de Yoshiwara 3:44
2. Le Prêche contre les Machines 2:41
3. Maria est libre 0:27
4. La Révolte des Profondeurs 1:50
5. L'Ouvertures des Portes 0:58
6. L'Inondation 3:11
7. L'Ascension des Enfants 4:05
8. Danse des Ouvriers sur les Ruines 0:47
9. Maria - Robot au Bûcher 5:57
10. La Poursuite 4:29
11. Le Cour Médiateur 5:17
12. Le Chat de Schrödinger (24:08)
13. Appars (18:01)

Total Time: 150:25

Line-up / Musicians

- Gérard Hourbette / sampler, electronics, artistic direction
- Patricia Dallio / sampler, keyboards
- Yukari Hamada-Bertocchi / sampler, keyboards
- Serge Bertocchi / saxes, tubax
- Kasper T. Toeplitz / electronics, bass
- Didier Casamitjana / acoustic & electronic percussion
- Laurence Chave / acoustic & electronic percussion

- L'Ensemble Musique Nouvelle / orchestra (2.13)
- Jean-Paul Dessy / conductor (2.13)

Releases information

"Metropolis" cinéma-concert based on the restored version of Fritz Lang's movie (1925); World Premiere on the May 31st 2001 at Salisbury Festival (U.K.)
2.12 created for the Karole Armitage's ballet (Ballet National de Lorraine)

Artwork: Philippe Druillet with Luc Van De Velde (design)

2xCD In-Possible Records ‎- AZ 2003 (2002, France)

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy ART ZOYD Metropolis Music

More places to buy ART ZOYD music online

ART ZOYD Metropolis ratings distribution

(36 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(33%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(33%)
Good, but non-essential (14%)
Collectors/fans only (14%)
Poor. Only for completionists (6%)

ART ZOYD Metropolis reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Mellotron Storm
4 stars One of the most satisfying things that happens to me in relation to music is when the light goes on as it were with an album that at first I didn't even like. This usually happens when i'm listening to Rio / Avant styled music that just comes off as too difficult or out there initially but then after many listens it clicks with me and I wonder why I didn't get it earlier. This has happened to me a lot with ART ZOYD's records including this one. Especially this one. I find that ART ZOYD makes music that I never really understand fully but I do appreciate it. While most albums reveal their hidden secrets after 10 listens or so I don't think ART ZOYD's music ever does give up these secrets completely even after 50 listens.

This was an album that doesn't really sound like any ART ZOYD album i've listened to before. It is a soundtrack for the movie Metropolis which was re-made in 2002. The original movie came out in 1927 and was a Science Fiction film. This soundtrack is minimalistic and dark. It really gets my imagination going. A lot of themes or sounds seem to be reprised. This isn't the Classical sound of early ART ZOYD but it does have more in common with their electronic styled recordings. There's lots of percussion and electronics along with samples, keyboards and sax. It's often dense and dark as we go from scene to scene usually uninterupted. There are 33 tracks to this soundtrack which amounts to about 108 minutes of music. There are also two extra tracks not related to the soundtrack worth about 42 minutes in total. These two tracks fit in well with what has gone on before in this 2 disc affair. The first of these two extra songs was written for a ballet. All I can say is that it must be for a ballet from hell.

I was going to go track to track like usual but 33 tracks with me saying a lot of the same things is just too much. It was interesting listening to this one mechanical sounding rhythm that was reprised several times. It sounds like a train heading down into the bowels of hell. Very dark and creepy. I like how Man With Hat (Phil) described this to me : "It would definitely be fitting to play in a hellish labyrinth of corridors leading to pure doom." Perfect. "There is a track on UNIVERS ZERO's "Implosion" that this reminded me of but note that "Implosion" came out a couple of years after this.

This is a recording that has really excited me for some reason and I look forward to spending more time with it. Love the cover art as well as we see a sea of these creatures looking very angry.

Latest members reviews

5 stars To speak of a so impressive work and titánicas dimensions can that something too difficult is, since this work presents/displays the suite but it releases that I have listened to within means 108 minutes of full music of art, experimentation and to top it all is soundtrack alternative of a fil ... (read more)

Report this review (#88662) | Posted by Shelket | Friday, September 1, 2006 | Review Permanlink

4 stars Late Art Zoyd are far from their early chamber rock albums, far from ordinary electronic music and would be pretty unique even if compared to some contemporary classical music. This album is a different beast to the previous eperiments like u.B.I.Q.U.e or soundtracks like Nosferatu. The album ... (read more)

Report this review (#74465) | Posted by vogre | Sunday, April 9, 2006 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of ART ZOYD "Metropolis"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.